We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites
Ranked #176 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our suite was huge and had everything we needed - even more! We really enjoyed our stay here. I actually prefer not to have my room cleaned and everything changed every day, it was good to know that no one entered our room while we were away. We loved that we could spread out both of our large suitcases and they weren't in our way. Reception staff was really helpful too whenever we needed them. We loved the back garden with all the hummingbirds. Would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 7Leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear 7Leila of UK,
Thank you for sharing your enjoyment of your recent stay with us here at Candlewood Suites in San Diego, CA. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the privacy of being able to spread out and not have daily housekeeping interrupt your activities. I am always glad to hear that guests found the Front Desk Staff to be helpful but not intrusive. We look forward to having you enjoy our hummingbirds again next year.

Sincerely,
Axay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 92 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

this place had the nicest rooms i have seen in most of the san diego area hotel suites. the first floor room had vaulted ceilings, 2 flat screen tv's,, all kitchen amenities including dishwasher and cookware. Although the bathroom was a little small, it was clean and had lots of towels. The parking was plentiful on a saturday evening, and it felt like the hotel was very private being set back from the main drag of hotel circle and freeway 8.

Room Tip: all the rooms seem nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaksback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Jaksback,

I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on the staff. We hope you'll come back and visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed Aug 10-17, 2013. We enjoyed the privacy, no maid service, we can make our own beds, pick up after ourselves, and take our own trash out. Suites were roomy, and had everything we needed. The lights had motion sensors on them, which was great so you didn't have to worry about turning them off. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice restaurants near by. They were very nice on the wallet.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glennath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Glennath,

Thank you very much for your positive review on trip advisor. What you have describe is the motto of our brand to provide a home away from home to our long term guests. You have explained beautifully, what Candlewood Suites San Diego is. I hope you and your family will visit your this home in near future. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We are frequent travelers and we are always looking for good rooms at reasonable prices since we would rather spend our money on getting the most out of the places we visit. We have stayed in San Diego at least 20 times. We have tried all of the suite hotels in the area and find Candlewood to be one of the best. This does not mean that you should expect 5 star amenities , this is a Suite hotel after all. As others have said you will only have maid service once a week, no breakfast, no pool, and very few other frills. What you will get here is a large space that is clean and comfortable, a full kitchen with a full size refrigerator and dishwasher, free parking(a real plus in San Diego), two flat screen televisions and free wifi.
As for breakfast you are just down the hill from Hillcrest that has several great restaurants or visit the farmer's market on Sunday and buy bake goods and fruit that is better than any free breakfast we have ever had at a motel.
The real problem with suite hotels is the lack of upkeep on the properties. We plan to stay here again to see how they do on that.

Stayed: July 2013
3  Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Arthur D.
Thank you for your recent review of Candlewood Suites. I appreciate your mentioning our free parking and wifi for all our guests. Did you have a chance to use our complementary laundry facilities and Cupboard/snack bar? Our full kitchen is only missing an oven, but does have the full size amenities on all other fronts, even basic cookware/dishes. We had extensive remodeling last year, when we became a Candlewood and will continue to upgrade different areas of the hotel. Next year new and improved bath products.

Axay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice property right on hotel circle, close to all attractions and downtown. Kind of a inside-outside hotel. Rooms are huge and clean. Housekeeping only comes once a week, so it would be best to stay one night or a whole week. Staff was very friendly and they have a snack area open 24 hours if you need something to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you, Micheal S. for your recent review of our property Candlewood Suites. Glad you enjoyed our large rooms, conveniently located in Mission Valley near the Zoo, Sea World and many beaches. Thanks for the Staff kudos as well as your appreciation of Cupboard/Snack bar. We are able to keep our rates low by cutting housekeeping to 1x /wk (once for every 8 days of stay). We look forward to seeing you again, soon.


Axay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Room had a little smokey smell, but was okay. Room was clean but the hotel is fairly old. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Kitchen offerings were a bit lacking, usually there are more items available. Room could use more lighting - overall it was an adequate stay.. May or may not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Jack50,
Thank you for your recent review of Candlewood Suites. I'm glad to hear that you found our Staff very friendly and helpful. All our amenities, such as kitchen equipment/utensils and lamps are brand standard.(what we are allowed to have) All our room are non-smoking but we do allow it outside. I hope you find your next stay with us to be at least good, if not Awesome. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Axay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here in a 2-bedroom suite for 5 nights. Yes, amenities and service are barebones, but it was a great value for the extra space. We paid only a little more than a standard hotel room would have cost at our conference hotel in the same area and we had all that room, 3 televisions, 2 bathrooms and a very complete kitchen. Yes, no breakfast, but the kitchen made it fairly easy to pick up some groceries and do breakfast in our room. We asked for room on upper floor at back of hotel and had no problems with noise. We can see where that back area with outside entrances could feel creepy to a single female traveling alone, but as a couple it was no big deal. Sure, they might want to rethink the business plan here and offer a breakfast and more cleaning service like other suite hotels, but that would probably only raise the price and reduce the value for those of us who prize space to spread out in to be comfortable.

Room Tip: High floor at back of hotel to avoid noise and get good light, especially the corner suites like we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FishingPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Fishing Pastor, Thank you for submitting a thorough review for your stay with us at Candlewood Suites San Diego. I appreciate you mentioning our extra large suites and the great value for your money. We try to provide a clean and quiet stay for all guests.We enjoy the opportunity to have you as a guest and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Axay Sayania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Hotel Circle/Sea World Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Address: 1335 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3408 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $121 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To make our hotel your best choice in terms of both facilities and services, renovation work on the entire hotel is being done, Spa, Laundry and Fitness Room will be carried out till may 31st . There will be minor visual disturbance and some construction noise from 9:00 am to 6:30 pm. While every effort is being made to ensure your comfort during this period, we apologize in advance for any inconvenience you may experience. Thank you for your kind understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hawthorn Suites San Diego
San Diego Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing