We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Food, Good Service, Good Happy Hour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Thai Cuisine

Lotus Thai Cuisine
Ranked #665 of 4,614 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Good Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We took friends from out of town to this delightful restaurant in the Hillcrest area of San Diego for dinner and arrived early enough to enjoy their happy hour specials. There were five of us and we each ordered a different item: Chicken Satay (cooked just right), Lotus Flower cups, Triangle Puffs, Heaven Rolls (with shrimp) and Fried Calamari. This last dish was the best surprise - lightly battered and delicious! The sauces for all the dishes were perfect compliments. One of our friends has traveled to Thailand and said that, while Americanized, the food was very good and authentic. We ordered more chicken and calamari. Drinks were good, service was friendly and prompt. Parking is free if you go to the lot located catter corner to the restaurant. Great Deal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalZooGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great, great and better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the restaurant from the hotel we were staying at. From when we entered til we left the service was very prompt. Drinks, then appetizers and onto the entree, all very pleasant and quick.

The food was excellent, especially the veggie dumplings, which melted in my mouth.

I had the tofu pad thai and well done and BTW portions are huge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya
1 review
“Delicate food, nice ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went in for a quick meal. The Panang curry was one of the best I had, the beef satay was also very good. The staff was nice and always smiling. Prices were OK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Babür D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had the yellow curry chicken - sooo tasty....!
my bf had the sweet and sour chicken stir fry and he loved it and the chicken was really well done.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_azurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The service was very friendly and attentive and the restaurant was nicely decorated. However the food was just average.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Lotus Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing