We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Fondue Dining in San Diego”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #687 of 4,764 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Jolla Village Dr.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
607 reviews
418 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Fine Fondue Dining in San Diego”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I had a very nice dinner at the Melting Pot, A Fondue Restaurant. We bought a Groupon Coupon that included two dinners with champagne. We started with a spinach-artichoke-cheese fondue (with bread chunks, apple chunks, carrots, broccoli and cauliflower). It was excellent. We followed that with a California Salad that featured mixed baby salad greens, roma tomatoes, walnuts and gorgonzola cheese, with raspberry black walnut vinaigrette dressing. It, too was fresh and very good. The entree consisted of a boiling fondue pot of tasty broth for cooking the teriyaki-marinated sirloin, sirloin steak, shrimp, chicken and spinach ravioli. Everything was excellent and there was plenty of food for both of us. Our server was just a little too accommodating; everything we asked for or selected was "perfect." Everything he recommended or described was "to die for." At bit over the top for our taste, but nothing that really detracted from the overall experience. It's not cheap by any means, but definitely a place for special occasion dining. We were there on a Sunday evening and they were doing a very good business. It's probably packed on Fridays and Saturdays. If you're really into fondue, this is a terrific place for it. They do have some very nice and cozy booths as well as tables for four or more. We observed a few fairly large parties that seemed to be really enjoying themselves and that says a lot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    15
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place in town”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Food was outstanding, atmosphere was great, service was great. Only problem is they are not set up for a small group. We had 7 in our group and even when trying to make a reservation it was a bit of a hassle. Once we got there and got seated there were way to many options. 3 different promotions and ways to order and very confusing. My husband and I have been to this chain before in Sacramento and it was much more streamlined with ordering and not confusing.

Great date night place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Evachad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“More of a special ocassion type of dining”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The whole cook your food at your table is a novel idea but I view this place more of a date spot or a special occasion place. Its pretty pricy @ $110 for the dinner experience with only 1 glass of wine. I went here for a business dinner as my counterpart wanted to give it a try. Food was god, service was excellent just not an everyday type of dinning establishment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Love_Dana_Point
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had fun watching making the fondu, kids enjoy watching but did not like the taste, we the parents loved it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leonel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great restaurant that is well worth the price!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Melting Pot was unique experience in its self. The restaurant is located in a really nice area and the atmosphere is great. When my wife and I first arrived at the restaurant we were greeted by two courteous host. They wrote down my cell number because of a possible hour wait since we didn’t want to stay there for the possible one hour wait. Because of the restaurant’s location we were able to walk around the surrounding area. Fortunately for us it didn’t turn out to be an hour wait and we received a phone call from the host within 20 minutes. Once we arrived the host escorted us to our table and the dinner was in motion. The waiter was alittle slow in the beginning but made up for it as the night went on. The food was great and unforgettable. The price range is a bit expensive but trust me it is well worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etheromis e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing