We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for San Diego Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #38 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid March. Arriving late from a long transatlantic flight into LAX. Easy to find the hotel and the staff were most welcoming. Great to have some coffee on arrival!!
The hotel was busy but just enough parking spaces for all even though they could be tight if you are parked next to one of those "US monster trucks".
The room was on the second floor and was a good size, small bathroom, with basin at the end of the bedroom area. Very clean throughout the stay. I had seen some comments about the "thin walls" and yes it is true. Seem to be some people waking up at 6am having showers! However, two very comfortable Queen beds and one of the best continental breakfasts on our tour of CA which was always topped up with goodies. The kids are now converted to waffles in the morning.
Very nice pool which could have benefitted from having a hot tub, but that is getting picky. The staff were very helpful with ideas on where to go and provided directions. Plenty of leaflets in the lobby and there is a PC with internet access which was very useful.
Not much in terms of restaurants within close walking distance, but a short drive up El Cajon Blvd we found Woodstock's Pizza which became a favourite.
There are plenty of shops within short driving distance to stock up with beers and refreshments and we made good use of the fridge in the room.
I would classify this as an excellent Motel in the suburbs of San Diego. If you are looking for a 5 star Hotel in the city centre with room service, bell boys and all the trimmings of luxury then this will not fit the bill.
It is located close to the main highway so excellent access for trips into Downtown San Diego and the brilliant Zoo. One tip is to park at the Old Town for free and get the Trolley into San Diego where kids travel for free. This trolley route goes onwards to Tijuana and makes for a great day out.
It was also very good starting point for our next stop in Anza-Borrego via the excellent DZ Akins deli which was located just before we joined the highway
Our family of four had a great stay and would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FamilyGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

827 - 833 of 970 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2008

My family stayed at this hotel last week and the reviews are correct. Very clean hotel with a great attitude at the front desk.
The breakfast bar is wonderful and it is very easy access to all of the attractions in San Diego!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank osuguy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We only needed a room for 1 night and after staying in Hampton Inn for 3 straight days I was glad that it was only for 1 night.

The hotel is located about 15 minutes from downtown San Diego and the traffic traveled very quickly on the highway. The area that the hotel is in could be called a working class neighborhood and felt ok during the day but we stopped for gas at night and there were drunk people and homeless looking people walking around .

I had booked the room because I wanted to have a room large enough for 2 adults and 3 teenagers. The room has a large kitchen, foldout couch, tv , full bathroom and the adjoing room has 2 queen beds and a tv. After staying several nights in a Hampton Inn , which we paid $151 a night , and then staying here for $143 a night I think that they are charging too much.

The pillows are very small and flat but the beds were comfortable. The breakfast area is well staffed but the eating area is very small. Most people were getting something to eat and taking it to their room. The only hot foods were waffles and instant oatmeal. The door to the breakfast room was left open to the outside so I can see it would be easy for insects coming straight into the room. If that door is to remain open then I would suggest adding a screen door.

The hotel staff is extremely polite and helpful. Their great attitude does not make up for the questionable area of the hotel, small pillows, little breakfast area and what I think is too high of a rate for the room.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DonnaSue24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamplighterinn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2008

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We do appreciate feedback from all of our guests.

Our hotel is located about 1 mile from San Diego State University and is on a commercial boulevard. San Diego is a big city and it does have some big city problems, that being said, we’ve never had a safety issue with any of our guests. We don’t know where you stopped for gas but we are sorry that you had that bad experience.

San Diego is a world class destination and because of this rates may be higher than in other cities. For example, the average rate for the Hampton Inn closest to us is $242 per night! It’s also important to note that we’re the least expensive hotel in the top 10 on TripAdvisor in San Diego.

We do not advertise a full hot breakfast, but our expanded continental breakfast does include waffles, hard boiled eggs, bagels, 3 different types of cereal, muffins, fresh fruit, juices and coffee.

I do appreciate your compliments regarding our staff. Our team takes great pride in their work as we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us.

Sincerely – David Birt/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

This hotel was very good, clean rooms and friendly service. Plus a substantial free breakfast in the morning! The pool was clean and very warm with nice fluffy towels on the sun beds.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Very clean place with friendly helpful staff. The room and hotel grounds were nothing special, but very clean. Really can't beat it for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annafies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Our room was basic, no-frills, but updated and very clean. The grounds were nicely kept, breakfast was good, and the manager was very nice.

The only negative thing that I can say is that the neighboorhood was somewhat run-down looking, although I felt perfectly safe at the hotel.

If you are on a budget and looking for a clean friendly hotel, then this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

My mother lives in El Cajon and we need to go down to visit her frequently. Since her place is small and she has cats we needed to find a hotel that was both convenient and reasonably priced. We found that and so much more in the Lamplighter Inn. First off, the staff is so friendly you fell like you are talking to old friends. David, the general manager really makes you feel at home. The hotel is not fancy, but it really is nice and very, very clean. I doubt you could find a nicer place to stay in this price range. This is my go-to destination when visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MisterOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,228 reviews
Old Town Inn
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#120 of 278 in San Diego
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $96 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing