We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Ranked #12 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a business trip. I was amazed by everything. The appointments in the lobby and my room were modern, tastefully done and colorful. The front desk guy that checked me in, john, was funny and got me all set up in no time. Every morning when I got my breakfast, the barista ryan was super cheerful and always made the best fraps. The location was convenient and I got to see a lot of downtown and the gaslamp district. Great stay and great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdelavega85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Jdelavega85, Thank you for such a great review. John and Ryann will be very happy to hear that you were amazed by their service. I am also very glad to hear that we were able to make your business trip comfortable with our outstanding service and convenient location. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    313
    42
    10
    2
See reviews for
193
282
38
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this property. The staff was stellar, the rooms were very nicely renovated, and the location is hard to beat. This is marketed as a Courtyard and could pass by as a full service Marriott. The nightly rate is hard to beat, and this is by far the best hotel my wife and I have stayed at in all of San Diego. If you're looking for a historical property in a killer downtown location, this is the property for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Benajamin M, Thank you for such kind words about our staff. I am happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed our convenient downtown location and that you received our exceptional service. We hope you chose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having stayed at many Courtyard's in the past, I was pleasantly surprised to find out this was nothing like the others, and I mean that in a good way.Very elegant hotel, beautiful rooms, and excellent customer service.

Also location is prime, walking distance to Gaslamp Quarter, and a very short cab to Little Italy. Not sure what the regular price tag per night would be since I used points, but I was very impressed and would stay here again if visiting.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MohsinZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
MohsinZ, Thank you for your kind words. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. Our prices vary on special events and room types, so please feel free to contact the hotel directly for more information. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Of the half-dozen or so Courtyards I've stayed at, this property is definitely the nicest--and it's not even close. In fact, it's a better property than most if not all of the Marriotts and JW Marriotts that I've stayed at around the world.
The physical building itself certainly helps. It's a converted heritage building (a bank) that retains a lot of its original grandeur. On the lower level, the original bank vault has been preserved and is now a meeting room.
The room I had was in great shape, quite large and the bed was comfy. It also had a microwave, mini-fridge and safe, all of which worked well. If you're a view person, that would be a strike against this hotel. I had an inward looking room that meant I kept the curtains closed, but maybe the higher outside rooms would be substantially nicer.
I had room service several times and tried three different apps and three different mains. All were really, really good. They come from their restaurant "Lobby", so I would imagine that actually eating there would be a good plan.
The gym has a small rack of dumbbells (5-40 lbs), a small universal machine with two cables, and a few treadmills, bikes and ellipticals machines. There's no swimming pool.
Every employee I've come into contact with has been friendly and welcoming.
The location is convenient, at the top end of the Gaslamp district. It's about a 10-minute walk through Gaslamp to get to the ballpark, and another 5 minutes past there gets you to the convention center.
I think this is my fifth time to San Diego on business, and I've stayed at some high-end properties (Hyatt Manchester, Hilton Bayfront, Sheraton Marina), but I would choose this Courtyard over all of these.
Very impressed!!

Green Features: You can opt out of daily housekeeping if you prefer, and if you're a Marriott member staying 2 nights or more, they'll give you 500 points per night, up to 1,000 points.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Moffman, thank you for such a great review. I am glad you were able to enjoy all the conveniences of our property as well as enjoying its history and our staff’s great service. It is good to hear how impressed you were with your stay. We do have many different room types and some do have a city view. Please contact me or the front desk supervisors for your next stay and we can help you find something that best suited you. You can email us at Ashley.reid@cymsandiego.com, Veronica.padilla@cymsandiego.com and Sergio.lee@cymsandiego.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard in downtown San Diego in early October, and it was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is in an old bank building. The lobby ceiling is restored, and blends nicely with the contemporary lobby furnishings. The reception desks are made from the recycled materials from the old teller stations. The hallways are very wide, because the building was previously used for offices. Some of the doors still have mail slots. It adds to the charm.

Our room (2 queen beds) and bathroom were a good size: nicely renovated, contemporary, inviting. My travelling companion thought it was a bit noisy (from hallway noise), but I thought it was average. Some people were loud coming in around 2pm, and I did hear them (I wasn't wearing ear plugs).

The staff were super friendly, except for the reception clerk at first. I would describe her as cooly professional. But she warmed up quite quickly.

This hotel is situated at one end of the gaslamp district - again very convenient. We ate in the Gaslamp for dinner, when we came back, we noticed an illuminated tower on top of our hotel. We were excited to hear it's actually a lighthouse! The Bell captain was so amazing-friendly, knowledgeable, and accomodating. He took us up to the lighthouse for a quick look-see. It was the best unobstructed view of downtown, and he told us stories of the hotel's past. It really made our stay very unique and special. There's also a conference room in the basement inside the old vault! We went down for a look before we left. Apparently the night before they were hosting a murder mystery dinner - How fun! I want to do that next time!

All in all it was a great property, and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Swingbird, Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our unique building and convenient location. We love to share the history of our property and I am happy that our staff was able to provide such a unique and special stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I walked into the lobby, and wow! It's a beautiful lobby with architectural details, marble, chandeliers, and most of the details kept from the old bank that it used to be. The location, right in Old Town, makes it easy to walk to restaurants and look at the architecture. The staff was friendly, and check-in was easy. The hallways are wide with high ceilings and have the original mail chutes. The age of the building did not negatively affect its comfort. I felt the rooms were large, and plenty warm enough on a chilly night. The large old windows were not drafty and let in a lot of natural light. I liked that they gave us more than enough towels and pillows. The bar in the lobby was classy, and we appreciated the friendly bar tender.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemermaid25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Bluemermaid25, thank you for such kind words. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our newly renovated, historic property comfortable. I am glad you were able to enjoy our convenient downtown location as well. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertoRico
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed four nights and it was the best and beautiful experience in a Courtyard. The front desk staff always with a smile and a pleasant greeting. The best of the best was Ramon , since we ask for some attractions and other places we want to visit, he was always helping us. Ramon explained us about the history of the hotel. I think he is very special always with a smile. The rooms were very clean and modern everything was perfect. The location within walking distance to many good restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fournierSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
FournierSanJuan, Thank you so much for your great review. Ramon and the rest of our staff will be very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am very glad that we were able to provide you with a perfect experience. I will look forward to having you as our guest if you choose to stay with us on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Property: Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect San Diego hotel for your business or leisure stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing