We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all time favorite restaurant”
Review of Ranchos Cocina

Ranchos Cocina
Ranked #649 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ocean Beach
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“all time favorite restaurant”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

this has to be one of my all time favorite mexican restaurants, or any restaurants, period. i love their tocho morocho (the works burrito), their avocado blue corn enchiladas, and their chicken mole enchiladas. the service is always very speedy and friendly, the indoor and outdoor seating are equally nice, and the prices are surprisingly low for such a nice restaurant. love it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank omgmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    21
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great for breakfast lunch & dinner”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I now live in FL, but anytime come to SD I make sure to hit up Rancho's .
My fav chorizo breakfast to a shrimp burrito for lunch or dinner.

And the salsa sooo good

Helpful?
Thank chongalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I <3 Ranchos......”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is one of the best meals, Mexican or not, I've ever had. I love Ranchos and try to go at least 2x month. This place is great! Fresh food, hot salsa, homemade fresh fruit/veggie smoothies, and alas a great vegan/vegetarian menu. Most things on the menu are marked as to whether they can be made vegan/vegetarian or not but as with most restaurants they can make anything that you like according to your dietary needs...Friendly staff, especially Jorge who we see there regularly. Unique, warm and inviting atmosphere/establishment. Oh and did I say great food?! Good portions, reasonable prices as compared to other restaurants in the area and they have an outdoor patio!!!! : )

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
503 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!!! Fresh and authentic!!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

During our recent trip to San Diego, we decided to have breakfast here and it was wonderful!! Incredibly fresh food, very reasonably priced and friendly staff!!! What more could you ask for? We came back the next day for breakfast as well!! Great gem in the neighborhood. If we lived here, we would be in everyday for beaskfast!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
228 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good fresh Mexican breakfast”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We ate here twice on our recent trip to San Diego and enjoyed both meals. The food was very good and fresh and quite tasty. The chips were obviously homemade and quite fresh. The decor was fascinating, and the service was quick and friendly. The menu was wide and varied and gave us lots of interesting choices. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MandoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranchos Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Ranchos Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing