We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West coast road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Ranked #12 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Today finds us staying in this hotel.
Very interesting history as it is a decommissioned 1920s bank. Some of his is still seen throughout the hotels communal areas.
Unique clean and tidy and normal marriott quality and standard. The rooms are slightly outdated, but practical, clean and presentable. Staff are polite and cordial and helped with all our needs.
We did ask to change rooms as i paid for a city view and got a brick wall on the 2nd floor of 14...
The best of all about tjis hotel is its location... Slap bang in the middle of all the action, the famous gas lamp quarter. Amazing atmosphere on tje weekend we stayed.. But you could hear the music and noise well into the morning hours.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Mr_Journey, thank you for your feedback on our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our unique property and took advantage of our convenient downtown location. I apologize if you were disturbed by any outside noise. Please contact me or the front desk supervisor at Ashley.reid@cymsandiego.com or Veronica.padilla@cymsandiego.com and we can help you find a room type to best suit your needs on your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 990 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our stay rocked. Jillian took great care of us at the bar. Everyone we spoke to went out of their way to help from recommending local restaurants to their favorite hotel foods. The hotel has an amazing feel and awesome history. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sig0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Sig0310, Thank you for your kind words. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took great care of you. We can’t wait to have you back at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Outstanding renovation of an old bank building into a modern hotel in downtown San Diego. Walking distance to everything in the Gaslamp District. Big rooms, outstanding service. Spend some time looking over the minor details of the architectural features that have been retained. Particularly interesting is the lobby and the vault in the basement.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xylograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Xylograph, Thank you for your feedback on the hotel and our outstanding service. We are glad you were able to enjoy our historic building during your time in San Diego. If your travels ever bring you back to our city, please think of us for your accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is in a very nice historic bank building,they really made an nice effort to keep as it was , you can even see the old vaults in the basement. I believe it's only a 3 star hotel, but I would rate it 3* ++, I've seen 4 or 5* Marriott hotels not as nice as this one. It is well located within walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars in the Gaslamp quarter. The woman that checked us in wasn't very friendly but the rest of the staff was nice. The rooms are nice and spacious, with nice colors and good layout. The bathroom is big and clean. Overall a very nice stay, I will for sure be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view room on the higher floors, we did not have such a room and even though we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noya24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Noya24, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that our service was exceptional and our staff took care of you. It is nice to hear that you will be returning to our hotel. Please let us know in advance so that we are able to accommodate all your needs. Please do not hesitate to contact myself at Ashley.Reid@cymsandiego.com or Veronica Padilla at Veronica.Padilla@cymsandiego.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is very nice. It exists in an old bank, so the basement conference rooms are old vaults, which is cool to see. The fitness center and laundry facility is also in the basement. Quality of the rooms is nice, and very spacial. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the lobby area is laid out very well. The bar serves a variety of drinks and beers and the bar staff is very accommodating. The location of the hotel is almost perfect, but a few blocks north of the entertainment center. Overall, a pretty decent hotel and fairly good price while at it.

Room Tip: Choose the West or South sides for decent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krumdog89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Krumdog89, Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. I am glad that our staff was accommodating to your needs and that you enjoyed our beautiful historic building. We recently renovated our guestrooms and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed it. If you ever return to San Diego, please think of us and if you need help reserving a room please do not hesitate to contact myself at Ashley.Reid@cymsandiego.com or Veronica Padilla at Veronica.Padilla@cymsandiego.com so that we can reassure you that you will have another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a fantastic stay! The room was very clean and neat. The staff was amazing!!! Everyone was nice and helpful.....from the valet to the front desk to the house keeping (etc). The bar was awesome and Josh and Jillian were amazing!!! Josh and Jillian were so friendly and inviting and gave us so many great options for places to see in San Diego and made amazing drinks! We couldn't have had a better time/stay! Thanks everyone!!
Keeley & Jeff Cook (from Colorado)

Room Tip: I gave a poor rating on pool and spa because there isn't either one. The hotel itself is amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keeley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Keeley C, Thank you for feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear that our team made your stay enjoyable especially Josh and Jillyin. Hopefully the next time you visit San Diego, you think of us and if you need assistance in making your reservation please do not hesitate to contact myself at Ashley.Reid@cymsandiego.com or Veronica Padilla at Veronica.Padilla@cymsandiego.com so that we can reassure you that you will have another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We only stayed one night but what a wonderful night it was. This hotel is in a historic renovated bank in downtown San Diego. They did such a nice job of keeping a lot of the historic charm: marble walls, rich wood, and best of all the bank vaults; yet they have added enough modern touches that you know that you will be happy here. (Note: Try to see the meeting rooms that have been built into the safes). We were upgraded to the ninth floor with a view of the bay, which was a nice surprise. The room was spacious and beautifully thought out with a relaxing style and soothing colours.

The service was friendly and they went the extra distance to make our stay special. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbour, it is limited but on the much nicer side. Also farther up will help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wart99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Wart99, Thank you for your amazing comments about the hotel. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our historic building and are very happy to hear that you will definitely be coming back. When you decide to make a reservations, please do not hesitate to contact myself at Ashley.Reid@cymsandiego.com or Veronica Padilla at Veronica.Padilla@cymsandiego.com so that we can reassure you that you will have another wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#21 of 286 in San Diego
4,587 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-5206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $158 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect San Diego hotel for your business or leisure stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing