We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Central
Ranked #94 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Through a total mess up with our reservation the management and staff dug in and were able to not only get us a room but at a lower price and on the bottom floor which for me is a must. We had a great time and the breakfast were fresh, hot and filling for our long days away. I strongly recommend this location for its location and the ease of going anywhere in the county quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Cris! Thank you so much for your nice comments. I look forward to sharing them with the breakfast staff and the Front Offfice staff. I am happy that we were able to fix your reservation and get you the room type you wanted and that the breakfast was a great way to start your day. Hopefully your travels will bring you and your family back to San Diego.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    102
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
173
53
8
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

two stories hotel room with two master bedrooms kitchenette and den, very spacious, quiet, free breakfast buffet, free parking, great for families, excellent staff, crib for kids, clean, wonderful stay, all positive things!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 705MonicaM705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Monica! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and taking the time to post your comments. We take pride ourselves in delivering a quality product and it always makes me happy to receive such positive feedback. I look forward to sharing your comments with the entire staff at our next employee luncheon.

Happy Travels!


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Residence Inn during a four day stay in San Diego. From there we were able to go whale watching, visit Sea World and Legoland, and hang out on the beach in La Jolla. Although other attractions like Balboa Park, Coronado are also pretty close we did not have time to explore those.

The hotel is a little older and the room we had was a little worn. But we like the town home style that this Residence Inn features. The room was spacious and we cooked dinner at the hotel a couple of nights rather than going out to dinner. Unfortunately parking is very limited and when you come late you have to walk quite a bit to your room.

Service was good. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marchoffmann314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Marchoffmann314! Thank you for your response. Our property will be undergoing a refresh beginning next week will will include new stainless steel appliances, carpeting and softgoods. Hopefully you will be able to come back and stay with us again when the refresh is complete. Happy travels and thanks gain for your candid review.

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for only two nights, with a family of five. Three kids, two tired parents and we had so much room! We chose the two bedroom loft style- best deal. We got a king size bed with private bathroom and we had double doors that closed to give up privacy. Kids got a queen bed up stairs with another bathroom, and one kid got pull out bed downstairs.

Awesome full kitchen, heated pool, hot tub. Staff was so friendly and helpful anytime I asked.

Breakfast was good, could be a bit better. I would like more fruit available, but other than that, it was great.

I would highly recommend this hotel for families as it's very family friendly; kids loved it!

Free parking and wi fi too which was handy. 13 minute drive to SeaWorld.

Room Tip: Get the loft room if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks so much for your review of our hotel. The suite that you mentioned is our penthouse suite and is really a fun suite. I am glad that your family enjoyed the upstairs and the downstairs and the ability to spread out, relax and prepare for your excursions around San Diego. Hopefully you can all return to our hotel in the future and recreate the great times of this visit. Happy travels and thank you again for your honest review of our property.

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place really blew my mind. I've stayed at many Residence Inn's and they are usually good but this place is unique as its laid out bungalow style like your own condo with a bit of privacy. Very friendly staff and even evening social hours with food and it has a very clean and comforting vibe. I have stayed here for long periods when working in San Diego and like it very much as I feel like I'm in a holiday style condo rather than a hotel room. Plenty of restaurants and coffee shops nearby too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Feed back from our guests is so important and it helps us to improve the quality of the product we are able to offer to our guests. I will share your comments with the entire staff at the next all-employee get together. Comments such as yours are a real motivator and help to reinforce the reasons why we serve in this great industry.

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is the one we choose for vacation trips to San Diego. Although there is not much for the vacationer in the hotel's neighborhood, it is close to all the freeways for quick access to the Zoo, Sea World, Wild Animal Park, Old Town, etc. The staff are always helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and well-maintained and up to Marriott standards. The morning breakfast is very crowded as this hotel has become more well known so either arrive early or just plan a leisurely breakfast in your own well-equipped kitchen (as we often do). Our 1st preference in hotels is to have an in-room kitchen so we can relax with coffee/toast in the morning and a light meal with wine at night. This place is perfect for it. Parking is always convenient and free and it is a quick hop to all our favorite San Diego destinations.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room to get you away from the foot and vehicle traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gato77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your candid review. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional product and also the memorable experiences that our guests are able to share with their friends. Feedback such as yours truly helps us to improve the quality of the product we deliver to our guests. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire staff at our next weekly luncheon. Safe travels and we look forward to hosting you on your return trip.

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from Feb. 10-23, 2013 on business. I was pleased with the cleanliness of the property as well as my room. There was also a security guard patrolling the premises at night, which added to the positive experience of my stay.

The daily breakfast and happy hour snacks during the week was a good way to begin and end my day. There was plenty of parking, and it was never a problem for me to find a parking lot. The other factor I considered was location. I like the fact that this hotel is within 20 minutes from any tourist or business destination in San Diego.

I have stayed at this Marriott Residence Inn before and I am very pleased that the quality of service and amenities have not suferred, nor the maintenance of the property neglected. Indeed I will stay at this hotel again when I have the chance.

Room Tip: I noticed that people with pets tend to stay in the ground floor rooms. If you do not want to chanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancerCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Our staff works hard to provide the high quality experience that our customers have come to expect. Thank you for noticing these efforts and we really look forward to having you stay with us on your return visit.

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#10 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
5.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
7.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
0.2 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Central

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Central
Address: 5400 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Central Kearny Mesa is an upscale San Diego, California extended stay all-suite, apartment style hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the heart of the inland area of San Diego County. With easy access to Interstates 5, 805, and 15, we're the perfect home base for excursions to the many popular attractions that draw visitors from around the world. Beautiful La Jolla, Mission Valley, Coronado Island, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, Sea World Adventure Park®, LEGOLAND®, and the vast sunny beaches of San Diego are just short drives from our all-suite upscale hotel in Central San Diego. The San Diego International Airport is about 15 minutes from the hotel as is downtown San Diego and the many attractions that America's Finest City has to offer. Whether you are staying a few days or an extended period, our apartment style suites are sure to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing