We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT family of 3 with 15 month old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Ranked #96 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVED IT family of 3 with 15 month old”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were in town for our nephew's bootcamp graduation from the Marine Corps. We absolutely loved this hotel....Awesome rooms, laundry, pool, breakfast, staff...A+++ all around, walking distance to little italy and short drive to MCRD, airport and gaslamp. We were thouroughly happy with our stay here!!!!!!!!! Breakfast was really good, rooms were very very clean, nice pool! Thank you!

Room Tip: stay in room away from the back of the hotel so you will be away from the train tracks--they are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salgal7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    141
    56
    17
    9
See reviews for
134
60
24
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I love visiting little Italy when we go down to San Diego. Lots of great restaurants. Hotel is within walking distance to that area with a nice view of the ocean. Staff is friendly and professional. Will stay there every time that we are in San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We recently had a 2 night stay in a 2 bedroom suite and it was perfect. The hotel was easy to find when driving and we had no problem with parking and as it was such a good location we just parked the car on arrival and didn't use the car again until we had to drive home!!
The room was perfect and had everything you needed, although we didn't use the kitchen the facilities we did look through cupboards and from what we could see everything was supplied if you chose to stay in and cook.
We had 2 bedrooms which were spacious and 2 bathrooms and towels were replenished daily and plenty of toiletries.
As we arrived on a Wednesday evening there was a BBQ by the pool that evening and the food was really good, plus plenty of soft drinks and beer or wine also had some live music which was a nice added touch to the night. We were well impressed by this as it was unexpected and also good food etc. We also had the breakfast that was provided and it was really good.
We found this hotel really good value for money and all the extra's like the BBQ and breakfast provided really made it for us.
San Diego is a great place to visit and we will be back sooner rather than later and we will be returning to this hotel as it was a great location, staff were very helpful and rooms had everything we needed for our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location. The staff was wonderful, friendly, and helpful. Big room . Updated. Many hot/cold items on free breakfast. Free shuttle to airport. Plus free shuttle to and from Petco Park for a Pradres game. Free shuttle from Horton Plaza. Parking is self park for 14.00 a day

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Room was very nice, a little older hotel, but very clean and comfortable. The parking lot was full every night, and there weren't enough spaces for the size of hotel. Breakfast was not exceptional but pretty standard Residence fare. Location for downtown was close to most tourist spots, but you would need a cab to go to the gas lamp district. All in all - a nice hotel, fair location for downtown, close to the airport. I would want a car for this stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patipatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was perfect for large family. Rooms are spacious while adequately supplied. Pool was clean and patio area is nice for enjoying a relaxing evening. Breakfast was awesome with a different variety of hot foods daily. Staff helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Running Springs, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We decided to take an overnight trip to stay in downtown San Diego. Parking here is always an issue and if I had had more time to plan I would have taken the train, lots more fun. This place was picked because the ratings were pretty good (not many bad Marriott properties) as well as cheaper than average ($14) on property parking. It is a little walk to the attractions like the USS Midway but not bad at all. "Little Italy" is nearby for good eats. There is even a Taco shop and Jack-in-the-box nearby, if you want more simple fare.

Room Tip: This place is right next to the railroad tracks, ours was a end room nearest to the tracks. Surprisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimDodgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Address: 1747 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing