We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an overnight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Americana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
Ranked #125 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
phx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for an overnight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Very clean and nicely appointed room. Felt safe in the area. The bed was very comfortable. Not a great selection of restaurants near by but that's okay. In retrospect, the room was so nice I wish we had gotten take out and come back to the room to eat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Americana Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for you kind words and for your patronage. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    102
    54
    13
    12
See reviews for
104
69
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

For anyone needing to find hotel when heading to Tijuana for medical reasons, stay here. The hotel is at exit 2 before the border. They have a special price that includes a medical shuttle service which is a huge time saver as crossing border can take hours without special medical passes. It saves a lot of hassles at a time when many of us are dealing with some stressful health issues. Wish I realized I could take the shuttle before experiencing the border traffic first hand.

The hotel was very clean, very nicely maintained. The front desk staff, in particular Chuyita the manager, were very kind and helpful. The WiFi was very strong and worked great. Breakfast was the standard offering, which is fine, although the coffee was very good. Great value overall.

Added bonus is the local Mexican restaurant at the shopping plaza just down the street. It is nothing fancy but had the best burritos and tacos.

I never write reviews on here, but taking the time to highlight this place as I can appreciate first hand the added stress of finding a place to stay when one has million other things on his/her mind dealing with an illness. This hotel, with is lovely staff, clean rooms, and hugely convenient medical shuttles all for great price makes it an excellent rating.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank ES_phila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Americana Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, we really do try to create a peaceful clean great place to stay and it is great to hear it matters! We hope you come back and we thank you for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have been on a road trip around California and I think this was the nicest accommodation we stayed in. It had everything you needed including microwave and fridge and was tastefully decorated. The room was spacious and well cared for - extremely clean. The pool area was well kept and very inviting but we hadn't time to sunbathe!! If I had one gripe it would have been that breakfast finished dead on time - 10.00 am I think - but the door was locked at 10.00 am not a minute later!! It had a couple of eating places within walking distance and plenty more a short drive away. The shopping outlets were just a couple of miles away so was the border to Mexico. San Diego City and Old San Diego were a short drive away. The staff were very helpful and found time to tell you the best places to visit in the area. Coronado Island is a must. It was our favourite place in all California - just beautiful. Old Town San Diego is well worth a visit too so very different from the City. All in all this was the most beautiful part of California or so we thought anyway.

Room Tip: We stayed in the block farthest from the road and we heard nothing at all. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Americana Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We thank you for your patronage and your feedback. We appreciate that you chose us and hope if you are ever back here in San Diego that you come and stay with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very unique location, excellent staff and very clean rooms. Price is well valued. I have chosen to stay at the motel to take advantage of the shuttle service to Tijuana for extensive dental work. The drivers are excellent and very punctual.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank ronald t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Americana Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We thank you for the feedback, we try our best to be accommodating and provide a good service and it is great to hear it from our customers. So thank you so much for your patronage and we hope that if you are back in the area you come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay, The grounds were neat and tidy, the breakfasts were ample with lots of selection, the rooms were well maintained and the staff were very friendly. Unless you are expecting luxury, what more could you want?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Americana Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you we appreciate your kind words and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The receptionists are very curteous and wel comming upon arrival.They were very accommodating when switching our room due to physical needs. I would recommend this Hotel to my friend and family. The breakfast room was very clean and the hostess very friendly and helpful with any requests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Americana Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
We try our best to make our guests as comfortable as possible and we thank you for noticing. We appreciate your patronage. If you come back to San Diego we hope you come to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stay at this hotel every time I go to Mexico. I always stay here on my own and feel completely comfortable. The staff are always professional and accommodating. I take their medical shuttle back and forth across the border and have met many very nice people. The rooms are big, always clean and the beds are the comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in.They also have clean white sheets on top of the bed instead of those creepy quilted comforters that hide all kinds of stains.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Americana Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
We thank you for the feedback! Yes the non-bedspread is great isn't it! We appreciate your business and hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
#99 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#180 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Americana Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
Address: 815 W. San Ysidro Blvd, San Diego, CA 92173-1827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Americana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a gem situated near the Border of Mexico and very near downtown San Diego. We have close to 120 rooms! We have Free Hot Breakfast as well as Free WiFi, In Room Microwave/Fridge, LCD Flat Screen TV cable and HBO and Pool and Jacuzzi as well as Free off street parking and we have eateries in the adjacent parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americana Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing