We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #49 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here for a high school tournament and it was very reasonable. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and they provided Gatorade for the kids at check in. This is a great hotel for sports team they offer a good breakfast and great program for sports team travel. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3lules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
On behalf of everyone from the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson we would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience with the online community. From reading through your review, I am so pleased to see that you and your team thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our sales team works very hard to put together convenient and helpful programs for groups and teams visiting the area and from your feedback it is great to see that their hard work pays off. I’m also very happy that you found our staff to be friendly and that you were all able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast in the morning. We hope to welcome you back soon when your travels return you to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    283
    84
    21
    14
See reviews for
407
181
43
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanton, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I was so fortunate to find this hotel as it is clean, quiet, safe and comfortable. Lauren, Shawn, Israel, Chris, and Nadia go out of their way to make you feel welcome and like your staying at a 5 star hotel! It's been my home away from home for years. The restaurants food is delicious and the service at the bar is unbeatable. Everyone there is always accommodating to your needs. It is centrally located to so many locations in San Diego, no matter where I am working it’s always a convenient location!

Thank you County Inn and Suites for making my work visits to San Diego even better and more comfortable! One happy Carlson Club Member!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi Lynne! Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor for the Country Inn & Suites. As a frequent guest many of us have been able to get to know you on a personal level and your feedback is really appreciated! It is so great to hear that you get that sense of a “home away from home” feel when staying here with us, as this is the type of experience we strive to create for all of our guests. It’s great to know that our location is as convenient as can be for you in relation to your work offices, as well as, other San Diego locations. As always we look forward to greeting you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I stay here quote a bit because I work nearby, but live out of town.

The staff at this hotel is absolutely the best. Natalie, Lauren, Patrick, Israel, chris (I mentioned I stay here a lot) could not do more to make you feel more welcome.

The restaurant is surprisingly good. The have a basic menu, but I think that allows them to do a very good job on every item. And again, the service could not be better - which makes you feel good about staying here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WXkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
On behalf of everyone at the Country Inn & Suits by Carlson we would like to thank you for providing feedback from your past visits with us. I am so excited to see that the highlight of your stays has been the service provided by our staff, most notably our Front Desk staff Nadia, Patrick, Israel and myself, as well as, our bartender Chris. We constantly strive to provide the highest level of service to all of our guests and it is absolutely wonderful to see that we have accomplished our goal each and every time. It is also great to see that you enjoyed our dinner lounge and the food provided to you. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Convenient location for visiting U.C.S.D. A bit further than La Jolla, but very reasonable cost; great breakfast; quiet location; easy parking, good WiFi and work desk.

Many restaurant options within a mile.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent review on TripAdvisor. From reading through your review I am so pleased to see that you really enjoyed our central San Diego location and had a good time visiting UCSD. It is also great to hear you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast in the morning. We look forward to greeting you back here soon when your travels bring you back to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Excellent pet friendly hotel in the Sorrento Mesa near the Veterinary Specialty Hospital and serving primarily the local IT business area of northern San Diego.
LAUREN, at the front desk was extremely helpful, attentive,efficient, and accommodating when we had to extend our stay day by day after our dog had surgery at the VSH. Our dog needed extra recuperation time so we explored the San Diego area.
Located ideally between the I-15, the 805, and very close to the I-5 you can access downtown San Diego and Coranado Island and historic Mission Hills district via the 805. Del Mar racetrack,dog beach and lovely dog friendly bistros in La Jolla are easy to get to as well as Mission Bay and Sea world by the I-5.
This hotel was QUIET even with several very small children on the floor. it was CLEAN and COMFORTABLE. You can avoid the hassles of freeway interchanges and grid lock traffic by staying out of the downtown/airport area and staying here on your next trip to dog friendly San Diego! We will stay here again on our next trip for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and out potential customers. We are very excited to see that you and your pet absolutely enjoyed our hotel and the service provided by our staff, Lauren in particular. Everything from our quiet, yet convenient location to our complimentary hot buffet breakfast, as well as our pet amenities on check-in, are all targeted to provide all of our guests with the best hotel experience while visiting San Diego for either business or leisure. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travels return you to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Excellent customer service, very friendly and efficient staff, clean rooms and good food at a great price. Everyone from the people who great you on arrival to the housekeeping staff and food service people are very genuine and friendly. What more can a traveler ask for than that. Would stay there again if I'm ever back anywhere near them. I would drive out of my way to do so.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Marvin! Thank you so much for the review on TripAdvisor. Reading through your comments, I am very excited to see that the highlight of your stay was the service provided by our staff. We constantly strive to provide the highest level of service to all of our guests and it is absolutely wonderful to see that we have accomplished our goal. It is also great to see that you found your room to be clean and comfortable during your stay and that you were able to enjoy the dinner lounge as well. We sincerely hope to see you when business or pleasure next returns you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My 18-year old granddaughter is staying with me in Phoenix and wanted to see California during Spring Break. We had a great time throughout San Diego and up the Coast to Los Angeles. The Country Inn & Suites on Lusk was our first hotel and set the criteria for the balance of our stay in California as it met all our needs plus some … staff aimed to please, room was not only well-tended but very comfortable, and the breakfast buffet was exceptional. Thanks Country Inn & Suites! The location was adequate as it was a few minutes to all major thoroughfares.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delphine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Delphine! Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us to the online community. I am so pleased to see that you and your grandaughter had a wonderful time exploring the San Diego area on spring break and that you chose us as your first hotel of the trip! We aim to create a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests and reading your review it is great to see that you found your stay to be enjoyable and comfortable from the staff, to the room, as well as, the hot breakfast buffet. We look forward to greeting you when your travels bring you back to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Address: 5975 Lusk Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing