We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, but needs an update.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Central
Ranked #89 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Good value, but needs an update.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Good: The location is extremely convenient to three freeways, and it's only 10 minutes into downtown. There are no parking fees, unlike Hotel Circle or downtown. The free breakfast is pretty solid, with waffles and yogurt and lots of juice. There's a lot of space in even a studio, and the kitchen is really helpful to have for any families. The queen bed is comfortable, and the sofabed is nice to have. Towels were not plushy, but they weren't threadbare either.

The Bad: The hotel is really starting to show its age. The TV is upgraded to a flat panel LCD, but the couch, electric range, and microwave desperately need a refresh. There was good selection for breakfast, but the orange juice ran watery and nobody replaced it within a half hour despite our requests. They also ran out of knives and we couldn't find a staff member to notify for about ten minutes. We're not super-picky and we got by, but you'd think they'd have someone around during the main breakfast rush. Shower pressure was kinda light, weird since we were on the ground floor.

The Ugly: Linens are fresh and clean, but that carpet needs a steam cleaning or something. We kept our socks on throughout, and the bottoms were covered with a black tar-like soot after a only a couple of hours.

Keep In Mind: You can't simply set the thermostat to a temperature. You need to remember to hit the "hold" button, otherwise the programming will take over and reduce the room's heater down to 65. We DID hit the hold button, but somewhere around 3am the programming took over anyway and it started getting cold inside again, so I had to get up and manually push it back up.

Also, this Residence Inn is "apartment" style instead of a tower or motel, meaning it is clusters of 2-story buildings with outdoor walkways and access to get back to the lobby. That's important to note if the weather isn't so nice and you have to walk through the rain to get to the lobby for breakfast or to check out.

Room Tip: Closer to the lobby means less walking to get to lunch. Farther means more parking and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrHickenlocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Central, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear DrHickenlocher,
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review! We are in the process of planning a renovation for 2013, and we hope you can experience our new look when it is complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    102
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
171
53
8
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I went to San Diego on a business trip for one week in Nov-12 and stayed at this hotel. This hotel has a central location, and at approx. 10 mins drive to other major venues like Gas Lamp Quarters, Lajolla Beach etc. It is even more convenient if you have some business in the Industrial area, such as with Solar Turbines.
Upon check-in, I was given upgraded suite on the same rate as the Standard room. A free shuttle service is available for pick and drop from Solar Turbines offices. Staff is very friendly and cooperative, specially Floor Manager Megan, and Hotel Manager Adam. They have some great tips on dining, shopping and sight seeing venues in the city. Breakfast was also free, and of good value. There is a big Walmart store on 15 mins walk from the hotel, and on the way there are some good dining options as well, such as Rubio's, Burger King, Subway etc. Gas Lamp Quarter is just 15 mins drive from hotel, and taxis are easy to find there, if you don't have a car.

Room Tip: Choose a room closest to the reception to avoid walking, particularly if you are checking in with so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FahadAftab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Central, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear FahadAftab,
Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review of our hotel and team! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here with us and look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. We had a great suite with a bedroom and a loft area, two bathrooms and a kitchen. It smelled wonderful when we first went in - I'm a smell person LOL.

The breakfast was really great - waffles (with strawberries and whipped cream!), eggs, breakfast potatoes, good coffee, cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, etc. We only managed to have one supper there...burger, potato salad, chips, beer, wine, pop, etc. - it was great and saved us from eating out! We planned on using the kitchen but just never found the time to go grocery shopping!

It was central between Sea World / Airport / Safari Park Zoo.

The pool area was great. We wished we could have stayed longer and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonzie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Central, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear bonzie78,
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in San Diego! Our housekeeping team does a great job of keeping our suites extremely clean! We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Props to the manager who did our grocery buy! We scheduled a very important family get together and the manager purchased chocolate cupcakes for the kids for our "party". Well done. My family declared this the best vacation ever.

Room Tip: If you want it quiet ask for a room farther from the pool. If you want a shorter walk to breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna_mots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Central, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Donna_mots,
We are happy to be a part of your kids' best vacation ever! I am glad you liked the treats we chose for your party! We look forward to having you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Family just needed a clean place to stay overnight in the San Diego area over the weekend. This place more than fit the bill. Although we reserved a standard two bed room and were using a Marriott voucher, they upgraded us to a suite with a King bed + bath, a separate living area and full kitchen and an upstairs queen bed + second bath in a loft area. Sweet suite!

This might have been because the hotel was not particularly crowded and/or because they did not have our reserved room ready when we arrived at around 2:30 or 3 pm. Or, possibly because when we arrived, there was a man who was arguing with one of the clerks very loudly and (it seemed to me) quite unreasonably. After the man left, the clerks apologized but i thought they handled the disgruntled customer very professionally and calmly. I sympathized with them and I think they appreciated that. In any event, we stepped out for a snack and when we returned, they had our suite ready for us.

My teenaged daughter loved the idea of having her own loft bed and bathroom. We loved the extra room and used the full fridge to cool sodas and waters, used the microwave to cook up the complimentary bag of popcorn and used the range to heat up some water for a cup-a noodle snack that night.

I also used the pool because it was a particularly hot day. the pool was pretty utilitarian but it did the trick to cool me down. The complex is long and narrow with many buildings on either side of a central walkway. The path has some basic but nice plants around it. As all Residence Inns seem to have, there also is a small sports court with a basketball hoop.

Residence inns also offer a free breakfast buffet and this one seemed to have enough seating/tables for comfort. The fare is pretty standard: scrambled eggs, potatotes, pastries, oatmeal, cold cereal, waffle maker, yogurt, juice and hot drinks.

The hotel is called "central" and it is fairly well located if you have a car. (not much to walk to; next to the freeway). My guess is the pricing is competitive with places on Hotel Circle but you get more than most of those hotels -- a kitchen, seating area and breakfast, in addition to free parking. I believe if you stay during the week, there is a manager's reception with what looked like heavy snacks; you can probably cut down on dinner costs by eating up at the reception. (None during the weekend, though.) And, if you reserve a suite, families ought to be pretty happy.

Room Tip: I suspect each building has the same or very similar layout to each other. But within each building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Central, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear traveldan21,
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy to surprise our guests when we can with an upgrade! We are happy to hear your family enjoyed their time here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very friendly staff. We arrived a early into town and we allowed check-in "very early".

Rooms were very clean and spacious. Breakfast in the morning was surprisingly good for a free breakfast.

Basketball/tennis court is located on the property. It was a good workout shooting hoops.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaboykin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Central, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Good Day, shaboykin01!
Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My experience at the hotel was nothing less than Excellent. The hotel staff greeted us with a warm welcome. The room was nothing less than perfect. The rooms have a full kitchen with bar, sitting area, large flat screen TV that is viewable to bedroom and sitting area/kitchen. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. Very comfortable bed and to top it all off there is a heat lamp in the bathroom. The breakfast was very good. The staff has pre printed cards that will take you to/from all the major attractions. They also provided a list, 4 pages, of all the resturants within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. The check out process was the quickest I have ever done. We had people above, beside and behind us in rooms and never heard the first noise. Great stay, great staff.

Room Tip: We stayed towards the rear of the property and our room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Central, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hello dsmock!
Thank you for your kind words! Our Front Desk Manager and team work very hard to make our guests' stays convenient and fun! I am glad you found our direction cards to be useful while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#11 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
5.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Central

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Central
Address: 5400 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Central Kearny Mesa is an upscale San Diego, California extended stay all-suite, apartment style hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the heart of the inland area of San Diego County. With easy access to Interstates 5, 805, and 15, we're the perfect home base for excursions to the many popular attractions that draw visitors from around the world. Beautiful La Jolla, Mission Valley, Coronado Island, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, Sea World Adventure Park®, LEGOLAND®, and the vast sunny beaches of San Diego are just short drives from our all-suite upscale hotel in Central San Diego. The San Diego International Airport is about 15 minutes from the hotel as is downtown San Diego and the many attractions that America's Finest City has to offer. Whether you are staying a few days or an extended period, our apartment style suites are sure to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing