We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Ranked #222 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our check in was interesting. we were given our room key on the third floor level. We asked about a lift. No lift we were told. No offer of help with the luggage either.This made taking our luggage up three flights of stairs hard work. ( we did find out there was a lift the next day) The young man at reception should be fully informed about the hotel! Our room was very clean and had everything we needed. It is abit noisy if you have the door open due to the freeway being close by. But it wasn't too bad. The breakfast was good plenty of variety and well stocked. would I stay again yes. But do believe some staff require more training again yes. Other than the lift issue we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: There is a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiJo190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is guests like you that allow us to make the necessary changes to improve for future guests.
We thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing here at the Ramada Mission Valley/SDSU. It is unfortunate that you weren't informed of the lift and I can assure our staff has been notified and is informed. However, it is awesome to hear that your room was "clean and had everything [you] needed". We strive to offer clean and accomodating rooms to all of our guests. We hope to see you stay with us again when you're traveling in the San Diego area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    59
    23
    42
See reviews for
84
37
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My daughters and I stayed overnight in this hotel, to save on commuting expenses. Other then hearing the freeway all night I would recommend this hotel. Little on the pricey side considering they only have a continental breakfast, and when we stay at the Hampton we pay the same and get the full breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to tell us and travelers about your stay with us at the Ramada Mission Valley/ SDSU. We are happy to hear that your family was able to enjoy our complimentary deluxe breakfast that we serve daily. We take pride in our property and assure you that we work hard to give the best price for our guests. It is guest like you that allow us to know where we can improve for our travelers. We hope to see you soon in your travels to San Diego in the future. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for our first San Diego Chargers game. We chose this hotel based on it’s proximity to the trolley line. The hotel was very convenient, right next to I-8. Although close, we did not hear the traffic noise. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Mini-fridge in room. Rate includes a self-service breakfast, waffles, cereals, pastries, juice and coffee. The trolley stop is very close, using the trolley was very nice to arrive at the stadium only a few minutes. But after the game the trolley line was PACKED, figured it would take hours to get back. We walked back to the hotel, a little over 2 miles. Just followed the walking map on Google maps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TirelessTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Ramada Mission Valley / SDSU. We are glad that you found your weekend stay to be “clean and comfortable.” We work hard to maintain high standards of cleanliness and maintenance at our property and appreciated that you were able to take notice and enjoy your room as well our complimentary deluxe breakfast. We are also very pleased to hear that you were able to take adavantage of our location and use public transit to get to your Charger game at Qualcomm Stadium. We look forward to having you stay at the Ramada Mission Valley / SDSU in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here with some friends for the San Diego Color Run. I wasn't expecting much since the room was so inexpensive ($80 for the early bird special for a room with 2 queen beds), but the room was great: clean, spacious, well-lit, free internet. It was perfect! Can't believe it's so inexpensive. Go Ramada.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank LAURA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST COVINA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

upon pulling the bed covers down I noticed specks of blood on the top sheet as if someone shaved their legs and went to bed bloody. then pulling the top sheet down, there were long black hairs on the bottom sheet with some sand pebbles. Obviously someone didn't change the bed--it was made beautifully when we walked in but it wasn't changed. When we called to for new sheets, there wasn't personnle to bring them to us so had to retrive them ourselves and make our own bed---as we went to put the fitted sheet on the bed, it was stained. It was washed but had stains on it. Being I didn't know what kind of stains (gag) I didn't use it ---slept on bed with just flat sheet and blanket I brought from home as I was pretty confident the blankets don't get washed between guests. needless to say, I didn't sleep well at all as the psychological part had me itchy all night......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank DIANE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
California Suites Hotel
#224 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Property: Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Address: 4380 Alvarado Canyon Rd, Hwy 8 & Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120-4301 (Formerly Ramada San Diego Mission Valley)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Motel-6, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Mission Valley / Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Ramada San Diego
Ramada Hotel San Diego
Super Eight San Diego
San Diego Super Eight
San Diego Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing