We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Well Located, Good Amenities, Love Having a Kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Central
Ranked #111 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Well Located, Good Amenities, Love Having a Kitchen”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is the one we choose for vacation trips to San Diego. Although there is not much for the vacationer in the hotel's neighborhood, it is close to all the freeways for quick access to the Zoo, Sea World, Wild Animal Park, Old Town, etc. The staff are always helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and well-maintained and up to Marriott standards. The morning breakfast is very crowded as this hotel has become more well known so either arrive early or just plan a leisurely breakfast in your own well-equipped kitchen (as we often do). Our 1st preference in hotels is to have an in-room kitchen so we can relax with coffee/toast in the morning and a light meal with wine at night. This place is perfect for it. Parking is always convenient and free and it is a quick hop to all our favorite San Diego destinations.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room to get you away from the foot and vehicle traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gato77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your candid review. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional product and also the memorable experiences that our guests are able to share with their friends. Feedback such as yours truly helps us to improve the quality of the product we deliver to our guests. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire staff at our next weekly luncheon. Safe travels and we look forward to hosting you on your return trip.

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    102
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
177
53
9
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from Feb. 10-23, 2013 on business. I was pleased with the cleanliness of the property as well as my room. There was also a security guard patrolling the premises at night, which added to the positive experience of my stay.

The daily breakfast and happy hour snacks during the week was a good way to begin and end my day. There was plenty of parking, and it was never a problem for me to find a parking lot. The other factor I considered was location. I like the fact that this hotel is within 20 minutes from any tourist or business destination in San Diego.

I have stayed at this Marriott Residence Inn before and I am very pleased that the quality of service and amenities have not suferred, nor the maintenance of the property neglected. Indeed I will stay at this hotel again when I have the chance.

Room Tip: I noticed that people with pets tend to stay in the ground floor rooms. If you do not want to chanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancerCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Our staff works hard to provide the high quality experience that our customers have come to expect. Thank you for noticing these efforts and we really look forward to having you stay with us on your return visit.

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I always like Residence Inn as they have a full size kitchen which is perfect for families with kids. We have stayed in this one & the one in Hotel Circle. Hotel Circle is a bit more updated & newer than this one. But this one is at least $30 per night cheaper than Hotel Circle plus no parking fee. I'll definitely stay in this one in the future. The staffs are very friendly & the breakfast is great. It's not that much farther to SeaWorld or Zoo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CutiePiggy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We always welcome the feedback from our guests. I am happy to say that we will be undergoing a full renovation this year which will definitely improve the quality of our product . We hope you will come back and stay with us again once our hotel has been updated. Thanks again for your review and happy travels!

Jonathan Corrrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stated for a month here. Place is nice and staff is warm and helpful. Megan, Carlos and others were always there to help.
One drawback is that the location is not ideal if you plan to use public transport.
Try and pick rooms closer to the pool and then ones on ground floor may have more noise and commotion filtering in. It's also more airy and sunlight friendly on the first floor ones.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Central, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear cmandal,
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your second home during your long stay!
We are very proud of our great team, and I will be sure to pass on your note to Megan and Carlos. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Good: The location is extremely convenient to three freeways, and it's only 10 minutes into downtown. There are no parking fees, unlike Hotel Circle or downtown. The free breakfast is pretty solid, with waffles and yogurt and lots of juice. There's a lot of space in even a studio, and the kitchen is really helpful to have for any families. The queen bed is comfortable, and the sofabed is nice to have. Towels were not plushy, but they weren't threadbare either.

The Bad: The hotel is really starting to show its age. The TV is upgraded to a flat panel LCD, but the couch, electric range, and microwave desperately need a refresh. There was good selection for breakfast, but the orange juice ran watery and nobody replaced it within a half hour despite our requests. They also ran out of knives and we couldn't find a staff member to notify for about ten minutes. We're not super-picky and we got by, but you'd think they'd have someone around during the main breakfast rush. Shower pressure was kinda light, weird since we were on the ground floor.

The Ugly: Linens are fresh and clean, but that carpet needs a steam cleaning or something. We kept our socks on throughout, and the bottoms were covered with a black tar-like soot after a only a couple of hours.

Keep In Mind: You can't simply set the thermostat to a temperature. You need to remember to hit the "hold" button, otherwise the programming will take over and reduce the room's heater down to 65. We DID hit the hold button, but somewhere around 3am the programming took over anyway and it started getting cold inside again, so I had to get up and manually push it back up.

Also, this Residence Inn is "apartment" style instead of a tower or motel, meaning it is clusters of 2-story buildings with outdoor walkways and access to get back to the lobby. That's important to note if the weather isn't so nice and you have to walk through the rain to get to the lobby for breakfast or to check out.

Room Tip: Closer to the lobby means less walking to get to lunch. Farther means more parking and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrHickenlocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Central, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear DrHickenlocher,
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review! We are in the process of planning a renovation for 2013, and we hope you can experience our new look when it is complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I went to San Diego on a business trip for one week in Nov-12 and stayed at this hotel. This hotel has a central location, and at approx. 10 mins drive to other major venues like Gas Lamp Quarters, Lajolla Beach etc. It is even more convenient if you have some business in the Industrial area, such as with Solar Turbines.
Upon check-in, I was given upgraded suite on the same rate as the Standard room. A free shuttle service is available for pick and drop from Solar Turbines offices. Staff is very friendly and cooperative, specially Floor Manager Megan, and Hotel Manager Adam. They have some great tips on dining, shopping and sight seeing venues in the city. Breakfast was also free, and of good value. There is a big Walmart store on 15 mins walk from the hotel, and on the way there are some good dining options as well, such as Rubio's, Burger King, Subway etc. Gas Lamp Quarter is just 15 mins drive from hotel, and taxis are easy to find there, if you don't have a car.

Room Tip: Choose a room closest to the reception to avoid walking, particularly if you are checking in with so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FahadAftab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Central, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear FahadAftab,
Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review of our hotel and team! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here with us and look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. We had a great suite with a bedroom and a loft area, two bathrooms and a kitchen. It smelled wonderful when we first went in - I'm a smell person LOL.

The breakfast was really great - waffles (with strawberries and whipped cream!), eggs, breakfast potatoes, good coffee, cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, etc. We only managed to have one supper there...burger, potato salad, chips, beer, wine, pop, etc. - it was great and saved us from eating out! We planned on using the kitchen but just never found the time to go grocery shopping!

It was central between Sea World / Airport / Safari Park Zoo.

The pool area was great. We wished we could have stayed longer and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonzie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Central, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear bonzie78,
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in San Diego! Our housekeeping team does a great job of keeping our suites extremely clean! We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
0.2 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#13 of 278 in San Diego
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
5.3 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Central

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Central
Address: 5400 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Central Kearny Mesa is an upscale San Diego, California extended stay all-suite, apartment style hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the heart of the inland area of San Diego County. With easy access to Interstates 5, 805, and 15, we're the perfect home base for excursions to the many popular attractions that draw visitors from around the world. Beautiful La Jolla, Mission Valley, Coronado Island, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, Sea World Adventure Park®, LEGOLAND®, and the vast sunny beaches of San Diego are just short drives from our all-suite upscale hotel in Central San Diego. The San Diego International Airport is about 15 minutes from the hotel as is downtown San Diego and the many attractions that America's Finest City has to offer. Whether you are staying a few days or an extended period, our apartment style suites are sure to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing