We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember the 60's or Just Go for a Visit for an Icecream Extraordinaire”
Review of Mariposa Ice Cream

Mariposa Ice Cream
Ranked #27 of 152 Dessert in San Diego
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Remember the 60's or Just Go for a Visit for an Icecream Extraordinaire”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Mariposa is one of those journeys back to a time when icecream was homemade and scooped out by a local couple of sages from the neighborhood. Select one of their flavors from Mexican Chocolate to White Chocolate Raspberry to Peanut Butter and Jelly. Sit down and remember the 60's with the Beatles memorabilia, Janis Joplin poster, peace rally posters, and thank you cards and posters from local children. October is $3.00 pne scoop sundae month, so don't miss it. Stop by, stay a while, and enjoy the neighborhood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrodydhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    2
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Mariposa's has bar none the best ice cream I have ever had. A spoonful is worth a thousand words. So instead of me writing, just go get a scoop -or two!

Helpful?
1 Thank marilyngizelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horchata lovers unite!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you love all things Mexican, including your ice cream, I encourage you to try the horchata milkshake. It was quite refreshing. This small business is original with their ice cream flavors and sundaes. Definitely a great treat on a hot summer day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthasville, Missouri
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best ice cream waffle cone in my pretty long life!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This small shop has great counter service, in-house baked waffle cones, and the best ice cream we've ever had. We both noted that it was not hyper sweet. And for such lovely richness, it was not cloying or greasy. I had the peanut butter fudge and will go back soon to have banana walnut...or one of the other fabulous sounding flavored. The shop is charming, lots of memorabilia. Loved the folks who run it, the Ben & Jerry of Adams Avenue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego,California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in San Diego”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Small batches in this family owned business on Adams Ave make this hands down the best ice cream in San Diego

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jondavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariposa Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Mariposa Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing