We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lamplighter fit the bill.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #38 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lamplighter fit the bill.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My daughter and I were traveling to SDSU for her orientation. BW Lamplighter was very affordable, free breakfast and pool. It was very close to SDSU and many stores, restaurants nearby. Normally Marriott is our hotel of choice. I was pleasantly surprised with this Best Western. It was quick and easy to get to SDSU and would recommend BW Lamplighter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 5redsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear "5redsox",

Thank you for this great review, since we are within a mile of San Diego State University, we have had the pleasure of meeting so many SDSU parents over the years. Often times they choose to stay with us from orientation all the way up to graduation! Our staff really gets to know some of them so well they seem like family, and we are sad to see them leave. Of course San Diego is a great place to vacation, and we end up seeing the parents alone after that.

It is true we are not a big hotel fancy hotel, but we believe our AAA 2-diamond Best Western is well located, friendly and clean, and for that reason we tend to rate highly with guests who appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    280
    71
    17
    8
See reviews for
404
211
56
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Saw a lot of good reviews for this hotel from Trip Advisor so we tried it out. The room was kept clean at all times and the amenities provided were of good quality. However, the room and furnitures were quite dated. As well, they do not know how to appreciate memebers of the gold crown club.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul Vincent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest :

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We do appreciate feedback from all of our guests. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Our goal is to exceed every guest’s expectations and we take it very seriously when we fail.

We do our best to accommodate special requests from all of our guests, including our highly valued Best Western Rewards members, such as you. Unfortunately, the large family suite you requested a free upgrade to wasn’t available for all of the 8 days of your stay. We are a hotel property with 60 rooms and during the summer season we do tend to sell out most weekends well in advance, as you experienced during your visit to San Diego this July. Please know it was our pleasure to return the items left behind in your room at our expense.

I appreciate that you mentioned our clean rooms and amenities. We are a modest, AAA 2-star rated hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. We offer many free amenities that you may end up having to pay in more expensive hotels: free wireless internet, free parking, free coffee and tea service all day, a thoughtfully selected free movie library, DVD players in all guestrooms, and a nice complimentary expanded continental breakfast that includes yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh waffles, a variety of freshly baked bagels and pastries, cereals, oatmeal, juices and coffee.

Our positive reviews on TripAdvisor and other review sites, is a reflection of our caring and hardworking team. From our housekeepers who work so hard to keep our rooms spotless, to our maintenance crew who are on top of potential problems, to our groundskeeper who takes pride in keeping our flowers looking beautiful, to our awesome front desk staff!

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. We do hope to see you again.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Excellent accomodations at this location. Loved our room and the staff was excellent. Also found the breakfast to have a great variety, fresh and plentiful. Perfect location to SDSU which was the reason for our visit. Recommend! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank K4137IRlisac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

When it comes to choosing where to stay, we realize how important location is, and for that reason I appreciate that you took the time to make sure we were the right fit for you. Our hotel is perfect for some, and not the right choice for others.

Since we are not downtown, at the beach or in Mission Valley most guests have found having a car very useful when getting around San Diego to see the sights, or maybe a drive to Legoland. Having a SDSU such a short distance is a plus for many, and I am glad that you found us.

We hope to see you again soon.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Grant Park from July 8th to the 12th, and we were very happy with our accommodations. In reading some of the reviews prior to booking, it’s very apparent that many people go to a less expensive hotel and expect 5 star all the way. This is unrealistic. If you are looking...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

After staying here 2 years ago, we decided to stay again when we returned to San Diego to visit family. For us, the location is ideal since family lives east of town and yet we could get to the downtown attractions is a short time. The motel exterior is attractive with beautifully maintained landscaping and a clean looking pool that was always in use but never appeared crowded. The room was clean and over the course of the week, was kept that way. We took what could be described as a 'junior suite' with a microwave and fridge, as well as a couch, arm chair and coffee table. The décor is unexceptional but not unpleasant. There are always plenty of towels other supplies and the coffee maker supplies were always there. The breakfast room is really too small and can be quite warm and crowded at times, but is always kept well stocked by the hardworking Maria. My only complaint, however, is with some of the selections. There is no butter, despite two bins so labeled (they only contain 'spreads') and there is no regular yogurt - it's all 'light' which means artificial sweeteners. I appreciate some choice in these cases. Otherwise the selection was adequate if not inspired. I particularly appreciated the big pot of oatmeal that was always available. So in sum, and with only a few nitpicks, this is a well-run, well-kept, pleasant place to stay. The rates are very reasonable for San Diego and while the location might not suit everyone, it can also be very advantageous. We will be back on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MadArchaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear "MadArchaeo",

We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your stay, both the positive and otherwise. You are 100% correct about the breakfast options, and I have listened carefully and we now offer a spread and actual butter, and next week we will begin offering both light and regular yogurt. I really appreciate you mentioning the steel cut oatmeal, this is prepared fresh each night and actually takes six hours to make. It is worth the time and effort to offer something hot and healthy, my favorite topping is the raisins, but I have noticed the chocolate sprinkles have been a hit this Summer with the younger crowd.

Thank you for mentioning the grounds and upkeep, we take great pride in making sure we always look our best for our guests, while some hotels may be new, we prefer to think of ourselves as lovingly cared for and in great shape!

Hopefully on your next visit with your family you will consider staying with us again.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was floored by how wonderful the staff is at this hotel.

I called in and let them know my girlfriend and I would be celebrating our anniversary. Not only did they leave rose petals on the bed and a gift basket in the room, but they upgraded us to a luxury sweet free of charge. It gave our vacation the perfect romantic touch.

Their pool is also very clean, and the breakfast room has a surprising assortment of features, no matter how late you get in. We arrived at 9:30 to see a welcoming array of foods waiting to be eaten.

We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Greetings Jeff,

It was a pleasure having you both stay at our hotel. San Diego has so much to offer, and because of this, we realize there are several lodging choices out there, so when any guest decides to stay with us makes it that much more important to us, especially on such a special occasion. We were happy to do what we could to make it that much more memorable.

Thanks for writing a review, and we hope to see you both again in the future.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The front desk person at the hotel is very friendly and welcoming. Breast has a great variety. You can make your fresh, warm waffle with the waffle maker. The breakfast room is small but you can take it to the pool area. You got free in-room wifi and free parking, too. There is a pretty nice Japanese restaurant right next door that opens till 10pm if you're looking for food in the late evening.

Our room is clean overall but the capet looks old. The AC unit is noisy and has limited temperature options.It's too cold with the AC on but too warm without it. The rate is a little expensive for a motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank analymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate hearing from all of our guests. These reviews show us not only our areas of strength, but also the areas in which we can improve. Thank you for recognizing our wonderful and dedicated staff. Our team takes great pride in their work as we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us.

I am happy to know that you found our complimentary continental breakfast satisfactory. Our expanded continental breakfast includes fresh waffles, hard boiled eggs, bagels, 3 different types of cereal, pastries, fresh fruit, juices and coffee.

I’m glad you enjoyed the Japanese restaurant next door to us, we were very happy when they relocated to our neighborhood. Our neighborhood is currently going through a major transformation, new commercial and housing buildings are sprouting up, bringing new energy to our area. We are all very excited about these changes.
Thank you for mentioning our clean rooms, our housekeeping team really is one of the best around. They are hardworking and dedicated, we are very proud of our staff. I was sorry to learn about the carpet and AC unit. We are currently trying to find the room you stayed in to inspect these issues.

It is true that right now there are really good deals at some great hotels but many times you have to add all the extra costs, parking, internet, breakfast. Our rates are typically $20-30 lower than comparable hotels in our area, we never charge for parking, internet, breakfast or movies. We have always prided ourselves on maintaining competitive pricing without ever lowering our quality of service. We believe our modest AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. We are not everyone’s cup of tea but my staff and I take great pride in our hotel.

We appreciate the time you took to review your stay with us. We do hope to see you again soon.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#43 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,690 reviews
Old Town Inn
#21 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,622 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Property: BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#85 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing