We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #215 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This place was ok. Not great. Not bad. Just ok. The bus stop is right outside so that was good as we didnt have a car. Not much to do in the area at all. Our room was fine and clean. The breakfast was a let down. The female working reception was helpful, but the male the next day was useless. We asked him to book a taxi for us for the next morning as we had to leave extreamly early to catch our train. We woke the next day to find he'd messed it up and we had no taxi and got no apology from him. He couldn't care less, and needs to work on his customer service. The vending machine was messed up, put my money in and selected a coke and got sprite. Then when my friend put his money in and selected sprite he got something completely different. Not cool. As i said, it was fine but nothing special and i wont be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_11e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

It is a disappointment to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We appreciate your comments and apologize for your inconvenience. Glad you found stop bus within walking distance. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ericka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 382 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

Over all OK for the price $50.00 a night for 4 nights. As for location, it is Not close to the Gas Lamp District or the Convention Center or Balboa Park...San Diego ZOO. You have to get a Taxi, to get to those places. I took a jog from my hotel to gas Lamp, as I said" it took longer then I expected. Even jogging to the Convention Center, boy what a boring jog, until you finally get to the back of the convention center, where all the activies are.

Back to the hotel room. Room was ok. Highlight was mini refrigerator, microwave and no bed bugs. the room did smell moldy and the carpet was filthy, so keep you shoes on unless you want to see you white sox Black. There breakfast was simple, cereal,Danish and orange drink. There Ice maker, the only one in the whole hotel Sucked. It took forever to dispense Ice....argg. Overall you pay for what you get. Probally would not stay here again, unless it's really really Cheap price $.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j1holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

ABVISanDiego, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments we apprecciat all fee back as it makes us improve. We are sorry you were dissappointed with your stay and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Ericka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Me and two friends stayed here for a convention. We were told it was in walking distance, but quickly decided that we would not be walking. There really isn't easy access to much unless u drive or take a cab. The rooms are old and dingy. Even though the maids seemed nice and came in each day. We had a big ant problem the whole time we were there. Honestly we didn't spend much time at the room unless we were sleeping... But we kept the door double locked while we were in there. If you are looking for cheap and don't care, this hotel will do. If u are looking for comfort or clean, book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passthetest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments we apprecciat all fee back as it makes us improve. We are sorry you were dissappointed with your stay and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Ericka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

America's Best Value Inn at Downtown/Convention Center in San Diego has a good location - it is close to the Convention Center and other hotels where conferences are
held.

The rooms are neat and clean.

The staff is polite and courteous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debnath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are pleased to learn that you were happy with your rate, our convenient location and the friendly staff. We value all remarks, as they help us improve. We look forward to your return.


Sincerely,

Ericka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Not in a great location...not near the convention centre or really anything. We walked back from the Pier...was a very long ways. Bus stops right out front and you can ride it all day for $1.50, so not a big deal. Hotel is ok, you get what you pay for. Lobby is small and smelled like pea! Really smelled like pea and other guests commented. By morning the staff was burning incense in the lobby? Flowery pea was now the odor. Breakfast is offered here, very small, and after the smell, we moved on to eat. Staff was friendly and accomodating as we arrived early. Room was clean and very roomy. Nothing over the top but had a nice sitting area, sink, fridge, microwave and large clean bathroom. Hotel is located in a fairly quite area just off the main freeway, very easy to get to. Overall a decent hotel for the price and being fairly downtown San Diego. Parking is free.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgaryHolidaykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thank you for being our valued guest! We credit our success to providing good service and clean accommodations at affordable prices. We apologize for the incense smell. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,

Ericka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I went to san Diego for Comicon and this was one of the last rooms available in town. The pros: It was a room, it had two queen beds, no bedbugs or vermin, it was mostly clean except for some water damage to the carpet by the bathroom ( a leak under the wall apparently) and fairly quiet. The cons: The reason it is fairly quiet is that it is the middle of Nowhere. No restaurants, clubs, bars, stores, movie theaters....nothing near this place to do at night. It is about a 15 min walk to the convention center. The hotel is not near any shuttles- it would take you as long to walk to a shuttle stop as to just walk to the Con. The neighborhood that the hotel is situated in is NOT one in which you want to be walking after dark. It is industrial, near the shipyard, empty buildings after 5pm, and streets filled with homeless encampments. The week of Comicon, the owner tried to boost my payment for my reserved room from $150.00 per night to $300 per night by telling me that my reservation fell through and the only rooms left were now $300. I booked through Venere.com and either they didnt send my cc# to him, or he claims they didnt. Either way, there was much arguing and contacting of Corporate HQs, and threatening emails. Finally he agreed to give me my booking back at $200 a night, still $50 more per night than what I had agreed to pay, but he had me over a barrel, no more rooms in town at any price, and he knew it. (If there was no convention in town, and you had choices, you would not pay more than $75 tops for this very basic room.) So, when you book, make sure you get written confirmation from the HOTEL, not just the booking consolidator. This hotel offers free danishes and coffee in the lobby in the am. But, at Beardsley & Newton, a couple of blocks from the hotel, there is a great little Mexican restaurant, New Mexico Cafe La Dona with really good breakfasts for about $7 per. If you do stay at this hotel and do walk, go there for brekky or take-along instead of paying through the nose for food around the CC. In the final analysis I would say: if you are planning for next year's Con, get a shuttle map (San Diego tourist info should have one) and find a hotel that is within the Convention's shuttle radius. It will make a huge difference in your ability to get to and from the CC easily and cheaply. (Parking at Petco Park is about $25.00 a day, and at the Marriot next door to the CC is $35).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

It is a disappointment to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We appreciate your comments and apologize for your inconvenience. Glad you found New Mexico Cafe La Dona within walking distance. We look forward to your next visit

Sincerely,

Ericka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Sleeping in the bathtub would have been more comfortable then the beds; but I was too afraid spiders would crawl out of the drain. We were not expecting much for the price and location... but this was insulting! ABSOLUTELY DONT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The worst place we have EVER stayed! We have stayed all over the world and in bad areas! This was the worst!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmkmsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

It is a disappointment to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We appreciate your comments and apologize for your inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Ericka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites San Diego Downtown
4.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
4.9 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
8.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1801 Logan Ave, San Diego, CA 92113-2111 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $69 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego is yours to explore at our Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center hotel, near San Diego Airport. Located off Interstate 5, easy access to San Diego Convention Center ,Downtown, Gaslamp, our hotel in San Diego is the perfect choice for a weekend getaway or conference attendance. We offer free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can check directions or catch up on email before you head out on your long day of sightseeing. Limited Parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown Hotel San Diego
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing