We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Near SDSU”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #38 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Hemet, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Western Near SDSU”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Friendly staff and a clean room. Plenty of everything. Minutes from San Diego State and the 8 freeway. Motels on El Cajon Blvd can be of suspect quality, but this Best Western serves as an example that you can find a quality motel in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    311
    78
    19
    8
See reviews for
450
233
58
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am a basketball coach and we were attending a tournament at SDSU and found the Best Western Lamplighter Inn close to the campus.

From the time I made the reservations it was nothing but great. The person who took my reservation did a fantastic job of helping me get the dates I wanted and a great price as well. In addition, I needed to call back to add a room and though they were full the same person helped me get the first canceled room. I was very appreciative of how he made that happen.

Our stay was great. The rooms big and very accommodating. Our basketball team had a blast and it was great to have an outstanding hotel so close to the campus.

We would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to anyone and we will DEFINITELY be coming back!

Room Tip: All the rooms were great. The standard rooms had refrigerators and microwaves. If you are staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Great service at front desk. Very nice pool with gaz BBQ available if you want to cook there. Enough parking space for everyone. Nice breakfast but room small so may have to wait for a table available or eat at the pool or in your room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numero874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevres, France
Level Contributor
200 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Pleasant location, close to restaurants & shops, great breakfast, clean and large rooms, very nice pool, and BBQ available at the pool. My husband, kids and I enjoyed it a lot !!!!
And the person at reception very helpful

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank louloute921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Best Western Lamplighter Inn on El Cajon Blvd in San Diego is just the best! Friendly, clean, safe, quiet, breakfast with protein option, and of all the hotels I have stayed at they have never made a mistake on my reservation (like Comfort Suites x2 & Courtyard at Marriott). After the drive across town in hot summer weather they even have a huge server of ice water with lemon slices, in their friendly lobby, just to cool you off, nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I were traveling to San Diego to visit our son and his family who had just moved into this neighborhood. I carefully researched the area hoping to find a reasonably priced hotel close to their home where we could return often. Best Western Lamplighter is just what I was hoping to find! We were upgraded to a nice two room suite with a full kitchen, living area with sofa bed and a bedroom with two queen beds. I particularly appreciated having a bathroom that was separate from the bedroom. The kitchen was dated but clean. The property is quiet, attractive and well maintained. The woman at the front desk was very welcoming. The beds comfortable with plenty of soft pillows. Freeway access is excellent and there is a great shopping center with grocery stores, CVS drugstore, Yogurtland, restaurants, etc. just a minutes away by car. I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE traveling to San Diego whether visiting SDSU or on a family vacation to enjoy all San Diego has to offer. You can get to Sea World, Balboa Park, Mission Bay, Coronado and great beaches within 20 to 30 minutes. My husband left early one morning (6:30) for business in Carlsbad and was there in 35 minutes. Great value for your money - you can't beat that!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccsaltlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Lamplighter Inn, and for the wonderful review; I truly enjoyed reading what you had to say! Your feedback is very valuable to us, and is very much appreciated. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will think of the Best Western Lamplighter as your home away from home. We are so glad to know that you found just what you were looking for in our hotel.

Our company culture is based on providing cleanliness, genuine hospitality, affordability, and quality accommodations. I hope that you received all of these qualities that we strive to uphold during your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our comfortable beds and pillows, we worked hard to find a bed that our guests would love, and we eventually chose the Simmons Beautyrest Pillowtop Matress. We appreciate that you noticed, and it’s great to hear that you liked it! I’m also glad that our location was so convenient for you.

We are very grateful for your compliments; we are not a fancy or luxury hotel, but we pride ourselves in exceeding expectations and having exactly what our guests need. It was an honor and a pleasure to have you as our guests, and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel is very close to campus. Rooms are super comfortable with refrig and microwave. Staff is amazingly helpful, with directions and all needs associated with stay. Breakfast service was complete. Enjoyed pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

It's a pleasure to hear that we have made your stay so comfortable. We have a single-minded dedication to outstanding customer service, quality, and value. Our supreme goal is to gain the loyalty of our guests, and we believe our AAA-2 diamond property is well located, friendly and very clean.

Thank for staying with us, writing this review and we wish for you and your family a relaxing and fun Summer!

Sincerely,

Len Regan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,068 reviews
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#101 of 279 in San Diego
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Property: Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing