We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Place, kids loved the breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #42 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place, kids loved the breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family(me, wife and two kids) stayed here in October for 4 nights. We used the hotel as a base for exploring the area. We drove down to Sea World one day, and up to LegoLand another day. We thought the location was very good and the room was comfortable. The hotel seemed to be pretty busy and even though there was a fair amount of traffic in the hallways at times, we were surprised that the noise didn't seem to come through the door(as it has at other times I've traveled). My kids enjoyed the pool and a cookie every evening. Staff was friendly and we may stay here again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are all very excited to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning, along with all the other amenities we offer to our guests. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    275
    80
    20
    14
See reviews for
398
179
40
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed there during a short vacation (followed by a business stay at a different hotel in the area). This hotel is not near the beach, which is about 15 minute drive away, so this is probably not the best place for a beachside vacation. Other than that, it is a very very nice place - friendly staff, comfortable room, nice bathroom, very comfortable bed, a large flat-screen TV with a good assortment of channels, including Showtime. The room rate includes free WiFi internet, free parking, and free breakfast for all occupants, with a nice assortment of hot dishes, cereals, yogurt, fruits, freshly-made waffles, bagels and cream cheese. There is coffee and tea in the lobby around the clock, a few times a day they make fresh cookies, though those go pretty fast, judging by the fact that most of the time we saw them all gone. The staff were all very friendly and attentive.
Some very very minor dings against this hotel are that the windows in (our) room did not open, and the air felt a little stuffy (but not overbearingly so). Also, the ironing board hanging in the closet made it just an inch short to lay the suitcase sideways. Other than these nitpicks, we enjoyed our stay very much, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are all very excited to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning, along with all the other amenities we offer to our guests. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Its located 20 mins away from the san diego zoo on a very nice area. Rooms and cleanliness are optimal and breakfast is great. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a very large parking are right in front of the hotel. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Andres T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community! On behalf of all of us here at the Country Inn and Suites, we are ecstatic to see that you were able to take full advantage of our quiet, convenient location to San Diego freeways; along with all of the complimentary amenities we offer such as our hot buffet breakfast each morning and the fresh cookies each evening. We hope to once again be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here October 2012. Everything was great- plenty of parking, fantastic free breakfast, plus we got free wifi. Lots of chain restaurants within driving distance. It is a little ways out of the city, and the traffic is the reverse of what I'm used to - AM goes away from San Diego, PM goes back to it. But we came from Houston so it was no big deal to drive the 15-20 minutes to sightsee. Close to Torrey Pines and La Jolla.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison_in_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Allison_in_Houston,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our potential customers. It is great to see that your stay in San Diego was enjoyable, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our quiet, relaxing atmosphere. We hope to be able to provide a similar experience, the next time you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haledon, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed four nights while visiting my son who is stationed at MCAS Miramar. The hotel was convenient to the base and freeways to downtown. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable (better than the heavenly beds at the Westin we stayed at later in our trip). The complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day. The staff was very friendly and always greeted us as we came and went. Free parking too.

Would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
John T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. It is great to see that you experience with us was quite enjoyable, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our quiet, comfortable location; along with all of the amenities our hotel offers. We hope to see you once more the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I didn't have much reservation about staying here initially--but my expectations were far surpassed.
The staff was overtly friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. Not just cereal and bread... But DIY Waffles, Hot Oatmeal.. Real Bacon and eggs.. Caught me completely by surprise.
The pool, tho outside has an excellent temperature (and unfortunately the San Diego area was a bit on the cooler side) but the warmth of the pool made for a great swim.
The room was average.. It was clean, LCD Television, comfortable bed....
The surrounding area is quiet and right off the eixt. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANEM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Anem16,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. It is great to see that we were not only able to provide you with a quiet, relaxing atmosphere, but we were also able to far exceed your expectations with our friendly, helpful staff; as well as all of the complimentary amenities we offer, from the hot buffet breakfast each morning, to the warm, fresh baked cookies in the evenings. Hopefully we can once again provide you with the high level of service you have come to expect from us the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been staying here for nearly 5 years on my bi-monthly trips to San Diego. I gave up at Woodfin Suites (new name now) and stayed here based on a very positive experience I had at Country Inn and Suites in Calabasas.

Bed and pillows are the best. The office chair is an Aeron, the best chair ever made for working. The shower heads are great, as is the pressure and the curved shower rod.

For a complimentary breakfast, they have the best. Fresh scrambled eggs NOT diluted with milk or water, bacon or sauage, potatoes or bisquits/gravy, hot fresh oatmeal (not from a bag) fresh cut fruit, 4 kinds of fruit juice including guava juice, fresh muffins, those great DIY Belgian waffles and superior coffee. They serve 1/2 and 1/2 for the coffee.

Kevin B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Kevin B,

Thank you for taking the time to once again share your experience with our potential cleints. As always, it is great to see that we consistently provide you with a relaxing comfortable stay, and we certaintly appreciate the continued feedback, and look forward to the next time you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Address: 5975 Lusk Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#25 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing