We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip to San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #57 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel lobby was nicely decorated for the holidays and the staff was very friendly. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable as well. The breakfast was really great. We stayed four nights and each morning there was a different hot breakfast with a nice variety. The only drawback was the walls are pretty thin and we could hear the people next doors crying baby! The next day we spoke to the staff and asked to have our room changed and they were very accommodating. We got a room at the end of the hall and did not hear another thing. We also liked that it is a non-smoking hotel. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others. Plus, they don't charge for parking like other hotels we were considering.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor at the end, which we would definitely request again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your first trip to San Diego, and that we were able to add to your great San Diego vacation! We are glad to see that you were able to enjoy everything we offer from our complimentary breakfast each morning, to complimentary parking; and we sincerly hope that we can once again provide the high level of experience you have come to expect, the next time you are in the San Diego area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 996 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in North San Diego for a long weekend. I was very happy to find it in a nice area with nearby resturants and shopping. The staff was extremely curteous and professional at all times. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. Everything was well stocked and fresh. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the San Diego area. If I return to the area I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our potential customers! We always love to hear feedback from our previous guests, especially when we hear we went above and beyond their expectations. It is great to see that you were able to enjoy the amentities we offer such as the hot buffet breakfast during your stay, and we sincerly hope that we can once again provide you with the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at Country Inn for 3 days with my son's high school basketball team. They did a great job especially with all the teenage boys staying there! The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast is great! Check in was easy and the desk clerks were very helpful when we were looking for information. I didn't visit the pool as it was too cold outside. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sis524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. It is great to see that both you and your son (and hopefully his entire team), were able to enjoy there stay with us during the extremely busy San Diego Holiday Classic Basketball tournament. Our staff always enjoys hearing when we really accomplish the goals set to make every guest feel that they are at their "home away from home", and by your comments it looks like we were certainly able to accomplish our goal. Hopefully we can once again be your host the next time you are in the San Diego Area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The rooms and the rates far exceeded our expectations. Fresh coffe and hot water all the time was such a bonus. Everyone was friendly. we really apprecited the extra space. Mattresses were very comfortable

Room Tip: we were delighted with the option of an extra room for a minimal difference in price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our San Diego location with the online community. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us greatly, and had the opportunity to really take advantage of the complimentary hot beverage station we have available for guest use 24/7. It is also great to see that we were able to far surpass your expectations, and we look forward to once again being your host the next time your travels return you to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family stayed there for the first time for 2 nights. All staff were very helpful (and we had some unexpected needs), the interior environment was lovely (agree with other reviewer - bed and pillows were perfect), and the breakfast was terrific. The location provides easy access to many divergent areas of San Diego, including the airport. We have a new home in San Diego....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are all very excited to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning, along with all the other amenities we offer to our guests. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights while doing San Diego attractions. Lobby is gorgeous, breakfast is great. Front desk staff were good to deal with. Rooms were clean and roomy. Bathroom doesn't have a fan (strange) and main heating/AC unit can't keep up with room. Our room was quite humid, windows were soaking wet and dripping onto floor each morning, kids were playing with furnace filter due to its strange set-up. Pool was warm and kids enjoyed it. Housekeeping was fine with the exception of final morning when someone knocked on our door at 8:00 asking if we were leaving today (check-out paperwork was sitting under our door so it was obvious we were checking out that day, but that we were still there.) I found that rude and disruptive as the kids were still sleeping after a late night. I hadn't put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door, but didn't think I would need to at that time of the morning. Next time I will. bath tub took 45 min to drain, but I didn't bother mentioning this until check out. I'm sure they would have fixed it earlier if I had mentioned it. All in all good value for the money and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. It is great to see that you enjoyed your time with us in San Diego, and I am happy to inform you that we are in the process of installing fans within the restroom facilities in each of our guest rooms which we hope to have completed by the end of January. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments concerning our staff, lobby presentation, as well as our heated outdoor pool; all of which we hope bring your back to our location the next time your travels bring you to the San Diego area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I recently stayed here for a business trip and was very happy with all that was provided by this establishment. The bed and pillows were perfect for my needed slumber. The business center was handy as i did not travel with a computer. The fitness center provided me with an opportunity to work out and do cardio. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. I would definetly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay whether it be for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The view from the top floor really added to the quality of my stay, I enjoyed seeing the sun come up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mross_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with the online community! It is great to see that whether staying for leisure or for business, that our property continues to provide our guests such as yourself with an excellent product which continue to bring our guests back each time they are in the San Diego Area! Hopefully on your next business trip we can once again be your host!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
11.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
5.8 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#15 of 286 in San Diego
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $102 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing