We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good, but nothing to write home about” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariposa Ice Cream

Mariposa Ice Cream
Ranked #26 of 141 Dessert in San Diego
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, but nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

It hits the spot. You cruise on in and find a great deal on some tasty treats.
May is kinda cool cuz they have 3 dollar Sundaes. The flavors are fairly standard. Raspberry Swirl, Vanilla, Chocolate, etc. Nothing real crazy or creative.
Mexican Hot Chocolate flavor was pretty authentic, but not extremely original.
Still, a nice place to go and get a cone.

Just a small ice cream shop. Not set up for parties.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripGarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    2
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love their ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place has been in Normal Heights for quite a while and their home made ice cream is AMAZING!!! I would walk there all the time when they would open and would try every type of flavor they had available.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun Home Town Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Loved that this is a little place run by the owners. They were very friendly. The ice cream is different than the ice cream I'm used to. Texture wise it is a bit on the grainy side -- not as creamy as I'm used to. The flavor it good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank labs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
257 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“If you love ice cream GO HERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is the best home made ice cream. I have never had any better. Flavors are wonderful. But the best part are the owners, Dick and Anna. They are so nice. They get to know the customers and really make you feel part of a family. We love this place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SDTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious! Incredible homemade ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Mariposa Ice Cream is a little out of the way, but it's well worth seeking it out. This is some of the best homemade ice cream I've ever tasted. On the night I went, they had an impressive array of creative flavors (including nuez (walnut), Mexican chocolate, Butterfinger, white chocolate macadamia, and many more ... yum!). The ice cream was just perfect, and the owners were on hand to share their secrets with the diners. I also loved the shop's cozy, community-oriented vibe. A must for ice cream lovers in San Diego!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank merryleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariposa Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Mariposa Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing