We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meeting Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Ranked #16 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Concord, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Meeting Experience”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I booked sleeping rooms and meeting space for the top executives of our company with the Courtyard Mariott in downtown San Diego. The attendees said service was spectacular, the food was wonderful and everyone on staff was terrific. The meeting room was unusual. It was the safety deposit box room for the orignal bank structure and gave the meeting attendees a different experience that was truly appreicated. The two ladies I coordinated with, Leslie Holt and Analaura Becerra, were professional, hugely helpful, as well as warm and friendly. I have meetings to schedule in San Diego in 2014 and will absolutely return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebG1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
DebG1951, Thank you for such a kind review. I am glad to hear that your meeting went well and your attendees appreciated the unique space. Leslie and Ana Laura were very pleased to hear that they were able to assist with all your needs as well. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    304
    43
    9
    1
See reviews for
187
274
38
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Courtyard Marriott was perfect for our stay in San Diego, the hotel itself is beautiful, it is a historic building that was once a bank. The king room we had was great, plenty of space, nice size bathroom, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The hotel is located downtown, walking distance to gas lamp and lots of restaurants, shopping etc. The hotel staff were the best, very friendly, very helpful and very welcoming after long days of sightseeing it was nice to go back to the hotel. San Diego is a very beautiful city, and the staff made our stay ever better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJ12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
VJ12000, Thank you for your review. I am happy our staff was able to make your trip comfortable and that you were able to enjoy all the convenience of our downtown location. Next time ask for a tour and we can show you the historic vaults if you were interested in the history. I hope you choose to return on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I truly enjoyed our recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown San Diego. The hotel was a perfect mix of old charm and modern luxury. Just blocks away from the Gas Lamp Quarter, the location of this hotel was great. However, what made our experience special was the friendly hotel staff. In particular, Sau (guest services) was great in providing us recommendations on things to do around town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xDaBears33x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
xDaBears33x, thank you for such a nice review. Sau was very pleased to hear he was able to make such a great impact on your stay with us. I am glad we were able to make your stay with us special. If your travels bring you back to San Diego, we would love to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I and our two adult children stayed in a two-bedroom room (queens) with plenty of room and beautifully appointed. I highly recommend staying at this property - not only is it a historic building that has been wonderfully refurbished in the same grand style, but the associates are quite wonderful! It is in a great location downtown--walking distance of many places to eat, movies, shopping, etc.

Room Tip: I think any room is great - we were on the 4th floor by a busy street and heard nothing at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Sarah B, thank you for the kind review. We are glad that we could make your travels over the holiday comfortable. I am happy to hear you and your family were able to enjoy our unique property and convenient location. I hope you will keep us in mind when your travels bring you back to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Courtyard San Diego Downtown is among the best in the Courtyard brand. The building is an old bank building and Marriott has retained and creatively incorporated many of the features of the former bank, including the huge vault with a very thick door in the basement that is now used as a conference room. The guest rooms have recently been updated/redecorated and we had a great corner room with views on two sides. The staff is outstanding, very helpful and friendly. Valet service/parking is a bit on the high side but after all it is a downtown hotel. The Gaslamp Quarter is a 5 minute walk and the harbor area with interesting shopping is about a 15-20 minute walk. This was our second stay at this Courtyard and it will be our hotel of choice on future visits to San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Frank2842, thank you for such kind words. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that this was your second visit. We are glad that we could make such an impact that you are looking to return on your future trips to San Diego. Please contact one of the front office supervisors if you need help re-booking with us. You can reach them at Veronica.padilla@cymsandiego.com or Sergio.lee@cymsandiego.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I cannot recommend highly enough Courtyard by Marriot in San Diego Downtown. A very interesting building houses a welcoming hotel at the center of the town, just a 5min walk from Gaslamp Quarter and 10min away from the Convention Center. I stayed at the 12th floor. The room, although almost adjacent to the elevator, was absolutely quiet. Very clean and spacious with a separate sitting room, an extremely comfortable bed, nice toiletries, 2 flat TVs with a plethora of choices, wireless keyboard, USB charging ports available on the lamp beside your bed, microwave oven, fridge, sink, iron and ironing board, powerful hairdryer (not the weak blowing hotel type), fairly decent view from its windows. I used the room service once; very tasty food with attention to detail as far as sanitary issues were concerned (not even a spec of dust could make it on any of the food or liquids. i.e. the glass of water covered with cling film, very reassuring). I took breakfast in the lobby once. Again, great quality and service. The fruit-yogurt was slightly overpriced. The Starbucks located in the lobby proved to be a life saver. All employees are extremely helpful and kind and pay honest attention to one’s needs. During my stay, internet access was upgraded and now all rooms have wireless internet (comparing to only wired internet up until that point). I may be forgetting something, but overall I was extremely pleased. Stayed during a convention and definitely contributed to my positive experience. I am looking forward to visiting it again.

P.S. Just a small niggle: The 24/7 central air-conditioning system was set at a rather low temperature (at least for my liking). There was a second one (user-adjustable) but it was quite noisy for the night. Nothing serious though, to put you off from staying there.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Baik, Thank you for such a kind review. I am glad our staff was able to make your stay a pleasant one. Our Chef was also very happy to hear you enjoyed our menu with fresh and local produce. We look forward to having you as our guest on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great hotel. Definitely on the outskirts of the Gaslamp District but walkable to everything. Fifth Avenue is where it is. Close to public transportation if you want to avoid the $36/night parking fee.
We asked for an upper level room and we had a great view from the 9th floor. Rooms are average size but the beds are very comfortable!
The hotel bar is nice and they have happy hour daily from 4-7. Discount drinks and one special appetizer.
There is no spa or pool but that is reflected in the price. The staff are all really friendly and accommodating. Definitely go down a level and check out the vault. Even if you're not staying at the hotel, you should just walk through the lobby because it's beautiful.
I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajbauer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Ajbauer29, thank you for your great review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us as well as our wonderful happy hour specials. I am glad you were able to enjoy our convenient location as well. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,125 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#32 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Downtown

Property: Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-5206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing