We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go on Wednesdays!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bub's at the Beach

Bub's at the Beach
Ranked #725 of 4,726 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Description: At 1030 Garnet Ave, it is located in the heart of Pacific Beach's thriving business and entertainment district, just 3 blocks from the beach and 10 minutes from California Interstate 5. The backbone to Bub's longevity is its addictive menu of "non-bar like" food. Besides single handedly bringing back Tator Tots to the educated world, Bub's has created a menu that you would not normally expect to find in a little watering hole in your hometown. Sauces made from scratch. All fresh ingredients. And a staff who takes pride in the product they serve and the service they provide. Don't believe me? Check us out. Don't want to check us out? Fine... Just don't complain when you eat crappy food somewhere else.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go on Wednesdays!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Nice atmosphere for a game, good wings, and beer. They have large windows and outdoor seating that has a pretty good view of downtown, which I prefer because I don't feel like I'm rubbing shoulders with everyone in the restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeighNikole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice bar setting, good food, excellent bloody Mary bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Casual setting, service was very prompt and helpful. The burger I had was delicious and good size. It's just a real easy, comfortable place to have a decent meal. Now the bloody mary bar was great - had all the fixings you need, and it was fun to experiment with new ingredients. Enjoy a burger, a beer, and watch one of many games on their many television screens.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PartyOnIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had seen reviews for Bub's before we left for San Diego and put it on our list of places to find. We stayed in Pacific Beach and this was easily walking distance from there. It's not on the beach but in a rather quirky area of "town" with some cute shops and lots of tatoo parlors... We went for lunch and each had delicious steak sandwiches. Mine was the Beach Break steak sammitch (thier spelling) with mushrooms & onions, DH had the Pittsburg steak sammitch. The Beach Break had chunks of tender, delicious steak, smothered in cheese and topped with onions and mushrooms (extra) while the Pittsburg was more sliced/shaved steak, but equally delicious and topped with cheese and onions & peppers (extra) and both were served on a perfectly toasted (yet soft) roll. Best of all the meal comes with tater tots! heavenly!! Don't forget the Archie sauce for dipping too... Very good meal for not alot of money - great service and cold beer! Definately worth the walk and probably a good thing after that giant meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babsyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good food. My wife likes the Philly style sandwich she got. Can't remember the name. The wings are good and they have some really good sauces. Nice patio too!

Fair prices for the area. We'll be back next time we're in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Mad a late night run. Called ahead for take out, which was cool. The food was ready quickly and was good. I regret not staying a little longer. Had a lot of TV screens showing baseball games. Not bad for a quick bite.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stepan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bub's at the Beach also viewed

 

Been to Bub's at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing