We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #38 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

After staying here 2 years ago, we decided to stay again when we returned to San Diego to visit family. For us, the location is ideal since family lives east of town and yet we could get to the downtown attractions is a short time. The motel exterior is attractive with beautifully maintained landscaping and a clean looking pool that was always in use but never appeared crowded. The room was clean and over the course of the week, was kept that way. We took what could be described as a 'junior suite' with a microwave and fridge, as well as a couch, arm chair and coffee table. The décor is unexceptional but not unpleasant. There are always plenty of towels other supplies and the coffee maker supplies were always there. The breakfast room is really too small and can be quite warm and crowded at times, but is always kept well stocked by the hardworking Maria. My only complaint, however, is with some of the selections. There is no butter, despite two bins so labeled (they only contain 'spreads') and there is no regular yogurt - it's all 'light' which means artificial sweeteners. I appreciate some choice in these cases. Otherwise the selection was adequate if not inspired. I particularly appreciated the big pot of oatmeal that was always available. So in sum, and with only a few nitpicks, this is a well-run, well-kept, pleasant place to stay. The rates are very reasonable for San Diego and while the location might not suit everyone, it can also be very advantageous. We will be back on our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MadArchaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear "MadArchaeo",

We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your stay, both the positive and otherwise. You are 100% correct about the breakfast options, and I have listened carefully and we now offer a spread and actual butter, and next week we will begin offering both light and regular yogurt. I really appreciate you mentioning the steel cut oatmeal, this is prepared fresh each night and actually takes six hours to make. It is worth the time and effort to offer something hot and healthy, my favorite topping is the raisins, but I have noticed the chocolate sprinkles have been a hit this Summer with the younger crowd.

Thank you for mentioning the grounds and upkeep, we take great pride in making sure we always look our best for our guests, while some hotels may be new, we prefer to think of ourselves as lovingly cared for and in great shape!

Hopefully on your next visit with your family you will consider staying with us again.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 970 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was floored by how wonderful the staff is at this hotel.

I called in and let them know my girlfriend and I would be celebrating our anniversary. Not only did they leave rose petals on the bed and a gift basket in the room, but they upgraded us to a luxury sweet free of charge. It gave our vacation the perfect romantic touch.

Their pool is also very clean, and the breakfast room has a surprising assortment of features, no matter how late you get in. We arrived at 9:30 to see a welcoming array of foods waiting to be eaten.

We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Greetings Jeff,

It was a pleasure having you both stay at our hotel. San Diego has so much to offer, and because of this, we realize there are several lodging choices out there, so when any guest decides to stay with us makes it that much more important to us, especially on such a special occasion. We were happy to do what we could to make it that much more memorable.

Thanks for writing a review, and we hope to see you both again in the future.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The front desk person at the hotel is very friendly and welcoming. Breast has a great variety. You can make your fresh, warm waffle with the waffle maker. The breakfast room is small but you can take it to the pool area. You got free in-room wifi and free parking, too. There is a pretty nice Japanese restaurant right next door that opens till 10pm if you're looking for food in the late evening.

Our room is clean overall but the capet looks old. The AC unit is noisy and has limited temperature options.It's too cold with the AC on but too warm without it. The rate is a little expensive for a motel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank analymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate hearing from all of our guests. These reviews show us not only our areas of strength, but also the areas in which we can improve. Thank you for recognizing our wonderful and dedicated staff. Our team takes great pride in their work as we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us.

I am happy to know that you found our complimentary continental breakfast satisfactory. Our expanded continental breakfast includes fresh waffles, hard boiled eggs, bagels, 3 different types of cereal, pastries, fresh fruit, juices and coffee.

I’m glad you enjoyed the Japanese restaurant next door to us, we were very happy when they relocated to our neighborhood. Our neighborhood is currently going through a major transformation, new commercial and housing buildings are sprouting up, bringing new energy to our area. We are all very excited about these changes.
Thank you for mentioning our clean rooms, our housekeeping team really is one of the best around. They are hardworking and dedicated, we are very proud of our staff. I was sorry to learn about the carpet and AC unit. We are currently trying to find the room you stayed in to inspect these issues.

It is true that right now there are really good deals at some great hotels but many times you have to add all the extra costs, parking, internet, breakfast. Our rates are typically $20-30 lower than comparable hotels in our area, we never charge for parking, internet, breakfast or movies. We have always prided ourselves on maintaining competitive pricing without ever lowering our quality of service. We believe our modest AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. We are not everyone’s cup of tea but my staff and I take great pride in our hotel.

We appreciate the time you took to review your stay with us. We do hope to see you again soon.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a relatively nice, smaller sized motel in a not-touristy area. I'm sure great for families of students attending SDSU, but not a place I'd really recommend if you want to come for even a short vacation in San Diego. However, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the rooms were clean and maintained. Parking lot is on the small side and the breakfast area is really, really tight. Lots of construction happening in the area, making navigating the streets a bit more difficult. You need a car to get around, walking will get you to fast food places only. Overall, an OK place for a short stop.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

hank you for your review about your recent stay at our hotel. I was pleased that our staff made your stay a pleasurable one. They truly are a large part of why we rate so highly with our guests. I am sorry you were disappointed in our location. As you mentioned, we are an excellent choice for travelers visiting SDSU, one of California’s largest universities (1 mile), or Qualcomm Stadium (2 miles), but we are also close to major freeways that can get you to many attractions, usually under 15 minutes.

Regarding restaurants in the area, the staff has a list of really excellent restaurants within a mile or so of the hotel. These are not big, fancy restaurants, but many of them are very nice, including Bridges Bar & Grill, only a block away from the hotel. This is one area where our dedication to customer service really shows, we try to direct our guests to local places that we love ourselves.

You mentioned the construction, it is true, our neighborhood is going through some major changes that we are very excited about. New commercial and housing buildings are sprouting up, they will bring new energy to our area.

It is sometimes a challenge to set the right expectations for our guests. I think we do a pretty good job on our website, and the majority of our guests have written honest reviews about their experience with us, what makes us standout from the rest and why they rate us so highly on TripAdvisor. Our hotel is a modest AAA 2-diamond property, with amenities and prices that reflect that rating. We believe it is well located, friendly and very clean. We make sure that the grounds are lush and well kept, we never charge for parking, internet, breakfast or movies.

We appreciate the time you took to review your stay with us. We do hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great motel I have staayed here several times before. In a nice part of San Diego. There are many popular restaurants and stores in the area. The bed was comfortable and the area was quiet. San Diego is a great place for vacations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Mousiedog W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend us. It's nice to hear that you appreciate all the features offered in the College Area of San Diego. There is quite a diverse number of restaurants and our front desk team is always ready to help our guests find the perfect dining spot.

Thank you for mentioning that there are stores and retail nearby as well. This is very convenient for guests who book rooms with full kitchens. And they are conveniently stocked with pots, pans, dishes and utensils.

We're glad that you were satisfied with the comfort level of our beds and calmness of the area. It is our goal to exceed expectations, and seeing that you are a repeat guest tells us that we are doing just that.

Your loyalty is greatly appreciated, We look forward to serving you again, and remember to,

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Michelle | Front Desk Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had a fabulous stay at this hotel. The staff was very helpful. Melissa printed step by step driving instructions. If it weren't for Justin's directions by phone we would have been lost in the belly of San Diego. The only complaint is the beds were to firm

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Carlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Carlene W.

We would like to say thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on how friendly and helpful we were during your last visit. We our truly committed to delivering excellent customer service to all of our guests.

We realize that our property is not as centrally located as some, but still only about 15 minute drive to the Zoo, or 20 minutes to Sea World. So It is our pleasure to provide directions to local attractions and restaurants, printing out boarding passes for those early flights and even saving our guests from the feeling of being lost and uncertain of an area that they may not be familiar with.

I however do apologize for the firmness of your bed and will gladly try to accommodate you during your next visit. Once again thank you for your feedback and come visit us again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Justin | Front Desk Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Pro's: The Motel is very clean and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Even though the motel is situated on a busy road, traffic noise could not be heard from our room #224 for me this is a big plus. We didn't use the pool but we could see that it was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was the usual continental with varied choices available, everything needed to start the day. The area felt totally safe although you do need a car to get around and as previously mentioned in other posts there really is very little in the way of restaurants (there are lots of fast food places if you like fast food) within walking distance Con's: The air conditioner is very good but very loud, we switched ours off but could still here other air conditioners from the other rooms all night, this probably would not bother most people but for light sleepers it is a problem. As read in other posts, the breakfast room is tiny, however we took our breakfast out to sit at the pool which was much nicer. And Compared to the Howard Johnson next door (who's breakfast area is actually in their tiny lobby in front of the check in desk) I think its a minor problem for BW. A large project of low cost housing is being built right next door to the motel, which means at present lots of hammering from 7.00am onwards. Overall We would definitely stay again but probably only for one or two nights (we were there for seven) mainly due to the lack of restaurants in the area within suitable walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nicky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,227 reviews
Old Town Inn
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#120 of 278 in San Diego
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $96 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing