We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #39 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Gahanna, Ohio, United States
1 review
“wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Usually stay at hie, but decided ti give country inn a shot and wow! Great staff, room was pristine and breakfast was perfection. Had to leave at 530 before breakfast on last day and desk clerk made sure we had food for the road. Look forward to next stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay at our hotel with us. It is great to see were not only we were able to meet your expectations but to raise them for future stays. I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast, and once again thank you for the great review as we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    255
    69
    17
    12
See reviews for
373
160
38
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A great place to stay, not too far from the main attractions in San Diego.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the room was a standard 2 queen bed suite, comfortable enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. The free breakfast and free parking were a bonus. The breakfasts were great, plenty of choice, both cereals and cooked breakfasts with a waffle maker that the kids loved! There was also free coffee and cookies at reception which was nice after a day of sightseeing. The only negative is that there are no in room safes however there are free safety deposit boxes available at reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are all very excited that you were able to enjoy your entire stay with us, from our quiet location to all of the amenities we offer to our guests, free of charge. We hope you once again provide us the opportunity to provide you with the highest level of customer service you have come to expect, the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June. We loved the breakfast, customer service, lounge, and pool. The rooms are smaller than expected but the bed was comfortable which is very important!!! :) We will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allijme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and were able to take advantage of our excellent location, hot breakfast buffet, and other complementary amenities. Once again, thank you for the great review and we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is very welcoming, after a long drive from LA, we arrived at around 11pm, we were welcomed with free drinks and cookies and the lobby. Checking in was pretty easy. Clean room, the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast the next day was yummy,they had bacon, eggs, potatoes, make your own waffle, cereals, an assortment of breads, juices...and its FREE! This hotel is close to La Jolla, its a bit far from downtown(the gas lamp quarter) around 15 miles and other tourist attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Old Town, Legoland, even further from the San Diego Zoo Safari Park. If your ok with a bit of a drive, then stay here. Really homey and great staff. Price is reasonable as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaMGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Country Inn & Suites on Tripadvisor. We are all very excited to hear your stay with us was enjoyable. We strive to provide excellent customer service and hope to leave a lasting good impression, from our quiet centrally located location between Northern San Diego to the Downtown areas and all of our amenities we offer, free of charge. We hope you choose us the next time you venture to San Diego. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my first stay at a Carlson hotel. Overall, I am very impressed and happy I chose to stay here. The staff were super friendly and super nice. The rooms were very spacious and modern as well as clean! Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Country Inn & Suites on Tripadvisor. We are please to hear you over all had a enjoyable stay. We strive to provide excellent customer service and hope to leave a lasting good impression. We hope you choose The Country Inn and Suites the next time you venture to San Diego. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our family vacations frequently surround weekend getaways to attend soccer events. This facility is great for families and participates in a team support program. Our team had a great time hanging out with their coach in the large pool (they even got in a few dunks.) Additionally the parents were able to socialize while he did all the work. We had great breakfasts to get the team started each day and we were even able to have a team dinner brought in from nearby Rubios! Made it very nice to socialize with the team and the parents. The staff was great and the rooms were too! I even got to get in a fantastic trail walk down behind the business park; the desk clerk recommended several trails for me and I chose the goat trail. I've traveled a lot and having an empty business park that is nice and quiet is great for families. If you want a hectic night life-you are probably not out with the family. Perfect location-even a Starbucks nearby and shopping to boot!

Room Tip: We had the king suite. Perfect for a family who needs to get the kids to bed and Mom and Dad can ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zigrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your reponds on Tripadvisor. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during this busy time, during Albion Cup. We are excited to hear you were able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and spacious king suites. We're glad that we were able to accomidate your needs as a group/team, and provide you with a nice gathering space for you and your family to unwind in between games. We are also glad your had a chance to explore some of the surroundings and enjoy a nice trail not to far from our location. We hope you choose the Country Inn & Suites the next time you venture to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family stayed here for 5 nights in June of 2013. The room itself was fine and the bed comfortable. The only negative was the sleeper sofa that our kids slept on. It was not very comfortable. Fortunately, the housekeeping staff gave us extra blankets to pile on top of it and that made it better. The free breakfast was outstanding! Great variety of both hot and cold items. We did eat one night in the bar and the burgers were very good. Friendly staff all the way around. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your responds on Tripadvisor. We do appriate your review. We are glad to hear overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We are please you had a chance to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, as well as our Fireside Lounge. We hope you choose Country Inn & Suites the next time you venture to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
5.8 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#24 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing