We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Ranked #12 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a work trip to San Diego. The staff was great and the room was clean and quiet. It was a great location as well. Also the valet staff was very friendly and attentive. Even when a friend picked me up they opened the car door for me and wished me a good time- Very cool!

Room Tip: I liked the east facing views as I got to see the sun coming up in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thea T, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

T G, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provided you with great service. I hope you chose to stay with us when you return to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 982 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

First time staying at this particular Courtyard, normally I stay in one of the usual suspects for conventions in San Diego. Well, I will be staying here next time I'm in town no questions asked. The rooms are much more spacey than expected. I was afraid the hotel would feel old and worn down since it's in an old bank building, but there is actually a very fresh and modern feel to the lobby, and especially the rooms. Very cool to be in the shell of an historic building but with a truly modern classy experience.

I also typically do not valet, but I couldn't find any better option. I was very pleasantly surprised on how genuinely friendly the valets were, and how helpful with recommendations!! Great front desk team as well.

Keep it up Courtyard San Diego Downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thea T, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Joel C, Thank you for your kind words. I am glad to hear what a positive experience you had on your visit to San Diego. Although we are an historic property, the recent renovations offer a more modern and comfortable feel. And thank you for taking the time to mention the exceptional valet and front desk service. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent two post-cruise nights in this hotel in February. The hotel staff was wonderful, the room was large and had a great view of the harbor, Point Loma and the Pacific. We had breakfast and a late dinner in the dining room and the food and service were excellent. The hotel is in the Gaslamp district and a short walk to restaurants, bistros and shopping. Every employee we encountered at this Marriott was helpful, friendly, courteous and professional. This was a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Jim C, thank you for your kind words and wonderful review. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy our convenient location, handcrafted restaurant menu, and spectacular views of San Diego. It is good to hear that our staff was able to assist in making your stay that much more enjoyable. I hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The customer service was excellent!!! From the front desk, valet parking attendant, and bellmen everyone went above and beyond to help us with a smile on their face. We were traveling with our young daughter and the staff did everything possible to make our trip stress free. We showed up a day early at 12:00 at night and Sal at the front desk was amazing. He got us the very last 2 rooms and made sure that we would not have to move rooms the next day. I will only be staying at this hotel when visiting San Diego in the future. Thank you for all you did to make this vacation memorable!!

Room Tip: We were traveling with family and from the first floor to the sixth floor the rooms were great. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPP817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

BPP817, Thank you for such a great review and kind words. I am glad to hear that Sau was able to accommodate you and assist in making this stay memorable. He will be glad to hear he made such an impression on your visit. It is good to hear that everyone you met with at our property was able to provide you such a pleasant experience. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A HISTORIC BUILDING WITH CHARM with valet parking that is a bit pricey, but worth the convenience. Within walking distance of a very popular restaurant, retail, pawn shops and bar district, The Gaslamp Quarters.

Room Tip: Good security in elevators. Stair case is open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeSweetOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

HomeSweetOmaha, thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you were also able to enjoy our convenient location and historic property. I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here to an evening between two other hotel bookings. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff very helpful. I arrived at 10:30am, hours before check-in, but they got me immediately into a room. Finding the hotel was a little confusing, but I did it. The room was very large, nicely decorated, with a fridge and microwave. My only complaints:
1. The fridge was difficult to operate, was only mildly cold, and giving off quite a bit of heat from the outside.
2. The TV picture was dark and didn't get many channels.
3. No view. I had a view of other hotel rooms and another building.
4. No continental breakfast. For the amount I paid for the room, I feel like they could have had some toast or something.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Kendall P, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your stay was not an absolute 10. I apologize you were not happy with our breakfast option. We have a handcrafted menu using fresh produce and as a courtyard we do not offer the buffet any longer. As an historic property, we do offer many different room types as well as harbor views for an additional fee. Next time, ask for a room with a view and we would be more than happy to find something that you would like. I am glad you enjoyed your stay as well as that we were able to provide a complimentary early check in. I hope next time you can stay with us longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I just stayed at this hotel as a one night layover on our way to Maui. We didn't expect much, just a place to lay our heads. We were extremely pleased with everything.
As others have stated it is a renovated bank building that is on the National Historic Registry and was turned into a hotel in 2013. So everything basically brand new. One other huge plus for us was how quiet the rooms are. I know there were other people in the hotel because I seen them, but you wouldn't know it while in your your room. There is some street noise, but not enough to bother us.
The location is very good as well. Near the Gaslight District, 7 or 8 blocks to Balboa Park, and about 10 blocks to the waterfront.
Now onto the best part of the hotel, the staff. Jillian, Alex, and the entire staff are the most pleasant, helpful, and genuinely nice people we have met in a long time. Our thanks to all.
Next time we will sta y longer.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Jim C, Thank you for your kind words. We are all thrilled to have made such a wonderful impression on your short stay with us. It is good to hear that our historic property and our wonderful service could wow you. I hope Maui was great, but we look forward to your next visit with us where you can also enjoy our great location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,551 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 286 in San Diego
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-5206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $111 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect San Diego hotel for your business or leisure stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing