We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay Not Far From San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Americana Inn
Ranked #108 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Staff (with the exception of the breakfast room) were very friendly and welcoming. A maid knocked on our door before we left for breakfast to see if the room was ready to clean. She very kindly answered my question about check-out time and moved on. Our room was clean, slightly updated and included a bar area with a microwave, coffee maker, mini-refrigerator, sink and bottle opener. Spacious storage for suitcase and hanging clothes. Bathroom was updated and spacious. Water pressure low, with a super high shower head. Décor not fancy, but not bad. We were on the bottom floor, and heard a bit of guest noise outside our door until 10 pm, and quiet after that. Only complaint would be the breakfast area, which is down the walkway from the front office in 2 rooms, converted to a dining room. It was very tight, hot, crowded and chaotic, with only one very shy, non-english speaking staff trying to keep food stocked. Good selection (waffles, hard-boiled eggs, cerial, fruit, yogart, toast/ Onion bagels). I was disappointed that they did not have plain bagels or Hot chocolate. The location is right off the freeway, and there are several eating establishments close by. Being less than 20 minutes from downtown/ Harbor area of San Diego, it was worth the little drive to find a cheaper rate with a nice room. Would stay there again if we are in that area.

Room Tip: Bottom floor near office was noisy until 10, then quieted down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mmmcdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you so much we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 325 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We recently stayed at the best Western in San Ysidro. We couldn't be more pleased with our accommodations. Everything was clean, and comfortable! The staff was helpful, professional and very pleasant. All day there was a huge container of fresh cold ice water provided in the lobby. The water contained berries and lemon, or lemon and cucumber. They provided a very nice breakfast for us in the morning. Fresh waffles, fruit, eggs, pastries, yogurt, cereal, and other breakfast items. There was also plenty of coffee, tea and juices. The young woman that was working in the breakfast area was very proficient and kept everything going. I would definitely choose this hotel to stay at again. If I could give it more than five stars I would!

Room Tip: Our group stayed in two different sections of the hotel. Both were very clean, and very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you so much for the feedback and we appreciate your patronage and hope that you come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We made last minute decision to visit San Diego and found this hotel for our stay. Even though it's an old hotel, It was clean and complimentary breakfast was good enough with waffles. Check-in /check-out process was smooth and friendly. Main advantage for us was it's nearby to sea world and downtown. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Chaitra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks for the feedback we appreciate it! Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on a recent business trip and it was a good place to stay as it was comfortable, well priced and well located for my business trip.

The buffet breakfast was well presented and plentiful so a good start to the day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnstor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you so much for the feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your stay! Please visit us again if your travels bring you back this way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at 815 W. Ysidro Blvd. San Diego. For a smaller hotel, it is very comfortable and clean. The room had pure white towels, and the sinks and tub were sparkling clean. The hair drier provided was also clean. Some hotels have hair dryers where the back of the hair drier where the intake air flow is are covered with dust bunnies. Not here. The back of the hair dryer was super clean, so was the handle and the charger. Corners of the room all clean as well. The hotel is older so I was pleasantly surprised. The pool, on the smaller size, was also VERY clean. Nice heated water with new plaster was the perfect amenity after a long day of travel. The beds were very comfortable. The continental breakfast was also good. When I checked in, the strawberry flavored water was waiting in the front lobby for me. Well, it was for everyone else as well, but it is a very nice touch. I will come back for certain. Although this is not a huge place but where it is at and how clean and comfortable everything was, I gave it a 5 star. When I compare hotels and services I always take into consideration where the hotel is and what is the best they can do. I was on a business trip and this hotel was very comfortable and the pool and spa was terrific for me. Great job everyone for up keeping the place and making your guests feel comfortable and welcomed. Great staff!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeataBallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

We work hard to make your stay comfortable and it is GREAT to hear the efforts pay off. We appreciate your patronage and w do hope that if you ever are back in the area you choose us! Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We needed a place to stay close to Imperial Beach and Sea World. The room was very clean and the price was good. We was worried because we didn't know what to expect. It was very quite, never heard people coming and going. The bed was comfortable with white linen. Several places to eat close to the Hotel. A grocery store just down the road. The two days we ate Breakfast there they didn't serve Waffles, so I quess they serve them every other day. Enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

We appreciate the feedback, we do not serve them every other day, so I will make sure I contact our manager and let them know. We apologize that you did not get to enjoy them. But THANKS again for the the patronage and we do hope if you are in town again you come and choose us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We needed somewhere clean and close to San Diego and this fitted the bill perfectly. The staff were helpful and the room was perfect fro our needs. A short drive to the city and we were able to do everything we wanted to.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for the patronage, We appreciate your business and the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#212 of 278 in San Diego
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#119 of 278 in San Diego
621 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#24 of 278 in San Diego
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Americana Inn

Address: 815 W San Ysidro Blvd, San Diego, CA 92173-1827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $98 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Americana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a gem situated near the Border of Mexico and very near downtown San Diego. We have close to 120 rooms! We have Free Hot Breakfast as well as Free WiFi, In Room Microwave/Fridge, LCD Flat Screen TV cable and HBO and Pool and Jacuzzi as well as Free off street parking and we have eateries in the adjacent parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americana Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing