We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Inn for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #38 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent Inn for the price”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Pros:
The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable.
Free wi-fi and breakfast.
The pool is nice but I wish they had a hot tub (after long days at Legoland and Seaworld).
Good value.

Cons:
Beware the inn is located in a "not so nice" neighborhood. So be careful when you go out at night. I went to CVS (9 p.m.) that is half block away and saw drug dealing and beggars in the parking lot.
No laundry facility onsite.
Not enough parking if you come back late at night (doing laundry offsite)
It will be nice if the maid will refill the shampoo bottle (we were out the last day of the stay).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Rita,

We are glad your family stayed with us, and reviewd our hotel. I want to apologize for not properly communicating the location of our onsite guest laundry, it can be easily missed since it is towards the back of the property. The owner and I have discussed moving it to a more central location, and that is in our future plan.

As a long time resident of the SDSU area, I have always felt safe walking around, however, I agree that in any larger city your advice is prudent in most any location other than rural. Fortunately I can say that we have a very safe property that has an excellent record with families and school groups alike.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel, our goal is to exceed our guest's expecations in all areas, and if there is ever a concern or a question we definitely will do our best to accomodate whatever the issue.

Sincerely,

Len Regan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    311
    78
    19
    8
See reviews for
450
233
58
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a great time at this Hotel very nice clean and friendly staff great location to the attractions, Stores and food! Our family had a great time swimming and the Breafest was a great way to start off the day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Samantha,

We appreciate your nice comments, and are glad your family had a pleasant stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, as all feedback is important to us. Being a small hotel we pride ourselves on focusing on service, quality and value, and guests who do their research tend to agree. We definitely would like to see your family again on a return trip to San Diego.

Kind Regards,

Len Regan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I found out why this place got such good reviews. I spent three days there while going to a meeting downtown. I wanted a good value, and quiet so I could review my meeting notes at night. I wasn't interested in going out to eat, I wanted a kitchen to do it myself, again because of time. It was a 15 minute trip at night from downtown, but it was in a nice area, and the price was excellent for what I got. The kitchen was a microwave, oven-range, and full frig and freezer, plus pans and utensils.The bed was quite good, and it didn't hurt that everything was essentially new. It was the usual breakfast in these places, but again quite pleasant and well done. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating. And the little things: pretty upscale bathroom soap and shampoo, great lcd tv, good wireless, and a very thoughtful touch: plug outlets built into the table adjacent to the bed. And spacious drawer space for people with more belongings than I had. They have a nice poo, and 24 hour coffee at the office. I can't remember when I left a place without even any minor annoyance, but that was so here, so I'm afraid I have no suggestions for improving this operation. They did everything right! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only some rooms have kitchens, and I believe they vary in what they have. I made my reservation ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Jack B.

It is hard not to blush after reading your review of your stay, but I will get over it. It is particularly pleasing that you made use of the added outlets we recently mounted to the bedside area. This was one of those ideas that came from listening to our guests, and responding to their needs. Again, thank you for letting us know how we are doing. We hope you to see you again on a future stay in San Diego.

Sincerely,

Len Regan
Proud General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for a brief stay to look at prospective colleges with our son. Selected property for proximity to schools, freeways and other landmarks we were interested in. Also wanted to find a place that was not expensive given the short period of time we would actually be there. I read many reviews before our trip and really didn't see any negatives for this hotel. Our experience was wonderful. Came in on early flight and toured SDSU. Able to check in to one of our rooms very early and the second one for our boys next door was done well before check in and staff worked to make it available as soon as possible. Accommodations are very nice. Beds are great. Location is excellent. Also toured USD and some colleges up north and location was perfect access. Breakfast is nice. Staff is amazingly professional and friendly from the general manager to the front desk to the maid to the groundskeeper. Value is excellent. Walking distance to good restaurants and variety stores for necessities. Pool very nice. Will definitely return and would recommend the property without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranger4441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Ranger4441,

It is with great pleasure that I have the opportunity to share this review with our staff. We are happy you chose our hotel, and were able to acommodate your needs during that time. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable rooms, with genuine hospitality. It is gratifying to know for your family we succeeded in doing just that.

Len Regan
Proud General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We chose this inn because it's location to SDSU. We have stayed several times to move in/move out and visit our son who attends SDSU. The inn/motel is well maintained with very clean motel-style rooms and landscaded grounds. They have a complimentary continental breakfast with juice, yogurt, bagels, hard boiled eggs, coffee and cereal served in a nice room or grab and go. Internet connection and parking are Free! The staff is helpful and friendly. On our last stay we left a toiletry bag in the room, we didn't notice the item missing after retuning home for several days. I called the inn, the young lady who answered the phone was able to quickly tell me they had the item and she would ask her manager to call me to arrange return shipping. I received a call and email from the manager 2 days later with tracking information as he had shipped the item that morning free of charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Jackie,

Thank you for this fantastic review, we appreciate your choosing us for your visit to SDSU and the area. It was our pleasure to host your family, and to return your left behind item. It is always great to hear from our guests about how we are doing. From the entire team, we thank you, and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Len Regan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This inn is well maintained with immaculate rooms, nicely landscaped grounds and a pristine heated pool. They offer a complimentary continental breakfast with juice, bagels, hard boiled eggs, coffee and cereal to start your day. Internet connection and parking are free. Even though the inn is located on a busy street, there isn't much noise. The staff was helpful and friendly. Plus, it's only a 15-20 minute straight drive down Interstate 8 to the beaches if you don't go during rush hour.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are further from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Greeting Happy Traveler,

We appreciate your staying with us, and I look forward to sharing this review with the entire team. TripAdvisor is all about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research. We look forward to hopefully seeing you on a return visit to San Diego.

Kind Regards,

Len Regan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Chose this hotel because the location was convenient. From the moment I stepped into the lobby, I was impressed with the knowledge and friendliness of the hotel staff.....above and beyond expectations. On a scale of 1 to 10 the entire staff would get at least a 12. I needed an extra night and got it with no problems. Had a large room with a full kitchen. Comfortable bed and big screen TV

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasCajun46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Guest Service Agent at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear texascajun46,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with our on-line community.We strive to give superior service to our guests and are glad that we succeeded in doing this for you. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your kitchen suite and that we were able to extend your stay without a problem.

We truly appreciate your compliments, and hope to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Michelle

Frint Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,068 reviews
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#101 of 279 in San Diego
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Property: Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing