We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average inn ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #32 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I appreciate people taking the time to review hotels as I do read reviews before making reservations so I thought to do the same ...

This inn is an average place and nothing much to say. Plain and clean with rooms that are not well sound proof. I heard a child crying most of the night and the father yelling for the baby to stop. I was afraid to increase the volume on my TV so I used caption to watch.

I also overheard the person at the front quoting prices different from what I had paid. I am not too happy as I paid higher than what I got thru AAA.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dovee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Dovee888,

Thank you for choosing the “Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU”. I am truly sorry that your experience was not what you had hoped. Our goal is to exceed every guest’s expectations and we take it very seriously when we fail.

We regret that you were bothered by noise from a neighboring guest. That certainly can be upsetting. We do our best to see that unnecessary disturbances are avoided; unfortunately, at times, it is beyond our control. On your next stay, please notify Front Desk of any undue commotion, this way we have the opportunity to politely ask them to quiet down.

As far as your room rate, there are several different room layouts and pricing to match those amenities. It is possible the clerk you overheard was quoting a room that was different from yours, or for a different time period. Please know we place a high importance on all guest feedback, and your comments will be reviewed by our staff to look for ways to improve the guest experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Len Regan-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Lamplighter Inn for 4 nights in January. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were pleasant, comfortable and reasonably priced. Coin-operated washing machines and dryer proved useful.

Pleasantly surprised to find a lot of kosher items available at breakfast. While heavy on carbs (bagels, cereal, waffles, muffins) it would be difficult to do otherwise without a full-on kosher kitchen, so we very much appreciated the effort. Even so, hard-boiled eggs and yoghurt were also available.

The Inn is located in the College district and is also an easy 10 minute walk from an Orthodox synagogue. There are no kosher eateries in the area (La Jolla's the place for that) but there are several shops nearby, including a Ralph's Supermarket about 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydbunyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear sydbunyip,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, Our company culture is to provide quality, affordability and great customer service to our guests, and your review and those of others helps us to know how we are doing.

For years the Best Western Lamplighter has been a popular spot for many families visiting San Diego. Also, you are correct that our hotel is an excellent location for Orthodox visitors. Beth Jacob Synagogue is a short walk, and our staff is happy to assist with opening doors, turning on or off lights etc, during Shabbos. We look forward to seeing you again during a future stay.

Sincerely,

Len Regan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you are looking for upscale, fancy in the middle of where the action is, pick another motel in San Diego. If you're after a clean motel with good value in a convenient location this is a good choice. More family oriented, all the people were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Robert C,

Thank you for staying with us, and for the kind review. We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, frienly and very clean. And hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Len Regan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Decent enough for short stay, near to restaraunts ,co-operative staff. But breakfast quality needs improvement. Proximity to public transport and points of attraction. Suggest adding gym / workout place


  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank VYDHANATHAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear VYDHANATHAN K ,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, TripAdvisor is all about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research. I apologize if you found the breakfast less than adequate. For some time we had been forced to change our menu due to local regulations, but no longer.

Happily, we have now returned to our expanded continental breakfast, to include hot waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, juice and cereals. Additionally we serve fresh bagels, pastries and muffins that are delivered each day.

Your feedback is appreciated since we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. In the future if you find yourself in our area again we would welcome the opportunity to serve you.

Kind Regards,

Len Regan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just stayed here this past weekend. Len helped me with my reservation and he was able to give me a good deal he was also able to get me on a 2nd floor with two rooms next to each other which was fantastic. We were there with family and one of the members didn't get to the hotel until 2am and they were able to pick up their own keys from the front desk because they are open 24hrs. The member that was driving until 2am slept in past breakfast and the front desk clerk in the morning, Michelle, let him toast a bagel and grab some orange juice from the breakfast room a little after breakfast close (~10:15). Brandon was also really great with all of our requests during the night, asking for extra towels and giving us menus for different dinner choices. We have stayed here in the past and we will continue to stay here because the prices are great and the customer service is superb!

Room Tip: They have a dvd player in the room so don't forget to bring your favorite movies... if you do fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ducky89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Ducky89,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We strive to provide great customer service and we are happy to hear we succeeded in doing so with you and your family. We look forward to having you stay again!

Yours in hospitality,

Michelle
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights and were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite.
To have a living room & kitchen as well as a bedroom is pure luxury.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast area is a bit small so that we took things to the room when it was full.
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaBlu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear MaBlu123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are happy to upgrade our Best Western Members whenever it's possible. The family suite is the perfect choice for long stays, such as yours. We strive to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and are glad to hear that our staff accomplished this. As far as the breakfast room goes, we do realize it is on the small side. Many guests do take breakfast back to their room but, are also welcome to enjoy their breakfast in our relaxing pool area. We enjoyed having you stay at our hotel and look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Michelle
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western Lamplight Inn & Suites many times, most recently this past week. It is perfectly located for folks visiting SDSU and/or students attending SDSU, but also offers a great value for anyone looking for a nice clean motel with better-than-average amenities for the price. While not in walking distance of San Diego hotspots (it's a fifteen minute drive to the coast, airport, downtown, hillcrest and most anywhere else you want to go), at one third of the cost of the fancier San Diego hotels, guests enjoy free parking, free and reliable wifi, large rooms with comfortable beds, mini fridges, work desks, free coffee and breakfast snacks (bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, etc.) and more. The room I had this last trip even had a full kitchen - it was like a mini-apartment - and all for $64/night!

Room Tip: I've followed the advice of others and requested upstairs rooms which are nice and quiet, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer100SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Jennifer,

First of all, thank you for being a loyal guest! We love it to when people tell us that our hotel is their home away from home. We're glad to see that you have been satisfied with the amenities that we offer and our location. We greatly appreciate that you let other potential guests know what you've experienced here at the Lamplighter Inn with your wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Michelle-Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,961 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#108 of 286 in San Diego
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $86 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing