We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Aim To Please”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Americana Inn
Ranked #111 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed July 10, 2012

For people going to Tijuana for treatment at the various clinics, this place is a Godsend. They try so hard to make things as easy as possible - they offer shuttle service back and forth across the border for clinic patients IF you are staying with them. They can supply hotplates, slow-cookers, etc., so that you can cook Hoxsey friendly meals in your room. As well, they offer a shuttle to Henry's (an organic market) on Sundays. The rooms are basic, beds comfortable enough, but take your own pillow if you're going to be there for any length of time. I've found the rooms to be very clean every time I've been there. Next time I think I'd ask for a ground floor room, and one away from the pool area - I think the best location might be the building facing West. The breakfast room opens at 6:30 and they offer a decent spread. The office staff is friendly and helpful, as are the shuttle drivers. There is a restaurant right next to the hotel - Coco's, that opens at 6:30 a.m., and is open 'till 10:00 or 11:00 p.m. It is good (save that for another review). There is bus service right in front of the hotel - costs $2.50. The huge Outlet Mall is not far from this hotel, if you like to shop. There is a computer in the lobby for patrons use, but be forewarned, that it is slow and annoying - still better than nothing! All in all, I'd say this is a good place to stay, especially for those staying long-term for treatment at the clinics in Tijuana.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor unit to avoid the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelynx00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 345 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel since 2006 I travel to Mexico every year for several days. As part of the room charge the hotel provides a centennial breakfast which includes bagels, donuts, muffins, self made waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juice and coffee..

Room Tip: Hotel is clean the staff are very friendly an accommodating, I prefer a room on the first floor in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TR218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

You get what you pay for and this place has decent rooms, clean enough and a fairly safe location, right off the freeway. You are just 2 miles north of the border and a bus stops right across the street to take you to the border. There are numerous restaurants nearby, including Coco's, Carl's JR., McDonalds, Burger King and MaMa Mia Pizza. it was very convenient for us since we were going to visit Tijuana one day during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a pretty nice place to stay, personal is frendly
But first got a room with one bed to short, next room was not ready
3rd room was ready and looked clean but there was an oder in the room that just was not clean

Breakfast in the breakfastroom was very good
I would go back

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rud0lf1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

For those hesitant to stay in a hotel in Tijuana because of drug cartel violence and the city's tarnished reputation generally, the Best Western Americana off Interstate 5 at Dairy Mart Road is a great option for vacationers and business travelers alike. If you don't want their complimentary breakfast, Coco's and Carl's Junior are 100 yards away (McDonald's is in the next block south). There is a beautifully landscaped pool, the beds are great and each room has a mini-fridge. There is a shuttle that crosses the border daily (7 a.m. and 9 a.m. departures) serving passengers that are heading to the value-priced medical clinics and dentists in Tijuana (about $20 roundrip; cheaper than a taxi).

Room Tip: If you're driving and need quick access to your car, request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very nice place to stay. The staff was attentive and pleasant. The room was very clean and it was nice to have a fridge and microwave. Beds were very good and it was nice and quiet. They have a breakfast that was good. Pretty typical fare but they did have some protein options of boiled eggs so that helped. At first I thought this might be a bit too far south, but we had no problem accessing everything we wanted to do in San Diego. In fact, I think it helped being south of town a bit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back side of the motel upstairs and that seemed to be less populated and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DiamondGirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I thought this hotel was great. It included a shuttle service into Mexico and back. I think many people stay here who are going to medical treatments in Tijuana. The other people we met at breakfast were very nice. The breakfast was fine. There is a Carl's Junior and a CoCo's right next door. Nice pastries for breakfast, cereal, toast and good coffee.

I would definitely stay here again.
There is a huge outlet mall nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GracieLee'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Americana Inn

Address: 815 W San Ysidro Blvd, San Diego, CA 92173-1827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $92 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Americana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a gem situated near the Border of Mexico and very near downtown San Diego. We have close to 120 rooms! We have Free Hot Breakfast as well as Free WiFi, In Room Microwave/Fridge, LCD Flat Screen TV cable and HBO and Pool and Jacuzzi as well as Free off street parking and we have eateries in the adjacent parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americana Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing