We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff! Great building!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Diego Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Ranked #18 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great staff! Great building!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Loved our stay. Great room always clean. Historic building with great history. Ask for a tour of the vault and other fun areas of the building..... We loved the history of the building and the tour but it was the friendly knowledgeable staff that made our stay wonderful. Great help from John, Ramon and Veronica Marriott's best! If you need a concierge talk to John!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views! Room 907 was great views down Broadway and to Petco park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    290
    42
    9
    1
See reviews for
179
262
37
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We're traveling the country using all the Marriott lines from Fairfield and Townplace to South beach Marriott Stanton and this Courtyard Staff are universally wonderful, as here, but for premium, especially Platinum members, they're the worst deal Marriott offers. No free breakfast like the cheap lines, no concierge lounge like the real Marriott's. Lobby spectacular, upgraded suite wonderful, but spending $10k to get elite status, paying over $200 with parking, and then paying for breakfast is why I stay clear of Courtyard where possible.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DC196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a very unique hotel and I would recommend checking it out! At one time it was a bank and now it has been transformed into a beautiful hotel. The details throughout the hotel are clever. It has a look of days gone by, but is definitely a very modern hotel with all the amenities you expect from Marriott hotels. Staff was very friendly, rooms very clean and comfortable beds, and it's in a great location! Only problem -didn't get to stay long enough -had to leave to go to Anaheim.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warren, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Without doubt the best staff from top to bottom of any hotel I've ever stayed,and I'm 60 so I've had lots of experiences. Cordial,efficient, knowledgeable, over and above to make my stay a great one. The only negative is no pool, but if they were allowed (historical bldg) I'm sure they would have put one in for me! Great location and just a 10 minute walk to Petco stadium. Would highly recommend for anyone especially first timers!

Room Tip: Get an interior room to hear no traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights while I was attending a conference (and had a short holidays also) in San Diego. I can say nothing but great things about this hotel!! It is in a great location, right near 5th avenue which is the main strip of the Gaslamp area which is full of restaurants and nightlife options. It is in close vicinity to the 3 main trolley lines and the bus to the zoo which made it easy to get around.

The room I stayed in was on the 6th floor and was really large and spacious. It was also quiet and I had no problem sleeping at night despite my window facing the main street. I also think it was great I had the option to decline the daily housekeeping for environmental reasons- I was staying alone so didn't need new towels or sheets daily. The room contained a large TV which was great at night time and also had a coffee maker, microwave and bar fridge. There is also a 24 hour 7/11 next door which is really convenient.

The stand out for me was the staff. They were so friendly and made my stay very comfortable. As I was flying in from Australia I emailed a few days prior to my arrival to ask if there was any chance my room would be ready earlier than the 3pm check in as I was arriving at 9am in the morning. I received a lovely email back saying that they understood why I would like early check in and although they cannot guarantee it, they would try their very best for me to have an early check in. Sure enough when I arrived I was shown straight to my room which was just fantastic after such a long haul flight.

One of the amazing things about this hotel is the architecture inside. The building was originally a bank that was converted into a hotel about 10 years ago. Make sure you ask for a tour at the front desk of the vaults..... it was truly amazing and a highlight of my San Diego stay. Kamal was the lovely staff member who gave me the tour and he was so knowledgeable! Kamal told me all about the history of the hotel and really took the time and effort to answer my questions and show me around.

Overall I would not stay anywhere else in San Diego, this place is just great and the staff the best I have ever experienced at a hotel.

Thank you!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a tour of the vaults!!!!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Fantastic the option to have daily cleaning and towel washing declined for environmental purposes.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tania999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Hotel staff were incredibly helpful, from an upgrade at checkin to finding food locally. Very cool hotel. Maintained history with a modern upgrade. The vault conference room is a must see . Room was very clean, bed comfy, and housekeeping staff was great. 15 minute walk to convention and located at the corner of 7-eleven, 7-eleven, and cvs. Great to avoid high convention prices on soda and coffee. Would recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tissue_Factor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Had a fantastic stay at this gorgeous hotel. The old bank was amazing to see and great that they still have all the old signs, vaults and decoration around the place. The room was quite average due to size but the beds were very comfortable with great views. You are unable to open the windows but the air conditioning was fine. Front of staff were extremely friendly every morning. Had a slight hiccup with charging our card for something we didn't order but after a second attempt that was rectified. Bar staff were very friendly with their microbrewery Monday, was a great lobby to hang out in. Free Wifi was no problem for us on both Android, iPhone and laptops through out the hotel. Was very handy. Breakfast as well was delicious and we were well fed every morning. If you are getting breakfast Rodney will look after you and make you feel right at home! He was fantastic as well as the lovely blonde lady whose name we didn't catch! Great stay!

Green Features: Well advertised though the cleaner always took our towels even when they were hung up.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrillionBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Downtown

Property: Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-5206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing