We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #38 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a very friendly place. The pool area is absolutely beautiful! I do wish the breakfast area was a bit bigger, because of crowding. In our AAA book it states this hotel is in San Diego, but it is actually in La Mesa. Just an FYI.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Dedra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Dedra M.

We just wanted to reach out to you and say thanks for the kind words about our staff and pool area. TripAdvisor is about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research.

You are right, about our breakfast being cozy, we are in the very beginning stages of developing a plan to overhaul the entire lobby & breakfast room area, and as far as our location, La Mesa is about a mile or so to the east of us. San Diego State University is a mile to the North West of our location. But since there are two freeways near us, it is easy to get to most San Diego attractions.

Remember to book direct with us for the best service, room selection, and value! We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partners’ websites.

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 970 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

We loved staying at this Best Western!!! Everything was excellent. And the staff was so friendly and Awesome!! They had a grill in the pool area so you could bbq when you stay there. This hotel was close to all of the things we did like the zoo and Seaworld.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Hello Lawrence D,

Wow! It is great to hear that you loved staying at our little hotel! Here at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn, we strive to give superior service to all our guests and it's a wonderful feeling when this is recognized....THANK YOU!

We do our best to make our guests feel at home by adding extra amenities, such as the BBQ area, which many guests enjoy while staying here. We're glad that you appreciated it.

Thank you for mentioning our central location. Being only 20 or so minutes away from the main attractions in San Diego is convenient. And because we aren't in the downtown area or in hotel circle, we can offer more competitive rates, along with free parking, free wireless access to the internet and a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast.

Again, thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michelle
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was here for 4 nights, and I had the best time. It was a nice location not fare from one thing or another. The front desk staff was amazing. Lynn the GM was wonderful on giving me ideas on what to see while visiting the city. Just a great stay and when I return ill be sure to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hi Kara D.

It is with great pride that I am able to read so many great reviews about our staff and property.
San Diego is great destination, and we really enjoy helping our guests explore what it has to offer.

We are glad you took the time to share your experience, and look forward to seeing you on a future stay.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Best Regards,

Len Regan-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

For a short overnight stay this hotel would be acceptable. It is affordable and the beds are comfortable but the rooms are small and lack a microwave or refrigerator. The carpets were dirty and there were stains on the bedding. The rest of the room seemed clean as was the bathroom and shower. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us, we were glad to read that you found our beds to be comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. We hear this often, and it gives a sense of pride since our staff is dedicated to providing superior customer care.

We were unhappy to learn about the cleanliness issues you encountered. As soon as we read your review I contacted housekeeping, and together we were able to locate the room you had problems with. We do our best to fix any problems before our guests arrive, unfortunately, at times some problems do get past us. As most people have noted we take cleanliness very seriously.

We do apologize for the inconvenience they caused you. In the future, please let Front Desk know of any issues you experience as soon as possible as we want to take care of those issues immediately.

We are a hotel property committed to providing a great stay for each of our guests, we were very sorry that we failed in this instance. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Regards,

Len Regan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Main reason for us to come to San Diego was to visit San Diego Sea Wold and Zoo. They both are close to the hotel. Many verities for breakfast and it is free. I stayed with my family for 5 days and they liked it. Room is clean. Staff went out of the way to get us the same room for an additional day we requested later.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Milinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Milinda S.

Here in San Diego, we know that there are hundreds of hotels to choose from, and we are very happy that you decided to stay with us. While we are not directly near the Sea World and San Diego Zoo park they are only about 15 - 20 minute drive to each.

We take pride in providing the best service a hotel can offer and are confident that we will do our best to make sure that your stay is a memorable one.

Our goal is to provide a variety when it comes to breakfast options and are very pleased you were here to enjoy them. We look very forward to your next visit and thank you again for choosing Best Western Lamplighter as your choice of hotel.

Sincerely,

Justin M.
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

While the facility is a bit dated, the staff and cleanliness made it a great hotel. The bed was a bit firm, but comfortable. For a low cost hotel is definitely exceeded my expectations. It is very convenient for visiting SDSU. The pool looked inviting on a warm day, although I did not get to try it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank tlMomTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear tlMomTraveler

Thank for choosing to stay with us. We are very pleased to know that we have provided you exceptional service and gone above and beyond your expectations. Our staff takes pride in there work and are always eager to provide guests with the best service possible.

I'm sorry to hear you were unable to enjoy our heated pool this last visit but hopefully on your next stay you will have the opportunity to do so.

Thank you again and please come visit us soon at Best Western Lamplighter Inn.


Regards,
Justin M.
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Construction project next door made for very early banging and lots of noise. The rooms need immediate updating, very old and dirty. The TV reception not clear. Lots of Mexican workers swimming in pool and noisy. I don't recommend at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We strive to exceed our guests expectations, and on behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not succeeding in this instance. Our neighborhood is going through some major changes that we are very excited about. New commercial and housing buildings are sprouting up, which will bring new energy to our area. That being said, the noise may be an issue at times. The good news is that the crews are working hard, and the projects should be completed this Fall.



I was very sorry to learn of the noise some of our guests were causing by the pool. As soon as I learned of the problem I immediately spoke with the noisy guests and I’m happy to say that the issue has been taken care of.

I was surprised to read your comment about our rooms being dirty. Typically we get high ratings from our guests on cleanliness. We truly believe our housekeeping team is one of the best around. They are hard-working, and pay attention to the smallest details. I am happy to share that we are preparing for some upgrades to our rooms, including granite bathroom and kitchen counter tops, and updated bathrooms!

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Len Regan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,226 reviews
Old Town Inn
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#120 of 278 in San Diego
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $96 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing