We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #43 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood Ranch, FL, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Older hotel in older part of town. Well kept, beautiful landscaping. Friendly staff. Internet somewhat slow but useable. Breakfast average. We stayed four days. Would return again if visiting same friends in San Diego. Hotel close to I-8 and easy to get to airport from hotel. Also near Balboa Park and San Diego Zoo. Limited upscale restaurants in area. Most cater to San Diego State College students. No elevator. Park in front of your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites. We appreciate your compliments and feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our lush grounds and free amenities. I apologize if the WiFi gave you any inconveniences. I hope you were able to find some of the good restaurants in the area. Next time you stay, ask the Front Desk about our Inn-Sider’s guide, a little booklet put together to help our guests find great restaurants and hidden gems - in the neighborhood and beyond. Most of the restaurants and places to visit in the Inn-Sider’s guide were handpicked by our staff, and are perfect for exploring San Diego.

Our company culture is based on providing genuine hospitality, cleanliness, value, and quality accommodations. I hope that you received all of these qualities during your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you in the near future!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    302
    77
    19
    8
See reviews for
434
232
57
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eatonville, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

From first contact with GM, Len, this property won me over. I was in town to see family and visit a few theme parks. My room was immaculate. I stayed 3 nights and each day housekeeping was perfect. The breakfast was tasty and fresh each day. Lots to offer! I would definitely recommend and stay again!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear "disneylover123456"

Wow, thanks for the kind words about us! It's a pleasure to read and share reviews with our staff. Especially when we hit the mark with guests. We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, as it is only a 15 - 20 minute drive to the San Diego Zoo, or Sea World.

Thanks again for posting about us, and hopefully we will see you again during a future stay.

Sincerely,

Len Regan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We selected the Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites because it had good reviews and value pricing for San Diego. We had two rooms including one for handicapped. Our two night stay was pleasant and we enjoyed the morning breakfast with waffle maker, oatmeal, yogurt, selected fruit, bagels etc. Near to highway 8 and Mission Valley, Old Town, and the City of San Diego. Enjoyed the small heated pool too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Paul G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our little hotel. We're glad to hear that you were pleased with the accommodations you received. Our room attendants take pride in having some of the cleanest rooms in San Diego and we strive to make it welcoming and comfortable as possible at a great value.

Along with that, we know that breakfast is an important part of starting your day off right. We're so happy that you appreciated the items served daily as a part of our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast.


Being only 15-30 minutes away from all the main attractions, makes us a convenient spot for many vacationers to stay. We are always available to help with directions to any specific places that you would like to visit, just ask us!

It's nice to know that we gained a guest due to past guests wonderful reviews and we appreciate that you too, took the time to share your experiance with other potential guests. We hope to serve you again if you're ever back in our beautiful city!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *


Yours in Hospitality,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We really liked this hotel, its not too expensive but it is very comfortable. The pool is heated so you can swim at the evening too. It is a pet friendly hotel and there is breakfast in the lobby. I hope everyone enjoys the hotel as much as we do!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Rachel N,

We appreciate you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor making it easy for potential guests to get some insight as to what we're about. Our endeaver is to give our guests quality, value and excellent costumer service.

Our room attendants work hard to make sure all our pet friendly rooms are clean and comfortable. The free deluxe continental breakfast is a great way to start your day, you'll find something for everyone. Our guests love to relax in the pool area surrounded by lush foliage and our pool is heated to 82 degrees year round.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all these things! We hope you think of us when planning a return visit to our area.


Regards,

Michelle I Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The desk staff was helpful and friendly and the staff at the continental breakfast was cheerful. The accomodations were very clean and we were pleasantly surprised to get a kitchenette. Our room was very quiet, no street noise, there was some noise from traveler upstairs, though. It was a very good stay. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our little hotel during your visit to San Diego. Customer service is our priority, we want our guests to always feel welcomed and to freely inquire of any information that will make their visit a great experience!

We are truly delighted that you were content with your room. Our room attendants pride themselves on providing the cleanest of rooms, and it makes them happy to hear your positive comments. We are always glad to upgrade our guests, whenever possible. Our rooms with kitchens, which are stocked with pots, pans, dishes, cutlery, etc., are great for travelers planning on staying for multiple days.

Having a peaceful stay is important. We're glad you didn't encounter much noise. If ever there is a problem with neighbors creating disturbances, we will gladly and discretely resolve the problem to the best of our ability.

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with our on-line community here on Trip Advisor. We look forward to serving you again!

Regards,

Michelle | Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Valley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was our first visit to this motel. It won't be our last!

We were greeted Saturday night by the manager, who gave us a very warm welcome. We had asked for a room that would be in a quiet location when we made our reservation on-line. He offered a very nice location for us.

The asst. manager who checked us out the next day was just as accommodating as the manager. Really nice when you have people in the office like these two!

The room was very clean, and it was in perfect order. Many motels in this price range have dirty walls, torn wallpaper, dings in the door, broken fixtures, etc. Everything here was immaculate. Really nice condition! The beds were very comfortable too, which is something we look for in our choices of where to stay!

The breakfast was above average. The room was small, but workable, and the worker did a great job of keeping things in stock.

The location almost held us back, since it was farther away from our usual places closer to downtown. But it was less than 5 minutes east on the 8 freeway, and, with the directions, it was easy to get to the motel. We were going to the San Diego Zoo the next morning and we chose to go west on El Cajon Blvd. to Park Avenue. We were at the zoo quickly, and did not have to fight the traffic on the 163 getting off for Balboa Park! Plus, it was interesting to see the different neighborhoods on the way!

So, if you are looking for a nice, clean place with a modest price, I highly recommend this place! They obviously care about offering a pleasant stay for their guests!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2TravelOn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This Best Western is a great value for visiting parents of students at San Diego State University. It is very close to campus, yet far enough from the campus to avoid the traffic and noise. The staff is very friendly and attentive. You can get a room with a kitchen which is great for keeping costs down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Property: BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing