We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Mimmo's

Mimmo's
Ranked #102 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Mamma Rosa Pizza was pretty good. Chicken Marsala was awesome. They seemed a little understaffed. Took a long time for them to clear up a table for us. Had to flag down the waiter for everything including our check. Do not expect them to wait on you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wizkiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    134
    37
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley
Level Contributor
186 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wine Wednesdays”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Half price wine and a tasty happy hour food menu. Grab a table outside and people watch in Little Italy. We had the meat and cheese plate, the warm garlic olives and pizza, and every morsel was excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susieqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very good food overall. Had the margarita pizza which was a bit average.. but all the appetizers and other people's entrees were great. Happy hour is a good idea.. I think it's 4 - 7? mimosas were $3 and appetizers were cheap.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, good value.”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location in Little Italy. Dined here with my wife and two children. Food was great and very good value. We sat at a table in the terrace at the front of the restaurant which was good for people watching. Service was prompt, friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Butch_Petrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderfully consistent performer at a good price”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was our second visit to this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion and it didn't disappoint. My son is in love with their lobster bisque, and we would go the restaurant if only to order that. Their salads are large and flavorful. The fried calamari appetizer was perfectly done, although we were a little puzzled when it arrived AFTER our salad and soup; we thought the server had forgotten it entirely. The spicy shrimp pasta was good; the shrimp were large and not overcooked. My son had the lobster ravioli, which was also excellent. The freshly baked bread is amazing, and it's tempting to fill up on that, and the waiters are generous with the bread. We got the impression the servers were a little overworked and sometimes the pace lagged, but they were unfailingly courteous and thoughtful. Because it's a family restaurant, children are welcome, so it may not be the place for a particularly romantic evening or date, if that was your desire, since the evening we were there we had two separate families with very badly behaved toddlers seated nearby. In the future, if we are offered a table in that type of situation, we may ask if there was anything else available, but the kids were okay when we were seated and only "went off" later. Not the restaurant's fault at all, but something for diners to be aware: to look around at their neighbors before they take the first table offered. Definitely worth a visit, and well priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThreeRivers944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimmo's also viewed

 

Been to Mimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing