We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Experience!”
Review of Nobu

Nobu
Reserve with OpenTable
Nobu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 4,799 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: L Street
Transit: Gaslamp
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“An Incredible Experience!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were guests at the Hard Rock Hotel and because of our room type we were given a $75 credit at Nobu. Who would pass that up? We made the right decision. Dinner reservations at Nobu (strongly suggested) had been confirmed one month earlier by the concierge and we arrived on time. We ordered 7 or 8 different dishes and two incredible bottles of wine. Every dish that was served was like a rocket explosion in your mouth. This chef knows how to run a kitchen!!! The staff, the food, the experience...it was incredible and worth every penny. Superb. Expensive? Depends on your budget. Would I return! OH YES!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithMayPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    173
    86
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine, but nothing stunning”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The meal was good and much cheaper then I expected. While I ate nothing really surprising. While the food was absolutely fine. And the people around were lovely too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mosmellowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“When you are ready to splurge”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The sushi is sublime, the service is excellent, and on a Friday evening, it was a very lively scene. Be prepared for high prices, then just enjoy the experience. Also, the Gaslamp Quarter location is terrific.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious Sashimi”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I sat at the bar for dinner and received excellent service from everyone. I had a pineapple martini, cucumber martini, and espresso martini, they were all absolutely delicious! I started with the yellowtail sashimi with jalapeno and it was to die for! Perfect amount of spice and flavor without needing to add any soy sauce or hot sauce. All the reviews said the Black Cod was great so I tried that and it was good but nothing I would go out of my way to have again. The atmosphere was great, it's a beautiful place and I had a great time there. It is way over priced for the portion sizes but you should try it at least once.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting creations but expensive”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I generally liked this place. They had a wide selection of unique dishes, well presented, not standard Japanese. Stylish ambiance: professional, lively but not loud, not typical Gaslamp. One block from convention center.

However, they priced themselves rather high (majority of dishes $25-$35, even appetizers). I question the value. This is what we had:

Cold dishes:
- ikura sushi *** unusually good (very salty)
- Japanese red snapper sashimi *** quite good (fresh)
- beef tataki salad *** very good
- octopus carpaccio - just ok (overcooked, not tender part of octopus)

Hot dishes:
- black cod with caramelized miso (signature dish) ** good (fresh, tender)
- scallops with spicy garlic - heartier dish * good
- abalone - just ok

Tip: Cold dishes, though good, may not be enough to fill you. Hot dishes tended to be filling.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Likes2eatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nobu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing