We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #42 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
“Excellent customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting colleges. Spoke to Len on a couple of occasions before the stay. He provided great, friendly service. Upon arrival we found the staff friendly, helpful with directions, cabs and restaurant recommendations. Room was clean and welcoming with cute folded towels. Breasfast room is small but organized and clean.
Good place to stay if visiting SDSU.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Guest Service Agent at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Connie117,

Being only one mile away from SDSU, we are very convenient for families touring the college and parents visiting their students. We have become a "home away from home" for many. We strive to provide excellent customer service and clean, well maintained rooms. We are glad to hear that the breakfast was satisfactory. We do our best to provide a variety of food items and keep it stocked and clean during breakfast room hours.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with our online community! We hope to serve you again during your next visit to San Diego.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michelle
Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    302
    77
    19
    8
See reviews for
434
232
57
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I sayed here for 2 nights as our home was having construction work done and we needed to get away from the dust for health reasons. Made reservations last minute - no problem - staff was very good. We ask for the least expensive non-smoking room. Gave us an upsatiars unit - two queen beds. Very clean room and very well maintained. bathroom very clean. What really surprised me was how quiet it was not only from outside noise but from other rooms as well (and the place was pretty full). The property is in a so- so area but it is maintained extremely well. The staff does not allow messing around as they should not. We felt very safe there. Area is under redelevopment but it will be even better in the future. Would highly recommed this place to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Guest Service Agent at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Dave B,

Thank you for your review and your compliments. TripAdvisor is a great way to spread the word about our little hotel, and we truly appreciate your positive feedback! Our focus is to provide clean, well maintained rooms at an affordable rate, along with great customer care. Our front desk staff and housekeepers are very happy to hear that we were successful in doing this for you.

Thank you very much for recommending us to the TripAdvisor community. We are honored that you highly recommend us to all. Whenever you're in need of a place to stay again, we hope you choose to come back and stay with us!

Sincerely,
Michelle
Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in March after having stayed at Hotel Circle. This was a better choice than my last. The property had a nice inviting feel and the room I had seemed newer than the hotel's exterior would suggest. The hotel had a professional staff at the front desk as well as in the breakfast room. It was a clean, affordable, and attractive property. Heck, it must have been a good deal because there was a Rolls Royce parked in the lot!

This hotel has a better than average complimentary breakfast, lots of free parking, an inviting pool and excellent quality free wifi. The neighbourhood seemed safe and there were a lot of eating options close by. I believe I got excellent value for the money I spent. I doubt if I could have done any better.

Room Tip: I always prefer to stay on the second floor to avoid the noise of rambunctious children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitsilanoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Guest Service Agent at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear KitsilanoGuy,

We are very happy to hear that you felt great about choosing to stay at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn. Our goal is to provide quality, great customer service, and value to our guests, and we are so glad we succeeded in doing this for you! Thank you so much for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor for potential guests to view.

We hope to serve you again soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Michelle
Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lots of TV channels, discounted ($4 off) San Diego Zoo tickets available, clean room including carpet and bathroom, staff friendly and accommodating, acceptable pleasant grounds, vending machine - water $1.50/bottle, soda $1.00/can--problem with Sprite dispensing, rates economical and good for what you get for San Diego area, location not far from San Diego University, breakfast included waffles, boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, pastries (a little stale), no meat on breakfast bar, small eating area, not allot of non-chain restaurants in the area or stores on the street of the hotel -- took a couple of phots and will not try to post later if this site will allow such. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Tips from other Trip Advisor travelers definitely helped my husband and me to decide to stay at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaLady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Guest Service Agent at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear TeaLady_12,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our amenities and clean rooms. It is also great to hear that our location was convenient for you. We strive to do the little things and give great customer service to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible.

Our breakfast room is on the small side, however, we do provide trays and welcome guests to enjoy their breakfast at the pool or even in the privacy of their own rooms, if they like. We apologize if the pastry you partook of was a little stale. We do our best to make sure we keep fresh pastries on the rotation and will work harder to try to prevent this from happening again.

As far as restaurants go, there are many, some within walking distance and others a drive. We at the front desk are more than happy to help you find chain or non-chain eateries that will suit your needs and provide you with a map and directions.

We're glad to hear that you'll be returning and look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,
Michelle
Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

With only three days notice I was able to get a very nice non smoking room (which I wanted). The room was clean, bed comfortable and maid service was great, the breakfast room is small, but they have a nice selection of foods.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Guest Service Agent at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Toni T,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Being a small hotel, we are dedicated to consistent service, quality, and value. We're very glad to hear that we were able to accomplish this during your visit to San Diego. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our expanded continental breakfast. We do realize our breakfast room is on the small side and welcome guests to sit out in our relaxing pool area or take breakfast back to the privacy of their room if it is too crowded. We appreciate your review and hope to serve you again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michelle Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The upgrade was greatly appreciated and thoroughly enjoyed. The reception was friendly, as was the check-out. The breakfast room was convenient and neat and clean and the food was very good. We will return.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Guest Service Agent at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear William S,

Thank you taking time to review our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your free upgrade! That is one of the perks to being a Best Western member, whenever it's possible, we are more than eager to offer a free upgrade to our members. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our expanded continental breakfast. We strive to provide our guests with great customer service, cleanliness, quality, and value. It’s nice to know that we succeeded in bringing these qualities to your stay. Our staff looks forward to serving you once more, during your next visit to San Diego. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests.

Sincerely,
Michelle
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Property: BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing