We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Value”
Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites
Ranked #178 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It has been about nine years since I have stayed at a Candlewood Suites. The first experience (Schaumberg, IL) was great. The time it was okay,

The check-in process was efficient. The front-desk attendant promptly put her call on hold and checked me in. She was very courteous. Later I has a problem with a broken remote control, she and maintenance were able to resolve it very quickly.

The hotel was in need of some renovation. There were walls with chips that could use a little repair and a coat of paint. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen was functional. The bathroom could have used a fan vent. The pool seemed more like an afterthought. You had to cross the parking lot to get to it. That being said at least it was clean.

One feature touted by Candlewood Suites is the free laundry. Good but this property had only two washers and dryers available. They were always in use and I had to constantly check for an opening. Nothing like the picture with guy with four washing machines.

There are not many options within walking distance for shopping and dining. Within a five minute drive, there are many options as there are two major shopping malls in that drive. The hotel is freeway close but far enough that the noise does not effect you. There is a long driveway to the hotel that takes you up the side of a hill. Pay close attention as the sign is small and you might miss the driveway.

The best part of the stay was the value. For a party of five at $80 per night, Candlewood provided us with a one-bedroom suite. You can't beat that price in San Diego.

The reason for an average rating was based on my first experience with Candlewood Suites. When I stayed the first time, I would consider Candlewood on par with staying at a Residence Inn. This stay wasn't on the level with a Residence Inn or even a Towneplace Suite. It was more like the class of an Extended Stay America.

Would I stay here again. Most likely. The value is hard to pass up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Rbron,

Thank you for sharing your Candlewood Suites San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed our awesome hotel and amazing location! We are in the process of Upgrading the drains in the main/regular Laundry on the first floor and hope to re-open all 4 washers and 4 dryers on March 30. The alternate 3rd Floor location is a temporary solution, to keep our free wash/dryers available for guests.

We certainly appreciate your kind words on our clean and comfortable accommodations and look forward to welcoming you back to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 89 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This a great hotel in a great area close to downtown Sa Diego. There are many things to do in the area for individuals as well for the family. There a lovely park minutes from this hotel and it located right on the beach. Each time we are in the San Diego area we stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ibrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Ibrahim, Thank you for your stay and leaving feedback of our hotel Candlewood Suites San Diego. I am pleased to know that you found our location to be convenient for your needs and the room amenities were suitable for your needs. We are looking forward to meet you again. Thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days. These rooms were wonderful. Spacious,comfortable,clean and extremely affordable. (i still can't believe how much we paid for two rooms and what we got) Staff is friendly as well. Kitchens in the rooms are a great touch. Property is nice for the location. Close to everything you'd want to do in San Diego. Would definitely stay again. Thanks for a wonderful stay Candlewood!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Zoran,

Thank you very much for your kind words for Candlewood Suites San Diego. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our property. Our suites are the biggest suites on hotel circle area. and we will look forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at the Candlewood Suites San Diego on 21-22 Dec. Upon arrival was greeted as a Priority Club Platinum member by staff and was upgraded to a king room. When we arrived at room we noticed that the door was not shut. When we entered room the temp in room was 60 deg(F), just as cold as outside. The room itself was great. The window heater was totally inedaquate to heat room. It did not get up to a comfortable temperature till noon our second day there. The bathroom never got warm. There was only one small mirror in the entire room. For a one person stay this would be OK. For two people M/F it was a problem. For a family with 2 or more females this would be an impossible situation. Staff informed me that the one mirror per room was a Candlewood policy and not the individual property decision. The entrance sign to the hotel was very difficult to see when driving east on Hotel Circle South. The hotel staff were great and the amenities were excelent. I plan to stay here again but when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larrynmarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Larry and Marsha,

Thank you for noting our friendly and helpful staff, they are dedicated to making our guest feel welcomed. We are glad you were our guest and look forward to having you return at Candlewood Suites San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms at the Candlewood Suites San Diego this weekend and were pleasently surprised when we got into the rooms (Room 202 and 218)
Room 202: King size bed, sofa sleeper, nice size kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, everything you need for a comfortable stay.
Room 218: AMAZING! One bedroom with king size bed with own bathroom. One additional bed (queen) with own closet and bathroom, kitchen, work area, sofa sleeper and much more.... Nice upgrade.
Service at check in was OK (not great, but OK)
We got vouchers for 2 free drinks per room (not sure if due to Platinum status with Priority Club)but you can ask.
Overall very happy to have found this Hotel in the area. We come to San Diego often and will be staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: Room 218 is the best - huge room~
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Marisa,

Thank you for writing about your experience. Our rooms are large and clean and very stylish and we are glad that you noticed. We look forward to your return. In addition, we will try to make our checking more interesting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The location was perfect, they gave us a upgrade when we arrived it was wonderful. Full kitchen separate sleeping area and close to everything.We will be staying here whenever we're in San Diego.also drove down to Mexico it's about a 15 min ride.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denekia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

For the GM-Axay, Michelle Front Desk Manager is responding;
Dear Denekia,
Thank you so much for sharing so specifically regarding your stay with us. We love it when people mention our kitchenettes,(full size refrigerator, 2 burner flat top stove, microwave and dishwasher)practically a full kitchen, separate bedroom area and our great, central location in Mission Valley. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Michelle Stacy
Front Desk Manager
Candlewood Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel was very nice. quite and safe place to stay. staff is very nice and helpful.very friendly.
Manager is very nice so friendly and willing to do anything to make guests Happy. Hotel look like manage very good by Manager. cupborad prices are very cheap. room are very very nice . If i want to come to the San diego I will go stay at candle wood hotel . I was so happy for my stay. stayed 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pooja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

WOW.. Thank you very much for your kind words. Thank you for mentioning our low cupboard prices and you enjoyed the room. Please come again some. We appreciated your business.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Hotel Circle/Sea World Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Address: 1335 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3408 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $131 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To make our hotel your best choice in terms of both facilities and services, renovation work on the entire hotel is being done, Spa, Laundry and Fitness Room will be carried out till may 31st . There will be minor visual disturbance and some construction noise from 9:00 am to 6:30 pm. While every effort is being made to ensure your comfort during this period, we apologize in advance for any inconvenience you may experience. Thank you for your kind understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hawthorn Suites San Diego
San Diego Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing