We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #191 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great Customer Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the newly renovated Travelodge, I had visited this hotel before and I expected it to be the same as the last time I had stayed there but to my surprise the place is looking better than ever now. I noticed the new paint but the most surprising thing to me was the new rooms. The rooms had a nice modern design that was warm and inviting. I think this place is changing for the BETTER, including the staff that was very helpful and friendly. They front desk girls printed a map out for me to a address I was going to. The manager was also present when I checked out and made sure I had a good stay at their hotel, he told me about the local events that went on around the hotel which was good for future reference. All in all I had a pleasant stay with a great staff that took care of me! Thanks guys, I'll see you next time. Alex

Room Tip: Ask for the their best rooms, it's worth the little extra you might have to pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Alex,
Thank you for being our valued guest! We are glad you like our new rooms and that you gave us your most sincere opinion. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and we were able to assist you in any way. Our main purpose is to bring all the attraction and area information to every single guest as every guest is very valuable for us. I will pass along your comments with all staff.
We look forward for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    87
    80
    44
    55
See reviews for
74
67
25
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

it was decent, walking distance to Petco and Gaslamp District. no driving required, especially good considering the high parking rates $30-$40

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Manuela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello Manuela,
Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your feedback. We are glad that you found your stay decent and within walking distance to Petco and Gaslamp District as we are only 1 mile away for 20-25 minute walk. We hope to see you soon and don’t forget to give us a call for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, null, Uganda
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Me and two of my colleagues from Uganda had gone for the ESRI International Convention at the San Diego Downtown Convention Center and we had booked accommodation with the Travelodge hotel San Diego downtown where we were welcomed and checked in by Jessy to our rooms. To be honest we found value for money, Wonderful interiors, and very good Customer care from Jessy who was knowledgeable about the town. The location is excellent, easily accessible and good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobarhleam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi Thank you for your sharing the wonderful experience you had during your stay. I’m excited to hear that this location was very convenient for your Conference at the San Diego Convention Center as is only 1 mile away and very easy transportation to get there if not a good 20minute walk takes you there. We are proud to say that it is our goal to inform you to the most of our location for your convenience. Im glad you loved our interiors as we are still working in our renovation. I will pass your comments to the front desk. We look forward for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Don't be fooled by the title...this hotel is not near the convention centre. It is in fact, in the middle of a poorer area of San Diego...I was even warned not to walk around at night. There are no cafes/ restaurants that would appeal to the traveller....these are all in the 'gaslamp quarter'. As a first time traveller to San Diego, it would've been handy to know this!

The staff however, were friendly and did provide a refund for my second night after I decided to leave. If you have a vehicle, there is free parking (unlike hotels in the gaslamp quarter that will charge you for each night). The room was clean & comfortable, had a bar fridge and the wifi worked! There is also complimentary juice/ pastries for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mr Loges,
First of all thanks for your comments of our friendly staff and that you had no problems with your room.
Unfortunately, we are not located in the Gaslamp quarter but we are Near San Diego Downtown and San Diego Convention Center. As is only 1 mile away, 20 minutes walking, 5 min driving/cab and easy public transportation that takes you directly to the town. We do have Cafes, stores, fast food restaurants within walking distance. I’m sorry we missed giving you all the area information you needed during your stay. Our main purpose is to bring all the attraction and area information to every single guest as every guest is very valuable for us.
I will pass along your comments with all staff and we hope you come back and give us the opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#207 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown
#193 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Property: Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1801 Logan Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-2111 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego is yours to explore at our Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center hotel, near San Diego Airport. Located off Interstate 5, easy access to San Diego Convention Center ,Downtown, Gaslamp, our hotel in San Diego is the perfect choice for a weekend getaway or conference attendance. We offer free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can check directions or catch up on email before you head out on your long day of sightseeing. Limited Parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown Hotel San Diego
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing