We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Downtown San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Ranked #15 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel and very friendly staff! Walking distance to many restaurants. Ramon M. (Bellman) went above and beyond for anything we needed. He recommended some very good restaurants and was very informative about the hotel history. He is an asset to the hotel! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BashirRamzy, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Cindy W,

We are pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely recognized Ramon as a key member to our outstanding guest service staff and are estatic that his passion with guest is reflective of our entire staff. We look forward to your return and make sure Ramon gives you a tour on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 949 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing it truly is the ideal hotel to stay in when you are trying to stay in the middle of all the action. Great walking distance to bars and restaurants. The hotel has been around for a long time and offers great accommodation for all its guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonAvants, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Noel H,

Thank you for the feedback. We are always delighted when our guests are as excited about the service and convenience our hotel has to offer as much as we are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Even though its location is slightly seedy, surrounded by pawn shops, check cashing stores and quite a few transients, it is walking distance to the local bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is beautiful. It is set in a historical building showcasing the amazing decor of the depression era and once housed a bank. The rooms are what I would call European size and very nice. We had no view but had heard the side with a view was noisy so we did not mind. A little pricey but not outside the range for the area. Very friendly staff and nice breakfast in the gorgeous bank lobby.

House of Blues is steps away along with trolley stop

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you don't mind the view of another building behind you.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcbrit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonAvants, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

kcbrit2,

It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you return in the near future when your business or travels bring you to San Diego. When you do return please don't hesitate to request a larger room as we have 10+ different room layouts due to our rooms originating from former office spaces of the historic bank built in the late 1920s. We also sell room upgrades with bay views that are on higher floors away from any street noise and a few on private floors at the top of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Attention de ne pas prendre une chambre proche dugroupe de ventilation
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toulousemarmotte31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Ita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire T, Guest Service Supervisor at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAIRE T, Guest Service Supervisor at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAIRE T, Guest Service Supervisor at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $139 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect San Diego hotel for your business or leisure stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing