We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Everything you could want” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #41 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Yuma, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Everything you could want”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed over the 4th of July weekend and the place was booked to capacity-evidenced by the packed to over flowing breakfast area. The staff was kept hopping clearing dishes and refilling food to keep it moving and they did a great job! Room was clean and comfortable with fridge and microwave, sitting chair and desk area. First stay in a Country Inn and if they are all like this will be staying again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YumaJeepFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the hotel community. We would also like to thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting San Diego during the 4th of July holiday and are delighted to see that you greatly enjoyed your time with us. We all know that the 4th of July holiday can be very hectic and we are glad to see that we could do our part to make your Holiday weekend as positive of an experience as possible. We sincerely hope that the next time you return to San Diego that we will be your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    262
    72
    17
    13
See reviews for
381
166
39
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have yet to stay at a Country Inn and Suites but my family and friends decided to stay at this hotel during our trip to San Diego for the Del Mar fairgrounds and we loved it! Surprisingly, it's not too far away from the fairgrounds, approximately 15 minutes (or more with traffic).
Not only were we greeted with very warm customer service at check-in and throughout all hours of leaving and coming back to the hotel, our rooms were also very nice too-- if you cannot deal with light when you sleep, they have these amazing blackout blinds that work wonders even during the day, simply amazing! As far as a deal, you cannot beat snacks throughout the day (cookies and tea/coffee complimentary at the front desk), the free hot breakfast buffet (not that I ate all of the items available but they had eggs, sausages, potatoes, yogurt, fruits/fruit salad, cereal, bagels, DIY waffles, coffees, teas, milks, juices), free internet, and free parking. I did not get to see the gym, pool or fitness center-- I did see the pool from my friend's room, very clean and a nice size. I would have loved to eat at the Lounge, but it was closed due to the holidays (very understandable) but they did have a little shop you could purchase microwavable items and sodas from.
Honestly, only downside to this was that our group didn't stay longer! I will be sure to stay at this location and for a longer period, if I come back to this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieSit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the TripAdvisor community and out potential customers. On behalf of our entire hotel, we would like to thank you for your amazing comments regarding your experience and all of the hotel options that you were able to enjoy, as well as some that you unfortunately were unable to enjoy while visiting the Del Mar Fair. All of our complimentary services are garnered to provide the best hotel experience, while here on business or for leisure, and we are delighted to see that you were able to take advantage and enjoy most of our amenities. We look forward to when your travels return you to the area and we hope to see you once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Country Inn San Diego North. The complimentary breakfast buffet was very good and help set this hotel and hotel chain apart from similar hotel chains that offer either nothing or barebones breakfast offerings.
Customer service is very good as evidenced by a hotel maintenance worker who quickly and efficiently fixed a leaky shower faucet and issue with our in room TV's volume.
The outdoor pool and jacuzzi were clean and attractive and my kids and I enjoyed them. I look forward to staying here again next time we are in SD. Much better than so many of the hotels on Hotel Circle!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. Looking through your kind comments, we are delighted to see that you were able to enjoy many of the complimentary items that we offer to our guests, with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast standing out in particular. Additionally, I would like to thank you for your comments regarding our maintenance staff, whom is always happy to assist our guest with any guest issues in a timely matter. Thank you once again, and we sincerely hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our first time at a Country Inn and Suites. Our group's organizer selected this hotel for its location. I would stay at this property again based on our positive experience. The beds were comfortable, the room was very clean, the staff was pleasant and responsive, the complimentary breakfast was well prepared and we appreciated the variety of items offered. The pool and spa tub were also clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel property while you stayed with us while visiting San Diego with your sporting group. We know that there are many options for your team to choose in the area and we are very delighted to have been provided the opportunity to host your team. Hopefully your travels return you to the area and we hope to see you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family and I stayed here during our trip to San Diego. The property is clean and sparkling. We had a King Suite and the size of the room was perfect for us with plenty of room for the kids to play during our down time. The King bed was very comfortable. The sofa bed was a sofa bed....springy and hard to sleep on, but my daughter was comfortable enough. The staff is awesome....very kind and helpful. Once we went to the pool and there were no towels. A quick trip to the front desk got us towels immediately at pool side. The pool is very clean and has a great shallow area perfect for my 5 year-old. The breakfast was well apportioned with hot items and things like cereals and a waffle making station. The only issue we had was the location of the room. We got in late on Saturday evening and all they had left apparently was a room with a view of the wall that encloses the entire second story. I would recommend asking for a room above the second floor. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor as there is a wall that totally obstructs the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TencatNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our potential customers. We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel in one of our King Suite rooms, while on vacation with your family. We are also delighted to see that you were able to experience many of the complimentary amenities that our hotel offers, from our complimentary hot buffet breakfast, to our outdoor heated pool which is perfect for relaxing during the hot San Diego summers. We look forward to the next time your travels return you to San Diego, and we sincerely hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Usually, we stay at Best Westerns but we couldn't get into our usual and I'm glad. We got to try the Country Inn & Suites for the first time and were very satisfied with the room, free breakfast with hot items, plenty of space and a friendly, professional front desk. With our son attending UCSD we'll be staying here again!

Room Tip: We asked for a received a room away from the ice machines. The room was spacious and clean with nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegobound2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are delighted to see that you greatly enjoyed your first time experience with our hotel and are ecstatic to see that we may be your hotel of choice when you return to San Diego. We look forward to your next visit, and wish the best for your son as he attends nearby UCSD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Wanna thank the whole staff there..like always they greet you with kindness. The rooms are done up nice.thanks to the room service crew. The bed was comfortable.clean linens, the place is clean, awesome place for breakfast.. Thanks to you all*. shawn,lauren,and all others there. You guys rock!!! see you all soon...
again and again and again!!!







  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on TripAdvisor with the online community. We are very excited to see that not only did you greatly enjoy your stay with us, but that our staff was one of the many highlights of your stay. Excellent customer service is one of our goals and we are delighted to see that we accomplished our goal with your experience. We look forward to the next time you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
5.8 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#15 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing