We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value - Nice Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Ranked #236 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This was 1 of 3 hotels we stayed in during our visit to San Diego.
I chose this hotel for 3 nights because of the price and we weren’t going to spend a lot of time in the room.

Cons:
1. Location is right next to freeway and there is nothing walking distance. If your room is on the side facing the freeway you will hear the cars passing when the room a/c is not on.
2. There is a pool but it is on the freeway side.

Pros:
1. Price of $60 from otel site is a very good deal expecially with the nice breakfast. .
2. Breakfast included - make your own waffles with 2 heavy-duty waffle makers, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, breads, muffins, danish, cereals. But Juices are watered down.
3. Room was clean, beds ok. Some rooms do have refrigerator. The 1st night had one but when we came back for 3'rd and 4th night, this room did not.
4. Marie Calendar and DZ Akins (NY style deli) restaurants are close by.
5. There is a fitness center that is small with about 4 pieces of equipment but at least there is one.

This hotel is adequate if you just need a place to sleep and want a very nice breakfast included. Ask for a room away from the freeway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RhonaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMV, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us here at the Ramada hope that you do come back to stay with us the next time that you are in the San Diego Area.

Best regards,
Mitchell David Buser, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2010

This hotel is a two star motel but no way is it a hotel. It is situated right on a busy highway as a result there is a heavy noise al the time. The room itself was kind of OK no complaints regarding cleanliness.
However the exterior access hallways did have a strong urine odor .We spent a minimum time inside for our one night stay and we been happy when we left the hotel.I wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gigiduru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoManager, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you did not have a pleasant stay with us. This hotel isn’t fancy- but if you are looking for something CLEAN, AFFORDABLE, AND HOSPITABLE than this hotel is for you. We do not try to compare the Ramada brand to other brands like Marriot, but you will receive great customer service. Yes, this hotel is located next to the freeway which is convenient to hop right on the freeway to get anywhere in San Diego in a few minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights from july 5 checked out july 8. Wished we
could of stayed more. The room was very cleaned the staff was very
Friendly. The variety in the breakfast was wonderful. They had belgium
waffles,fresh fruit ,fresh coffee , eggs , juice choice and much more. The
Fitness center was great. My family loved the pool and hot tub. Overall
Our experience was awesome. We will do this again next year for a
week or two. Thank you Ramada !

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoManager, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

We appreciate the great review you have given the Ramada Mission Valley hotel in San Diego. The staff tries their best to assist the guest in any way they can. The employees have been in San Diego for a long time and they love to give out tips on what local restaurants are a must, what area attractions are worth visiting and what shopping malls have great deals. We really hope you and your family can make it out again next year to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 yo daughter. Gave up a teeny-tiny room with a microwave and fridge for a more spacious room sans micro and fridge, but double beds. Rooms are updated and very clean. Conveniently located near freeway, so easy to get around San Diego, and I believe the trolly is near by as well. Even though it is next to the freeway, the noise was not an issue for us.

Breakfast was good, very well stocked, so no issue as to what time you showed up for it. Internet access was great.

Management called us on our second day and had to switch our room, yet again, for a plumbing issue (don't know if it was adjacent to us), but they were very kind about it, and we had no issue moving. Luckily they caught us before we left for the zoo.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latinqt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoManager, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

It’s always nice to hear positive feedback from our guest. The guests are always shocked when they don’t hear any highway nose in their room. It’s not as bad as it looks with the rooms facing the freeway. Ramada Mission Valley is located a block from the Trolley line- Grantville Station so it is very easy for people who are travelling without a car.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We just returned from a five night stay at the Ramada Mission Valley. Everything was in order...no funky smells, everything worked, the staff was friendly, pool/rooms/lobby were very clean. The beds and pillows were also comfy...we expected less considering the price! The breakfast area each morning blew away our expectations by far...fresh toast, milk, coffee, juices, eggs, fruit, waffles, bagels, muffins and pastries! So, we got 20 breakfasts and our room for five nights...all for an amazing price! This hotel was 12 minutes from the Zoo and Seaworld, 14 minutes from downtown, and 18 minutes from Coronado. It is very close to Qualcomm stadium and several nice malls. Lots of good restaurants in the area too! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coach63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMV, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Thank you taking the time to write a review on our property. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will return back to the property the next time that you are the San Diego area.

Best regards,
Mitchell David Buser, CHA
Ramada Mission Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

we went to sandeigo fro the family vacation. and stayed at this toel . very frendly and quite hotel. all the staff member are nice and very nicely dressed. manager was really frendly. very helpful with my kids. nice atmospher.. will go thereat every time whn i will visit san deigo ...

very nice place to stay..... best place

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cool85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoManager, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2010

We are pleased to know you had a great time in San Diego. Please visit the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU soon. There is always plenty of things to do and see- San Diego Zoo, Beaches, Sea World and many more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Everyone at the Inn from the front desk to the cleaning crew where all super nice . The trolley station is next to the Inn , which makes going to Charger games really convenient . A good value for the dollar . The staff are friendly and go out of there way to make guest feel comfortable .

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoManager, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2010

The staff at the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU tries their best to make every guest feel like they are home away from home. The Grantville station is located one block from the hotel giving it an easy access to the Qualcomm Stadium to see the Chargers play and also going to Downtown to the Petco Park for the Padres. If you do not have a car this is a great location to get around San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
California Suites Hotel
#228 of 278 in San Diego
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley
La Jolla Inn
#21 of 24 in La Jolla
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Address: 4380 Alvarado Canyon Rd, Hwy 8 & Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120-4301 (Formerly Ramada San Diego Mission Valley)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $84 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Motel-6, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Mission Valley / Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Ramada San Diego
Ramada Hotel San Diego
Super Eight San Diego
San Diego Super Eight
San Diego Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing