We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting on for Mother's Day weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #212 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was not only a location close to our son's apt, we found it convenient to much in downtown San Diego (Zoo, Balboa Park, Gas Lamp District, Harbor, Coronoda Island). The hotel was still in process of completing their remodel and our room still needed baseboards, however, it was clean and comfortable. We brought a couple of minor problems to the front desk and they were addressed. Although in a marginal neighborhood, the security of the hotel was very good, the front desk was open 24 hrs and they do not have persons/families living there or loitering on the property. The breakfast was well stocked and adequate for a quick and light meal, however, there are so many good eating places in nearby downtown to enjoy. Parking was free and the price was very good, especially applying an AARP discount and another percentage off for staying 3 nights. In fact, we made on-line reservations about 2 weeks in advance and then found a better rate 2 days before our arrival, so cancelled the first without a problem. A swimming pool would have been nice, however, with so much to do in SD, we would really not have had time to use it. We will definitely stay at this hotel again in future trips down to SD and while my son lives just 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank GardenDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay with us
We are glad you found our location very convenient and close to the Downtown/Gaslamp area. Only 1.0 mile away from Gaslamp, 3.0 miles to San Diego Zoo/Balboa Park and 3.0 miles to Coronado Island. We are very happy you had a good time on Mother's Day in company of your love ones. Thank you for pointing out of our renovation, we are still working in little details and exterior of our hotel which will be done in a few more weeks.
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our continental breakfast, our free parking, Wi-Fi and mostly that you had the opportunity to save money with your AARP discount.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 378 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank TravelCyclingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank TJMJR11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

they had clean rooms and excellent service, always really helpful! the elivator wasn't working and there was a bit of noise from other hotel guests at night but overall a god stay! we were able to walk to and from the gas lamp quarter each day but also had the option of a bus (number 11 takes you into gaslamp/downtown) which stopped right out the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We are so glad that your recent stay was enjoyable, and that there were no problems. Im glad you found our location very convenient to Gaslamp Quarter/Downtown San Diego, and yes, public transportation is very easy and convenient as well. Across the street bus #11 which takes you directly to Downtown/Gaslamp or a good 25 min walking. We tried to give the best way for you to travel to save some time and money. Thanks for understanding that our elevator is out of service for renovation and Im glad it was not a problem. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and give us some feedback, we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Susana
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Rodolfo C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#60 of 286 in San Diego
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1801 Logan Ave, San Diego, CA 92113-2111 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $61 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego is yours to explore at our Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center hotel, near San Diego Airport. Located off Interstate 5, easy access to San Diego Convention Center ,Downtown, Gaslamp, our hotel in San Diego is the perfect choice for a weekend getaway or conference attendance. We offer free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can check directions or catch up on email before you head out on your long day of sightseeing. Limited Parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown Hotel San Diego
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing