We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a lovely area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites
Ranked #172 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a lovely area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This a great hotel in a great area close to downtown Sa Diego. There are many things to do in the area for individuals as well for the family. There a lovely park minutes from this hotel and it located right on the beach. Each time we are in the San Diego area we stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ibrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ibrahim, Thank you for your stay and leaving feedback of our hotel Candlewood Suites San Diego. I am pleased to know that you found our location to be convenient for your needs and the room amenities were suitable for your needs. We are looking forward to meet you again. Thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
38
18
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days. These rooms were wonderful. Spacious,comfortable,clean and extremely affordable. (i still can't believe how much we paid for two rooms and what we got) Staff is friendly as well. Kitchens in the rooms are a great touch. Property is nice for the location. Close to everything you'd want to do in San Diego. Would definitely stay again. Thanks for a wonderful stay Candlewood!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Zoran,

Thank you very much for your kind words for Candlewood Suites San Diego. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our property. Our suites are the biggest suites on hotel circle area. and we will look forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at the Candlewood Suites San Diego on 21-22 Dec. Upon arrival was greeted as a Priority Club Platinum member by staff and was upgraded to a king room. When we arrived at room we noticed that the door was not shut. When we entered room the temp in room was 60 deg(F), just as cold as outside. The room itself was great. The window heater was totally inedaquate to heat room. It did not get up to a comfortable temperature till noon our second day there. The bathroom never got warm. There was only one small mirror in the entire room. For a one person stay this would be OK. For two people M/F it was a problem. For a family with 2 or more females this would be an impossible situation. Staff informed me that the one mirror per room was a Candlewood policy and not the individual property decision. The entrance sign to the hotel was very difficult to see when driving east on Hotel Circle South. The hotel staff were great and the amenities were excelent. I plan to stay here again but when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larrynmarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Larry and Marsha,

Thank you for noting our friendly and helpful staff, they are dedicated to making our guest feel welcomed. We are glad you were our guest and look forward to having you return at Candlewood Suites San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Hills, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms at the Candlewood Suites San Diego this weekend and were pleasently surprised when we got into the rooms (Room 202 and 218)
Room 202: King size bed, sofa sleeper, nice size kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, everything you need for a comfortable stay.
Room 218: AMAZING! One bedroom with king size bed with own bathroom. One additional bed (queen) with own closet and bathroom, kitchen, work area, sofa sleeper and much more.... Nice upgrade.
Service at check in was OK (not great, but OK)
We got vouchers for 2 free drinks per room (not sure if due to Platinum status with Priority Club)but you can ask.
Overall very happy to have found this Hotel in the area. We come to San Diego often and will be staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: Room 218 is the best - huge room~
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Marisa,

Thank you for writing about your experience. Our rooms are large and clean and very stylish and we are glad that you noticed. We look forward to your return. In addition, we will try to make our checking more interesting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The location was perfect, they gave us a upgrade when we arrived it was wonderful. Full kitchen separate sleeping area and close to everything.We will be staying here whenever we're in San Diego.also drove down to Mexico it's about a 15 min ride.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denekia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
For the GM-Axay, Michelle Front Desk Manager is responding;
Dear Denekia,
Thank you so much for sharing so specifically regarding your stay with us. We love it when people mention our kitchenettes,(full size refrigerator, 2 burner flat top stove, microwave and dishwasher)practically a full kitchen, separate bedroom area and our great, central location in Mission Valley. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Michelle Stacy
Front Desk Manager
Candlewood Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel was very nice. quite and safe place to stay. staff is very nice and helpful.very friendly.
Manager is very nice so friendly and willing to do anything to make guests Happy. Hotel look like manage very good by Manager. cupborad prices are very cheap. room are very very nice . If i want to come to the San diego I will go stay at candle wood hotel . I was so happy for my stay. stayed 2 weeks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
WOW.. Thank you very much for your kind words. Thank you for mentioning our low cupboard prices and you enjoyed the room. Please come again some. We appreciated your business.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was nice compared to the higher priced surrounding hotels. If you are looking for a weekend trip and your not spending much time in the room, this is the place for you. Don't be discouraged because the suites are quite comfy if you need to relax for a spell as well. Only weekly maid service provided. The upside is the 1 bedroom suites are nice and spacious and provide plenty of room to spread out. The downside would be you have to take the elevator to a upper lobby only to go back outside to your room because the doors are exterior facing. The hotel staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Choose the suite, it has plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANET4749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Janet,

Thank you very much for your feedback on trip advisor, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#139 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Property: Candlewood Suites
Address: 1335 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3408 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To make our hotel your best choice in terms of both facilities and services, renovation work on the entire hotel is being done, Spa, Laundry and Fitness Room will be carried out till may 31st . There will be minor visual disturbance and some construction noise from 9:00 am to 6:30 pm. While every effort is being made to ensure your comfort during this period, we apologize in advance for any inconvenience you may experience. Thank you for your kind understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hawthorn Suites San Diego
San Diego Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing