We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Ranked #222 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, good stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very convenient location, right by the highways. Just minutes from Old Town, Sea World, SD Zoo, etc. We drove to Coronado daily and it was only about a 15 minute drive.

Pros: clean, busy, friendly, attentive service, better than most breakfast with waffles, pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereals, toast, yogurt, and fruit (all of which is replenished constantly throughout the breakfast rush), roomy/updated decor. Also, I love the San Francisco line of toiletries that Ramada's use.

Cons: a/c unit was quite loud and did not get very cold, downstairs in a 3 story, near the stairs = not a good place to be!

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvGoingPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley/SDSU. We are so happy to hear that we are a “great location” and that you had a “good stay.” As you mentioned we are located just minutes away from San Diego’s famous attractions, such as Old Town, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo and are glad that you took notice. We are also happy that you took advantage of our daily Complimentary Deluxe Breakfast that includes the “Make Your Own Waffle” station. Thank you again for reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley/SDSU. We can’t wait to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    59
    23
    42
See reviews for
84
37
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We visited the California Mission San Diego de Alcala and the Ramada Mission Valley was the closest and most convenient hotel...and reasonably priced. The hotel has three floors and we chose to be in the second floor and was given a room in the back of the hotel. Although the hotel was surrounded (literally) by freeways...the room was relatively quiet. The room was clean but small. The pillows looked comfortable but appeared to have been cut in half...so the four pillows may have been two...nice trick, and it works. The a/c worked well but can keep you up at night if you're not used to the constant humming. There is a swimming pool, located in the middle of the front parking lot...and again, freeway views. Continental breakfast was included with our stay, (coffee, pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereals/milk, and waffles). We woke up early and found the parking lot full...that's good news for the hotel. Unfortunately, most of the breakfast items were missing or gone by the time we ate breakfast. Nice to have flavored coffee before we checked out. Bottom line: Clean and quiet hotel...good value for the money...for a quick stay...it is not a resort.

Room Tip: If you like to stay in front of the hotel, request for an even numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonsai3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley/SDSU. We are very happy to hear that our hotel is a “convenient location”. Fortunately we are located by the California Mission San Diego de Alcala and are delighted that you took advantage of that. We are also very glad to hear that our room was clean, as we do take pride in providing well maintained rooms. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary continental breakfast. We do apologize that by the time you got to the breakfast area and most items were gone. We will address this to our staff immediately to make sure this does not occur in the future. Thank you again for reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley and letting other travelers know about your stay, We hope that to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My fiancee and I were looking to stay at a hotel close to old town San Diego but didn't want to spend a whole lot of money for a hotel. Not an easy task for Memorial Weekend in San Diego. The Ramada fit the bill and was reasonably priced.
Hotel location: As others have said, the hotel is near the freeway, and in sort of an industrial part of the area. It was still clean and not a scary area to be around at night. Many of the parking spots are very tight.
The room: was tiny. It had the basics and really all we needed since we didn't plan on spending much time other than sleeping there. It was clean and trouble free. We also had a room on the side where the trolley track was, but we hardly noticed any noise.
The free breakfast: that was a bonus for us since we typically skip breakfast.

Room Tip: I feel the location of this hotel was fine for us. It was a 5 minute drive to wherever we were going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley/SDSU. We are very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be “reasonably priced,” during the Memorial Weekend. As you mentioned, we do offer a continental deluxe breakfast and are glad that you took advantage of it. We again appreciate you reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley/SDSU and hope that you will stay with us during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Needed a place to stay the night in the area and found this place close by. Quick and friendly check in, our room was simple, but extremely clean, and air conditioner worked great. Chili's right across the st, and close to stores and other restaurants. I Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a clean quiet room reasonably priced in the UDSU area.

Room Tip: ask for a room along the backside, helps keep the noise from the freeway at a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Ramada Mission Valley SDSU. We are very delighted to hear that our hotel is “clean, quiet, and affordable.” We are also glad to hear that you had a quick and friendly check in and that your room was extremely clean. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and well maintained rooms and are glad that you took notice. We are also fortunate to have Chili’s, as well as other restaurants and shops close by making it more convenient for our guests. Thank you again for reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU and recommending us to other travelers. We hope to see you in the future during your next visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Excellent choice of a hotel, if staying in San Diego for a Chargers game. Qualcomm Stadium is within walking distance (about a mile each way), but more importantly, the Trolley station is right next to the hotel. Not only does the trolley go directly to Qualcomm Stadium, but also to many other local landmarks.

The rooms are pretty typical for a Ramada (nothing too special), but the price is budget friendly.

The complimentary wifi in the rooms was not working for my mobile device (iPod), but there was a public computer available in the lobby area. No other issues with the room or hotel.

Typical continental breakfast was included with the room. There is a Chili's restaurant within walking distance, but not much else in the immediate area food wise.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again, when I return to the area for a Chargers game.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbarr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Ramada Mission Valley SDSU. We are glad to hear that you thought our hotel was a “good value and location if in town for football game.” We are fortunate to be located near the Qualcomm Stadium and trolley stadium making it convenient for our guests to stay during football season, as well as traveling to different attractions that San Diego is known for. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional hotel experiences while being affordable at the same time, so to hear you say that the price of our hotel is “budget friendly,” is great to hear. We do offer a free Continental Deluxe Breakfast with “Make Your Own Belgian Waffle,” and are glad that you took advantage of that. Thank you again for reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU. We look forward to seeing you in the future during your next stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

At a glance the room was nice, however looks can be deceiving. The room was smaller than I expected, It was very dirty. What was really gross was the tub, it looked like it needed to be bleached it was so black. The bath mat looked like it was about 20 years old as well and never washed. The bed we slept on was hard as a rock and so I had horrible back pains. I also found hair on the pillows and sheets which grossed me out. The room comes equipped with a complimentary coffee machine with coffee... that was dirty with dried up coffee... one night there was band playing music from 8pm-3am nearby that kept us awake. We paid over 220$ with taxes and fees for two nights.. totally not worth it. Don't even bother! The free breakfast was a joke and you are better driving to starbucks. SO DISAPPOINTING!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for investing the time to review your stay at the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU and bringing your concerns to our attention. To hear what you experienced at our hotel is disheartening and upsetting as we pride ourselves in providing guests with quality service and well maintained rooms. I can understand how frustrating it is to check into the hotel and not have the room be up to your standards. Please know that what you experienced is an exception and not the rule for the service we provide to our guests. I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and please know that your issues are being addressed with our staff so that we are able to improve our amenities and services to future guests. Thank you again for reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley/SDSU and we hope you reconsider when you visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Lathrup Village, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for a week trip. We drove to LA for one day, and had driven in from las vegas and went downtown sandiego for a few days. Hotel was nice and clean, but nothing to shout about. If you want a basic hotel that will supply breakfast every morning (Which was pretty good, except for the fruit) this is your hotel. If you are looking for upscale luxury, this is not the place! you can hear the freeway in your room, and the tvs are older, but we weren't there most of the time, it was literally just a room to sleep, change and store our things

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daralynn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ramada Mission Valley / SDSU. We appreciate your feedback as it is invaluable to us. We are happy that you found our hotel to be nice and clean and were able to enjoy our complimentary deluxe breakfast. Yes, you are correct, we are not an upscale luxury hotel, but we do strive in providing guests with clean and well maintained rooms at a reasonable rate. We again, thank you for taking the time to review the Ramada Mission Valley and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
California Suites Hotel
#224 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Property: Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Address: 4380 Alvarado Canyon Rd, Hwy 8 & Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120-4301 (Formerly Ramada San Diego Mission Valley)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Motel-6, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Mission Valley / Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Ramada San Diego
Ramada Hotel San Diego
Super Eight San Diego
San Diego Super Eight
San Diego Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing