We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #51 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel was great, the location for those going to Qualcomm HQ is perfect and walking distance. The hotel is modern with everything you need for a very reasonable price. For those looking for a holiday this is not the place and far from the beach but for business great. Breakfast was great and all you need. Coffee, Tea and cookies can be found in the lobby 24 hours a day for free. Rooms are large and with everything you need.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rfoley1, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Long trip from Israel, and we are so happy you decided to choose our hotel for your stay. Thank for sharing such kind remarks regarding your experience. It is great to hear our location was convenient, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 985 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

The kids loved it! They loved the pool and the delicious morning breakfast. As a mother of 3, I look for comfort, safety, and that we feel welcome. Every staff member was courteous and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We also were able to check in very early! We had freshly made waffles, muffins, bagels, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruits and list goes on!!! The breakfast was not from a box! During our four day stay, we felt very comfortable! The all day coffee, cookies, and candy was very welcoming! The common area was a great place to relax. It's near many shops. This will now be our hotel of choice when visiting SD.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank o r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rfoley1, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the TripAdvisor community! Here at the Country Inn and Suties, we strive to make every guest experience as memorable and enjoyable as possible, and it is great to see that you enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer and that our staff was able to accomodate your early check-in request. We look forward to once again be your host when your travels return you to the San Diego area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just stayed weekend 7/13,14,15- We loved the business park location, had 7th floor back side was very quiet. Staff from check in to check out was fantastic. Room was very clean, comfortable and HUGE! desk, frig,micro,coffee, big bathroom with toliet paper you can reach!
Mornings were started with one of the best 'free' breakfast's we've ever had, yes waffles, but fresh fruit, yougert, muffins,toast etc, drinks, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage PLUS sometimes french toast, bisquits and gravy..all very good with really nice staff that keeps the breakfast area spotless, well stocked and clear your dishes!
the pool was very nice, hot tub too. we really enjoyed our stay and highly reccommend we'll stay again for sure, there is a bar and restaurant open evenings but we did not partake. bet it's as good as everything else! thanks

Room Tip: top floor, back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADKMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rfoley1, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to share your recent experience at our hotel with the Internet community! Everything that we offer, from the welcoming staff, to the complimentary hot buffet breakfast, strives to provide each of our guests with a relaxing "home away from home" feel and it is always great to see our mission accomplished. Once again I would like to thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to the San Diego area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

On a brief two day stop over in San Diego we stayed two nights and had a great time. Large room, comfortable bed and welcomed with coffee and cookies in reception. The bar guy couldn't have been more helpful recommending what to do in such a short stay. The hotel's in a business area, but very close to the main route into the city and a couple of miles in from the beach. Inclusive breakfast was pretty good too

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rfoley1, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and other potential guests. It is great to hear of your experience, from the freshly baked cookies, to the suggestions from our lounge server, and the complimentary breakfast buffet. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our stay was great for the whole family. Really comfortable beds and quite location. Service by front desk, facility manager, and all staffing was outstanding. Recommend this hotel to anyone looking for value, hositality, and service beyond the norm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rfoley1, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We are so pleased to hear your family enjoyed the stay with us! Thank you for sharing such kind remarks with our staff, and Facilities Manager. I know they will all be excited to read of the recognition. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've returned to this hotel several times because of the suite layout, good price and decent location (we're usually hitting Legoland and-or Sea World. The breakfast is one of the best around. The building and grounds are clean and well-maintained. Obviously this hotel appeals to business travelers, given its location. But a lot of families appear to have discovered it to their benefit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Azguy602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Azguy602,
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for continuing to stay as our guests during your visits to San Diego. We truly appreciate the kind words you have shared, and we will continue to work hard to be your hotel of choice for any future visits back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter and it was a very pleasant experience. Everything was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyvacations4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

happyvacations4,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. It is great to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed the stay, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
10.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
11.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
0.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $119 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, SAS Ticati.COM, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing