We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #38 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

we stayed in san diego for 2 nights as we had come all the way from australia to see the jonas brothers who were playing at the SDSU Arena and we had meet and greet this hotel was very nice and super close to all the things we need and only a $10 cab fare from the arena, the complimentary breakfast and complimentary wifi was perfect to and the staff were all very nice and super helpful

Room Tip: i know there was rooms with kitchens available but the rooms ithout were just as good with the mini...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellabella31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 970 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed 8 nights and had a great experience. Rooms were large, always clean, and comfortable. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Rooms contained coffee pot, microwave, good sized refrigerator. Pool was well kept with ample chairs, tables and umbrellas. Staff friendly and accomadating. Very close to SDSU, and an easy drive to major freeways, beaches, and most San Diego attractions. Breakfast with a lot of choices including a waffle maker. Breakfast room was small but we would take out food back to our room so it was not too big of an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 034Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel was perfect! We were in town to move my daughter to San Diego for grad school at SDSU. The hotel is clean, friendly, professional, helpful. We stayed for 10 days while we looked for an apartment. So it became "home". There is a great breakfast. Free parking and Wifi. Pool. Even a washer and dryer....didn't even think it was important but it did come in very handy. The front desk staff was so nice and friendly to us. Very convenient to SDSU.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for your wonderful review. I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and I hope you will think of the Best Western Lamplighter Inn as a “home away from home” for your family from now on. On behalf of all of us at the Lamplighter Inn, I would like to congratulate your daughter on becoming a grad student at SDSU! That is a great accomplishment, and we wish her the best of luck.

Your feedback and compliments are greatly appreciated, and we take your comments very seriously. We want our guests to know that we are listening, and by telling us what you enjoyed about your stay, you are helping us greatly. Your feedback gives us insight into what we should offer our future guests.

Our company culture is based on providing cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations, and comfort, all at an affordable price. We strive to uphold these qualities because we know that they are important to our guests. I hope that we exceeded your expectations and provided you and your family with all of these important qualities during your stay.

I am happy to know that our location was convenient for you, and that you enjoyed our amenities. Thank you for mentioning our helpful and friendly staff! We strive to provide great customer service to all of our guests, and we are happy to hear that we succeeded. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests, and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel was in a quiet area by San Diego State University. The visitors attracted to the hotel were people concerned with a safe, quiet and affordable environment making it a pleasureable experience during breakfast time. We had a great time and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. Would definately look for this facility again as we travel yearly to San Diego for our family reunion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Apparently, just because there is a parking lot and you are a guest staying at the hotel, you are not entitled to an actual spot (unassigned). We assumed that there would be enough spots per room but thats not true and parking on the street is very questionable. The walking is absurd, especially when you have two small kids trying to cross on a busy intersection (in the cross walk) and people are constantly speeding in that area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Best Western Lamplighter Inn. We appreciate your honesty and apologize for the inconveniences you faced regarding the parking situation. I know that it must have been difficult, especially with small children. At more expensive hotels, guests are charged for parking, and the price for parking your car can be quite expensive. Our parking is free, and occasionally, yes, we do run out of parking spaces. Some guests may be using more than one car, we see a lot of large SUVs that take up more than one space, and we do not have assigned parking. We recommend street parking in this situation; however, we realize that with children on a busy street, this is not ideal. I would like to apologize again for the inconvenience you faced, and I completely understand your disappointment.

Once again, I would like to thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests, and I hope that you will give us a chance to serve you in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had our two kids with us, they love staying at hotels. This was one of the best. They loved the pool and the bed they slept in. The kitchen was pretty well stocked with amenities and they even gave us an courtesy upgrade to the family suite. It was really nice the kids laid on the beds in the bedroom and watched movies while we got dinner made and things settled. This one was one of the best rooms that we have had..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Traveling from Seattle to San Diego with my daughter and dog. Lamplighter Inn was an oasis at the end of a long, hot drive. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean, beds comfortable. The pool was lovely as was the landscaping around it -- beautiful flowers. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,223 reviews
Old Town Inn
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#116 of 278 in San Diego
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $96 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing