We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Ranked #231 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good choice for us”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Many pluses: good variety Continental breakfast, including yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, waffles; room safe let us leave laptop and other electronics in room when we were gone; wonderful to have elevator when taking luggage to and from our second floor room; kids loved heated pool. Staff friendly and helpful: breakfast items continually replenished; we had trouble with safe and help arrived at our door minutes after our call. Convenient to Sea World, shopping, and restaurants—nearby mall includes Target and Outback. Our room was in front and we worried that freeway noise would bother us but we didn’t even hear it with A/C on—slept great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU and for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. I am so glad to hear that our property was such a "good choice" for you and your family. We are very fortunate to be centrally located in the San Diego Area and close to many shops, restaurants and attractions. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of that. We hope to have you stay with us when you visit San Diego again. Thank you for choosing Ramada Mission Valley SDSU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    61
    26
    44
See reviews for
85
38
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wa. State
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room was clean and quiet, the WIFI worked, the continental breakfast was typical of this type of motel, the neighborhood seemed safe enough to walk/jog in the morning and the staff was very courteous. So for a place just to lay your head at night it is fine.

The only nit I pick is that the rooms are very small. In fact, the room was by far the smallest I can remember staying in. It was ok for Mrs. Spokaneman and me as we travel lite and don't spend much time in the room, but if you have much luggage and/ or kids, the rooms would be extremely tight.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back, away from the freeway and as a result quieter than those facing the freewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spokaneman1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and to allow other guest to read about your experience. We love to hear what our guest have to say. I am so pleased that you found our property to be "clean and quiet", and that you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast. We hope to have you stay with us again when you are in town. Thank you for choosing Ramada Mission Valley SDSU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is in a very industrial area, set inside loops of highways. For a three story building there wa sonly one ice machine with no signage to find it. The rooms were very tiny - certainly not deserving of a 3 star rating. Only good thing is that it was clean. They had no closts, and drawers that by design did not open.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

In town for a few days and this location was very close to the trolley station that i used to get around. Very clean and comfortable for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank gfrenchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
California Suites Hotel
#224 of 278 in San Diego
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Property: Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Address: 4380 Alvarado Canyon Rd, Hwy 8 & Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120-4301 (Formerly Ramada San Diego Mission Valley)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Mission Valley / Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Ramada San Diego
Ramada Hotel San Diego
Super Eight San Diego
San Diego Super Eight
San Diego Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing