We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Americana Inn
Ranked #106 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Good hotel and pretty close to all the SD attractions. Room clean and they offer a nice free breakfast. Cars in the front parking lot by pool may not be safe from thieves, but the staff made them go away,

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P K, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for the feedback and the note about the cars in the our lot, we are very conscious of our hotel and the safety of our guests. We keep if well lit and we are a very family friendly place so we want to make sure everyone is comfortable and your review reminds us of to stay diligent. We appreciate your business and hope that you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Americana Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 320 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

Runaway runaway not a good place to stay ironing board doesn't work hair dryer doesn't work had to go to different rooms to go blow dry my hair with that room stunk it was a smoke room not a good place to bring your kids it's not a good place to stay this hotel runaway runaway runaway no even closed to a 3 star it is more like a 1 start don't recommend stay in August 21 / 23 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mari92227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P K, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2014

We apologize that your stay was not what you expected. However if you read our reviews, we strive to have good customer service and a clean comfortable hotel, we have a free breakfast with hot waffles and bagels with cream cheese as well as hot and cold cereal, juice and coffee, we also have updated rooms and very comfortable beds with no bedspreads, we have LCD Flat-screen TV and many other amenities such as Microwave in the room. We are near the border and cater to travelers that go across to Mexico for treatment and we have many families that stay due to Aquatica Water-park. Again we are very sorry that our rooms were not what you expected. Thank you for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My family and I had to travel for medical reasons, and this hotel offered shuttle services that met our requirements. I showed up not expecting much, and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean, spacious, and offered complimentary breakfast. There are laundry facilities onsite, and an amazing restaurant beside the hotel called Coco's that had delicious food and homemade pie's everyday. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lowermainland2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P K, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

We thank you for the kind words and for your patronage. We do try to create a friendly comfortable place and we appreciate the words reaffirming this. Please come back and stay anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This Best Western Americana Hotel in San Ysidro is over rated on TripAdvisor. The staff let us check in early which we very much appreciated. The room was disappointing. We stayed in an old, dirty, and abused room. The bathroom sink drained very slowly........ The Bathroom sink was very clogged. The room felt grimy everywhere. I wouldn't walk barefooted on that dirty carpet. Bedding skirt dirty as well. The Breakfast was OK. The Staff was very good! I probably would not stay here again unless I just had to.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank GENE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P K, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

We apologize for any inconvenience your stay with us caused. We read all of our reviews and take them seriously. Our rooms and carpets are clean, in fact we are very diligent regarding our cleanliness and our customer service. we do have a couple of rooms that are older and used for construction workers I am wondering if you were in one of those rooms? We are very sorry and this will be forwarded and we will take the time to go over everything. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Staff (with the exception of the breakfast room) were very friendly and welcoming. A maid knocked on our door before we left for breakfast to see if the room was ready to clean. She very kindly answered my question about check-out time and moved on. Our room was clean, slightly updated and included a bar area with a microwave, coffee maker, mini-refrigerator, sink and bottle opener. Spacious storage for suitcase and hanging clothes. Bathroom was updated and spacious. Water pressure low, with a super high shower head. Décor not fancy, but not bad. We were on the bottom floor, and heard a bit of guest noise outside our door until 10 pm, and quiet after that. Only complaint would be the breakfast area, which is down the walkway from the front office in 2 rooms, converted to a dining room. It was very tight, hot, crowded and chaotic, with only one very shy, non-english speaking staff trying to keep food stocked. Good selection (waffles, hard-boiled eggs, cerial, fruit, yogart, toast/ Onion bagels). I was disappointed that they did not have plain bagels or Hot chocolate. The location is right off the freeway, and there are several eating establishments close by. Being less than 20 minutes from downtown/ Harbor area of San Diego, it was worth the little drive to find a cheaper rate with a nice room. Would stay there again if we are in that area.

Room Tip: Bottom floor near office was noisy until 10, then quieted down.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mmmcdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you so much we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We recently stayed at the best Western in San Ysidro. We couldn't be more pleased with our accommodations. Everything was clean, and comfortable! The staff was helpful, professional and very pleasant. All day there was a huge container of fresh cold ice water provided in the lobby. The water contained berries and lemon, or lemon and cucumber. They provided a very nice breakfast for us in the morning. Fresh waffles, fruit, eggs, pastries, yogurt, cereal, and other breakfast items. There was also plenty of coffee, tea and juices. The young woman that was working in the breakfast area was very proficient and kept everything going. I would definitely choose this hotel to stay at again. If I could give it more than five stars I would!

Room Tip: Our group stayed in two different sections of the hotel. Both were very clean, and very pleasant.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you so much for the feedback and we appreciate your patronage and hope that you come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We made last minute decision to visit San Diego and found this hotel for our stay. Even though it's an old hotel, It was clean and complimentary breakfast was good enough with waffles. Check-in /check-out process was smooth and friendly. Main advantage for us was it's nearby to sea world and downtown. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Chaitra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks for the feedback we appreciate it! Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#212 of 278 in San Diego
76 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,225 reviews
Best Western Mission Bay
#115 of 278 in San Diego
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Americana Inn

Address: 815 W San Ysidro Blvd, San Diego, CA 92173-1827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $110 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Americana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a gem situated near the Border of Mexico and very near downtown San Diego. We have close to 120 rooms! We have Free Hot Breakfast as well as Free WiFi, In Room Microwave/Fridge, LCD Flat Screen TV cable and HBO and Pool and Jacuzzi as well as Free off street parking and we have eateries in the adjacent parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americana Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing