We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Royalty treatment"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Central
Ranked #102 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Perfect central city location, I cannot say enough nice things about our stay at the Residence Inn San Diego was by far hands down a great experience, all of the staff we encounter made the extra effort to meet our needs. Great job Management!!! The property was beautiful, modern, and well kept at all hours. The Penthouse suite was extremely comfortable, roomy, and gorgeous! Great amenities free parking, WiFi, and breakfast everyday. My favorite was the Heated Pool!..Easy access to freeways, Old Town, Gas Lamp, Hiking trails, Beaches, and Night life all within 10-15mins from hotel. Thank you for the great memories...we definitely staying here again. I highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to San Diego...

Room Tip: Penthouse suite is breath taking a lot of space and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BereniceBailon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi BereniceBailon ! Thank you so much for your review of our property. Your review of our property started my day in the perfect way. I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of our hotel's amenities. The pool is especially great at this time of year and is heated to a wonderful temperature of 85 degrees. Comments from people such as yourself help us to improve the quality of the service we provide. Thanks again and please come back and see us again in the future.

Regards,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 360 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Residence Inn Central San Diego. It was like a home away from home. Everything was perfect! The hotel is extremely well managed with friendly and accommodating staff. The environment is clean, safe, and inviting with plenty of lighting and modern amenities. I used the Basketball Court, Fitness Center, Pool, Spa, BBQ Grill, Fire Pit, Business Center, and Full Service American Breakfast! This hotel has it all and is only about 10 minutes from Downtown San Diego’s Gas Lamp District. The room had everything from a full kitchen to a fireplace! There was plenty of space and it was newly renovated with beautiful modern furniture. In addition, the hotel offers free parking and free Wi-Fi, a huge benefit for any traveler. I plan to stay at this location in the future and would recommend it to anyone traveling for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: The penthouse is amazing!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Michael S. Thank you so much for your review of our property!. It always makes me happy and proud when a guest such as yourself takes the time out of their busy schedule to offer feedback to fellow travelers. WOW!. You made use of all we have to offer and I am happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Our guests are letting us know how much they appreciate the renovated rooms and public areas and I always look forward to sharing these comments with our employees at our daily huddles. We pride ourselves on guest service and I am happy that we delivered for you!. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you on your return trip to San Diego!

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in October. Room was clean and ready for us upon check in. Check in itself was a breeze. Nice front counter folks. Breakfast every morning, mostly consisted of scrambled eggs, a meat choice and potatoes. Also had those "do it yourself" waffles which are actually pretty good, breakfast cereals, fruit and assorted other "continental" style breakfast items. Location isn't bad for exploring San Diego. They have bbq's, a heated swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all well maintained and clean. Had a problem with the ice maker not working in our refrigerator, called it in and a repairman responded within minutes and had it fixed and running within 30 minutes. Nice place to stay and price wasn't bad for two bedrooms with a full kitchen. Close to a lot of attractions.

Room Tip: Building 5 was a great choice. Close enough to the pool for an evening swim, far enough away from it...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi OregonStrider! Thanks for such a thorough review of our property. I am happy that you were able to take advantage of the amenities we have to offer. Our staff works hard to deliver an exceptional product and service and I am very happy that we succeeded. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to San Diego in the future.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lots of good breakfast items that had variety in it daily. The heated pool and the hot tub were cleaned daily and very nice. The parking lot is spacious and free. The unit we had was the penthouse, and quite nice. The beds are ridiculously comfortable. We slept 2 adults and three kids between two beds and a couch bed. There was a full kitchen with a small dining area. TV in front of each bed. Good water pressure, extra paper products. They included a menu for a local restaurant that was pretty good (order the lasagna!). It was quiet despite being next to the freeway. The property also has fire pits, wi-fi and grills. It's really very comfy and the staff keep it that way. There are a few cosmetic flaws, but overall, I couldn't complain about anything. The construction is solid enough that you can't hear the neighbor if they were stomping up the steps. We never even heard any of our neighbors come and go. Everyone was comfortable and happy in this room. That doesn't happen too often with all 5 of us happy about everything, but we were. You have to travel if you want to get your own food but it's only a couple of miles away. All the major attractions were withing 10-20 minutes of the hotel. They will even do your grocery shopping for you for free. You just pay for the cost of the groceries! There's nothing to complain about!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, I would avoid rooms by the pool if you go to bed early.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi Dawn D! Thank you so much for a very thorough review of our property. It is apparent that you were able to take advantage of a majority of the amenities we offer. The staff takes pride in keeping the property clean and well-maintained and I am happy that we succeeded. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to San Diego so you can stay with us again. Happy travels and thank you once again.


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

About a month ago, we had a family reunion and relatives came from the Philippines and Spain. We booked them at this location and WOW...what a pleasant stay for our relatives! The accomodating ways and friendliness of the staff was just remarkable. The premises were always clean. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Marriott again to anyone. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi Ray L. Thank you so much for taking the time to offer the travelling community your feedback. I remember your group and had a great time getting to know everyone. I always love getting to know our guests and your group was lively, good natured, and just all around fun-loving. Please come back next year and I will be sure to share your comments with our staff at our next meeting. Thank you also for recognizing their efforts. Safe and exciting travels!

Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Residence Inn San Diego Central is great for extended stay. They served free breakfast every day and social hour from Monday through Wednesday The staffs are nice and friendly. They have the best housekeeping staffs.

This hotel has a swimming pool.( I wish they could extend the size of their swimming pool.) Washers and dryers are available too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinammon_Hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi Cinnamon Hearts!. Thanks so much for your review of our property. I love it when our guests fill me in on the highlights of our hotel and their stay. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again when you are in town.

Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is very nice. The room is very clean, comfortable, modern. I was impressed that everything looked and felt so new. We stayed at the suite with a bedroom and an upstairs loft. My only complaint is that we had 2 kids (1 yr old and 3 yr old) with us and the bedroom downstairs has semi-transparent doors that aren't soundproof. So there wasn't really a place where we could put the baby to sleep without having some sort of disturbance by my older child. If you don't have this issue, then this is an excellent hotel. At breakfast they served REAL eggs, not like some modified egg substitute some other hotels would serve. They also have a good variety of food as well. The price is also excellent considering that our room fits 6 people (the loft has a double bed. The bedroom has a king size, the living room sofa converts into a double/queen). But like I said, if one person is too loud anywhere in the suite, the rest of the suite will hear. The kitchen has a full size refrigerator. The downstairs bathroom in the room is adequate size. The upstairs bathroom is very small, we didn't even bother closing the door because of that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frozensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi Frozensky! Thanks so much for your review of our property. The rooms were just renovated in July and I am so happy that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. The breakfast we serve is a highlight for so many of our guests and I am glad that you enjoyed the quality and the offerings. I am sorry that the downstairs room did not offer the privacy that you had expected. This particular room style has changed over the years and at one time had a Murphy bed where the desk currently is situated. Based on feedback such as yours we will be able to continue to improve the guest experience.

At Your Service,

Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#28 of 278 in San Diego
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
7.8 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Central

Address: 5400 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $165 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Central Kearny Mesa is an upscale San Diego, California extended stay all-suite, apartment style hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the heart of the inland area of San Diego County. With easy access to Interstates 5, 805, and 15, we're the perfect home base for excursions to the many popular attractions that draw visitors from around the world. Beautiful La Jolla, Mission Valley, Coronado Island, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, Sea World Adventure Park®, LEGOLAND®, and the vast sunny beaches of San Diego are just short drives from our all-suite upscale hotel in Central San Diego. The San Diego International Airport is about 15 minutes from the hotel as is downtown San Diego and the many attractions that America's Finest City has to offer. Whether you are staying a few days or an extended period, our apartment style suites are sure to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing