We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July Bar Exam Takers - I love this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #200 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
La Jolla, California, USA
1 review
“July Bar Exam Takers - I love this Hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

First, I want to say that this Travelodge is NOT fancy. But their rates are very good for us Bar Exam Takers. I paid about $70/night. The hotel is ONLY SIX MINUTES FROM THE CONVENTION CENTER! 6 Minutes! They do have coffee downstairs and if you need more coffee for the little machine in the room they will give you extra bags.

And they want to cater to Bar Exam Takers for July. Here's my especially important part about my experience at this hotel. Like everyone, I would park in the underground parking garage at
the Convention Center. Then during lunch breaks (1.5 hours), I would head to the hotel (since it's only 6 minutes away) for some food and coffee. (by the way, the rooms also have little frig's in them). Anyway, during the break of the last day I headed to the hotel to get ready for the Performance Test in the afternoon. But when I left the parking garage, I turned my headlights on for safety as I drove out. So I get to the hotel, have my lunch and watch the clock. My system was to leave 20 minutes before check in time to make sure I'd have plenty of time for the Perf. Test instructions, etc. We were supposed to be seated at 1:30 for instructions. So I leave my room at 1:10. But when I get to my car in their parking lot the BATTERY WAS DEAD because I forgot to turn them off when I left the Convention Center. By this time 5 more minutes had passed. I thought: IT'S OVER! There was no time to call a taxi or to get AAA their for a jump start. I got out of my car in a state of total depression. But then saw the owner of the Travelodgee getting out of his car he had just parked a few spaces down from me. He had been friendly to me during my stay, so I called out "Ray, my battery is dead AND I have ten minutes to get to the Convention Center; could you give me a ride over there, please?" He immediately said, "Of course, get in and let's go!" He got me there in plenty of time to be seated by 1:30!
I was so grateful for his help, and wanted to wrtie a good recommendation for them. Inexpensive, helpful, coffee maker in room, plus frig, and only six minutes from the Convention Center. Bar Takers in July, make your reservations. Like I said, not fancy, but you'll enjoy it and it's close. Best of Luck on the July Exam. Mike

Room Tip: They have smoking and non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We really appreciate your review, but most of all Love hearing you had a wonderful time while staying with us. Thank you for pointing out how centrally located our property is, very convenient to San Diego Convention Center/Gaslamp. Like you said is only 6 minutes away if you drive or 20-25 min walking. Im glad you found a ride with the General Manager "Rahul".

Thank you and look forward to seeing you next time you come to San Diego.

Sincerely,

Susana
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    90
    84
    46
    60
See reviews for
84
68
26
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holgate, Oh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Overall, my family and I enjoyed our stay. Here are the pros and cons:
Pros:
Friendly service
Good location
Cheap price
Clean, comfortable room
WiFi worked

Cons:
Not much for breakfast
Elevator not working (Nobody in my party needed it, but I could see it being a problem for others.)
Building itself could look nicer; seems very old.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We find all feed back valuable in learning how to better accommodate our guests. We are pleased to learn that you were happy with your rate, our convenient location and the friendly staff. We value all remarks, as they help us improve. Im sure next time you visit us you'll like the new colors we are choosing for our exterior hotel. We will be completely done with this renovation soon. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Susana
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It wasn't the nicest place I've ever stayed, but wasn't the worst place by any stretch. Everything seemed clean that I saw. I didn't see any mice, bed bugs, or various other digusting things. It looked like they were doing some work to the hotel, as there were some baseboard/siding strips lying in the hallways. The parking lot was small very, but I didn't have any issues with finding a spot. I backed into the same small spot both nights, it worked.

I can't say much for the neighborhood as I wasn't there long, and I really didn't spend much time at all in the hotel aside from when I was sleeping. It was a short drive (or taxi ride) to downtown and the Gaslamp Quarter though, so that was a plus for me. The front desk people seemed nice - no issues there. Overall, a fairly average stay. I'd most likely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are so glad that your recent stay was enjoyable, and that there were no problems. Thank you for pointing out about our renovation and how close to Downtown/Gaslamp our property is.
We appreciate you for taking the time to write us a review and give us some feedback, we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Susana
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

we enjoyed the stay. the staff was outstanding in friendliness and very helpful. the room and bath were extremely clean and pristine. the price of the room was outstanding.
we will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Josiah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are so glad that your recent stay was enjoyable, and that there were no problems. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and give us some feedback, we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Susana

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#170 of 279 in San Diego
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#205 of 279 in San Diego
208 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown
#195 of 279 in San Diego
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Property: Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1801 Logan Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-2111 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego is yours to explore at our Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center hotel, near San Diego Airport. Located off Interstate 5, easy access to San Diego Convention Center ,Downtown, Gaslamp, our hotel in San Diego is the perfect choice for a weekend getaway or conference attendance. We offer free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can check directions or catch up on email before you head out on your long day of sightseeing. Limited Parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelPower, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown Hotel San Diego
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing